We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit number 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We are just back from 3 lovely days at Lower Barn, our 1st return visit but I know only the first of many. Stayed in the beautiful spacious "Cranny" which is a really special place. We like the location because there is so much to do and see just short journeys away.
Janie and Mike have excelled themselves with this new accomodation - tried to get the bath in my handbag but sadly it didn't fit...
We loved the decedant feeling of breakfast brought to us in our courtyard garden at a time to suit us, and that we were left alone for the rest of the time, which is what we needed.
Wanted to stay longer - we will next time. Also we must try it out in winter with the fire!
If I could ask for anything extra? Janie/Mike, please can I have a table for my glass of wine closer to the bath please for my next visit...(well, i have to think of something to keep you occupied).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and i went to Lower Barn as part of a birthday party and we loved it! Nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had a lovely time. Starting with Pimms on the patio, then into the hot tub, followed by a fantastic home cooked meal.
The decor was beautiful, and our room was gorgeous. the setting is lovely and very peaceful.

We are now planning a return visit, and we are sure to enjoy it just as much the second time around!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just spent a lovely couple of days in the cranny hideaway as an anniversary break. We had seen the pictures of Lower barn before booking and when we arrived we couldn't have been more pleased. Janie contacted us the day before arrival and had arranged for us to stay in the cranny. At that point we didn't know about the hideaway and we were not disapointed on arrival. It has been finished to a very high standard with much attention to detail. There was even a bottle wine and chocolates in the fridge! Mike and Janie are really accommodating and we had breakfast brought to us in the room. It's a bit like self catering with benefits! We wish we could have stayed longer. The location is ideal for visiting the Roseland penninsula and other landmarks such as Eden and Heligan. We will definately try and stay again in the future and will be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Janie & Mike have paid for road signs, otherwise you'd never find this hideaway in the back-of-beyond. Lovely couple, very helpful. Bright coloured, imaginative rooms with all mod-cons. We had dinner there in the "out house" one evening & Janie cooked up a very nice 3 course meal.
Most relaxing. Use of a large communal breakfast table is a great idea. Only negative is that service at breakfast was extremely long-winded & they forgot to serve our 2 coffees one morning ! Forgiveable, but can do better.

Room Tip: Remember to make use of the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBrian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

With my job as a professional magician, I have been very fortunate to stay in some very nice hotels on my travels around the globe. My beautiful assistant and wife, Tracey, decided that we needed some time away from illusions and sword cabinets, so as a surprise booked us for a "get away from it all" break in beautiful Cornwall for 5 days at Lower Barn. Boy, did she pull a rabbit out of a hat!! Janie and Mike's home is truly lovely. Stunning breakfasts, hot tubs, an amazing home cooked meal in The Shack with a log fire and candles and hot water bottles and lots of Champagne.
We stayed in The Hideaway, which was very tastefully decorated with a cracking big bath and incredibly comfy bed. They even have a Harry Potter owl which lives in the garden!
Breakfast was great fun, set at a big table and it was nice to catch up with the other guests each morning. We certainly made the delicious food "disappear" every day!! A lovely spell has truly been cast on Janie and Mike's home. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwanCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Just like Magic these 2 little Scotts Ewan and Tracy appear on my door step What is one to do but take them in and indulge them in Lower Barns spell.You truly have a gift Ewan and thank you for sharing you laughter, words and love with us and fellow Guest ? Enjoy your summer and hope to catch up one of these fine days. Till the next time love janie ,mike ,jake, Jazz x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Perfect B&B near to Mevagissey - our room was absolutely stunning. The decor was colourful and creative yet homey. Our Super King bed was extremely comfortable and the wet-room bathroom fantastic. Breakfast was great and the communal dining table made for a nice chance to swap stories about where to visit locally. Our regrets: we only stayed 1 night and we didn't get a chance to try the hot tub. If visiting anywhere near Mevagissey or St Austell base yourself here for a few nights, you won't be disappointed! *Note: If paying by debit/credit card the surcharge is very expensive so best to take cash if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

So glad you guys enjoyed the magic of lower barns. We do try and make people's stays as memorable as possible . Enjoy this amazing weather. Till the next time , Janie, Mike, Jake and jazz x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Janie and Mike have such an amazing place and anyone who chooses to stay will not regret it ! Me and my boyfriend stayed for two nights and we didn't want to leave .

We stayed in the cranny , which is by far the best room ( mini apartment ) we have ever stayed in ! Every detail has been perfected and finished at a very high standard. The bath had to be my favourite feature , after a day in the lost gardens , the bubble bath was just what I needed .
Mike bring breakfast over both morning for us to eat in our own private garden was a great way to start the day !

The location was perfect as we had come down from London to visit the Eden project. The harbour only being 10 minutes away was a lovely place to find something to eat . After putting up our holiday snap on Facebook so many of our friends have commented on how lovely lower barn looked. Hopefully they will take our advise and give Janie and Mike a visit .

We can't wait to go back and hopefully stay in the nook next time around !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexxandraPrice16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hi Guys, Cranny is a bit special and it's taken us 15 years to get to this .Hiding place's (cranny and nook ) are just as i feel Boutique B&B should be. Like you i could move in them. Thank you for your words, tll the next time jaine, mike, jake, jazz x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
257 reviews
3 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#5 of 34 in Mevagissey
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#6 of 34 in Mevagissey
535 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Parsonage Mevagissey Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Address: | St Ewe, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range: £123 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Cornwall/Saint Ewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing