We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace & Quiet in St Ewe - where ?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet in St Ewe - where ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Janie & Mike have paid for road signs, otherwise you'd never find this hideaway in the back-of-beyond. Lovely couple, very helpful. Bright coloured, imaginative rooms with all mod-cons. We had dinner there in the "out house" one evening & Janie cooked up a very nice 3 course meal.
Most relaxing. Use of a large communal breakfast table is a great idea. Only negative is that service at breakfast was extremely long-winded & they forgot to serve our 2 coffees one morning ! Forgiveable, but can do better.

Room Tip: Remember to make use of the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBrian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
219
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

With my job as a professional magician, I have been very fortunate to stay in some very nice hotels on my travels around the globe. My beautiful assistant and wife, Tracey, decided that we needed some time away from illusions and sword cabinets, so as a surprise booked us for a "get away from it all" break in beautiful Cornwall for 5 days at Lower Barn. Boy, did she pull a rabbit out of a hat!! Janie and Mike's home is truly lovely. Stunning breakfasts, hot tubs, an amazing home cooked meal in The Shack with a log fire and candles and hot water bottles and lots of Champagne.
We stayed in The Hideaway, which was very tastefully decorated with a cracking big bath and incredibly comfy bed. They even have a Harry Potter owl which lives in the garden!
Breakfast was great fun, set at a big table and it was nice to catch up with the other guests each morning. We certainly made the delicious food "disappear" every day!! A lovely spell has truly been cast on Janie and Mike's home. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EwanCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Just like Magic these 2 little Scotts Ewan and Tracy appear on my door step What is one to do but take them in and indulge them in Lower Barns spell.You truly have a gift Ewan and thank you for sharing you laughter, words and love with us and fellow Guest ? Enjoy your summer and hope to catch up one of these fine days. Till the next time love janie ,mike ,jake, Jazz x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Perfect B&B near to Mevagissey - our room was absolutely stunning. The decor was colourful and creative yet homey. Our Super King bed was extremely comfortable and the wet-room bathroom fantastic. Breakfast was great and the communal dining table made for a nice chance to swap stories about where to visit locally. Our regrets: we only stayed 1 night and we didn't get a chance to try the hot tub. If visiting anywhere near Mevagissey or St Austell base yourself here for a few nights, you won't be disappointed! *Note: If paying by debit/credit card the surcharge is very expensive so best to take cash if possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
So glad you guys enjoyed the magic of lower barns. We do try and make people's stays as memorable as possible . Enjoy this amazing weather. Till the next time , Janie, Mike, Jake and jazz x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Janie and Mike have such an amazing place and anyone who chooses to stay will not regret it ! Me and my boyfriend stayed for two nights and we didn't want to leave .

We stayed in the cranny , which is by far the best room ( mini apartment ) we have ever stayed in ! Every detail has been perfected and finished at a very high standard. The bath had to be my favourite feature , after a day in the lost gardens , the bubble bath was just what I needed .
Mike bring breakfast over both morning for us to eat in our own private garden was a great way to start the day !

The location was perfect as we had come down from London to visit the Eden project. The harbour only being 10 minutes away was a lovely place to find something to eat . After putting up our holiday snap on Facebook so many of our friends have commented on how lovely lower barn looked. Hopefully they will take our advise and give Janie and Mike a visit .

We can't wait to go back and hopefully stay in the nook next time around !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexxandraPrice16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi Guys, Cranny is a bit special and it's taken us 15 years to get to this .Hiding place's (cranny and nook ) are just as i feel Boutique B&B should be. Like you i could move in them. Thank you for your words, tll the next time jaine, mike, jake, jazz x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This B and B was without doubt the best I have ever stayed in.the owners are fantastic and would do anything for you ,the breakfast was fantastic and the room we stayed in was lovely .would certainly recommend this place to anyone .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrelgpeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Found this by chance but what a find! Quite the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The room was superb, the breakfasts excellent and the location is truly beautiful. Janie and Mike made us so welcome. We went there to relax and it proved ideal. Very handy for the Lost Gardens, a short distance to the coast and some spectacular beaches. We will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is our second visit to Lower Barn..

Without doubt this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in, calling it a B&B actually does it a diservice as B&B conjures up images of a bed for the night, standard shower and standard breakfast. From the moment you step on the property you are true guests of Janie and Mike in their amazing self built piece of paradise. Each room is individually styled and they are the most comfortable relaxing rooms I have ever stayed in, the amout of small thoughtful touches in each room are too numerous to mention but rest assured you will time and time again think to yourself "Wow, I can't believe this place".

On this visit we stayed in Janie and Mikes newest addition to there stock of accomodation "The Cranny" This is a totally self contained suite complete with private walled garden, a kitchen, complete with breakfast bar and all essentials for a romantic night in. This room also has a wood burning stove. The bedroom is exquizite in everyway, from the comfy sofa to the sumptious bed - words cannot do this room justice. The bathroom is has the feel of a Morrocan Hammam, nice deep blues and greens used, a luxurious shower and a slipper bath that we could have stayed in for our whole time there.

While stying in The Cranny we indulged in a gorgeous home cooked meal prepared by Janie, in the Shack (excellent *****), had an after dinner drink with some other guests and then adjourned to the Hot Tub to enjoy the starry night.

We opted for the healthy breakfast which we took in The Cranny but Mike would have dropped down a cooked breakfast if we wanted it.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable ,relaxing night away. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We have now stayed in the Garden Room and the Cranny, both amazing. Cranny is bigger and more self c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
2.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Property: Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Address: | St Ewe, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Cornwall/Saint Ewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing