We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Hayloft last week after stumbling across Lower Barn by chance. This place is absolutely beautiful and I can't write highly enough of the owners Janey and Mike. Lower Barn is more of a retreat than a B&B. Nestled away in the Cornish countryside Lower Barn provides utter relaxation. With it's beautiful gardens, bubbling hot tub and welcoming rooms this place will help you forget all about the stresses of everyday life. Janey provided an excellent breakfast each day around the big dining table - a great chance to chat to other guests and share the previous days experiences. Lower Barn is located near The Lost Gardens of Heligan which is a must do. I can also recommend dinner at either Wreckers in Charlestown or Driftwood in Pentewan - both provided lovely meals with fresh fish at a reasonable price. Lower Barn is an absolute gem and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 192sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Lower Barn for our first anniversary and it was absolutely perfect!
Our room was the Hideaway a room on its own tucked away in the garden.
The decor was so beautiful and the huge bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in.
The attention to detail was brilliant! Vibrant colours everywhere with everything you need to have a comfortable stay, A huge bath, generous shampoo, conditioner luxurious soaps and smellies, plenty of coffee and tea making facilities, bath robes and even umberellas!
There was also a large t.v with a selection of dvds if you wish to watch.

We had a treatment by John who was absolutely brilliant and really helpful for aches and pains and advice given his extensive knowledge.

The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the quality of the locally produced food was top notch! it was nice to chat to the other guests in the morning around the big round table.

Janey, Mike and Janey's Mum (sorry ive forgotten your name!), were so kind and welcoming which made the whole stay comfortable and relaxed.

Thankyou so much!
Will definitely return- the best place we have ever stayed by far.

Jemima and Robert

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0bbie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago for our honeymoon and we wouldn't have thought it could be improved on from that experience, but somehow janie, mike and jake have managed to do so.
Janie gives a fab hot stone massage and ex arsenal physio jon certainly lived up to his reputation when he gave my husband a massage.
The cooked breakfast and fresh fruit were a real treat every morning, plus we had a lovely evening meal by the open fire in the shack, cooked to perfection by mike.
we love it at lower barn, it's like staying with family if your family lives in a beautiful, secluded location, cooks amazing food and decorates their home with taste and with your comfort in mind. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineDieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been returning to lower barn again and again and again. We arrived from Sydney after 32 hours to the biggest smiles the softest and most welcome bed that quite possibly has ever been created. The room as always was fresh and immaculate yet still had a homely feel and newly decorated since our last visit. Janie and Michael are the consummate hosts chatting with them is a breeze. Always able to offer great advice on where to eat locally or even indulge you in a sumptuous meal in the little shack that they have cooked themselves. All produce was locally sourced and the meal was outstanding. So to where the therapies that are available. Brilliant and after our long journey were just what we needed. I love that Lower Barn is tucked away and so peaceful. We even got lucky with the weather, the hedgerows in the winding cornish lanes were in full show the only thing missing was driving down them in an old British convertible sports car. Once again Thank you Janie and Mike we will see you again I'm sure

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nooneynoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Thanks to Janie for a lovely stay at Lower Barns. Quirky rooms with lovely decoration. Everything Janie has furnished the rooms and other areas with us top notch, no shirking in quality! We stayed in the Hayloft, which if you wish you can have both floors for a family or friends. We had just the lower floor. This is designed for wheelchair users, we are not, so be prepared for a low sink etc, although this did not hamper us in any way. Lovely touches like choccies on your pillow, selection of toiletries, remembering everything like cotton buds and nail file. Loads of storage space, huge comfy bed. Jacuzzi was lovely. Great meal cooked by Janie in the most wonderful space, all lit up by candles and - roaring fire (shame I was too warm to appreciate it! Thoroughly recommend Lower Barns!!

Room Tip: Remember Hayloft has disabled access and some facilities for disabled users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bindi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Snuggled in the rolling Cornish hills and peppered with mature trees bordering lush lawns, Lower Barn offers a gloriously rich slice of tranquility for the discerning traveller. We stayed in 'The Hideaway', a detached, robustly constructed wooden cabin with French windows, a bed big enough to get lost in, a comfortable sitting area and a large bathroom where two can bathe together should giddy romantic enchantment come to call. Across the lawn a large owl (living and breathing, goes by name of 'Woody') keeps watch over the skilfully crafted conversion that makes up Lower Barn.

Breakfast is delightful and something to look forward to; not just because the 'tell me what you want and I'll make it' menu delivers every time, but because it's a community experience. Like King Arthur, you will share a round table with your peers - the other guests - and this really works. Our mornings were spent finding out what other visitors had discovered on their travels the day before and getting recommendations for places to eat at and to visit.

The setting is beautiful, the accommodation and food at the highest standard and a plethora of delights await within a short drive, but the thing that actually makes Lower Barn a place you will want to return to is the warmth and personality of Janie, our host. She has the rare gift of being able to make you feel that the whole place has been designed and made ready for your visit, for your stay. We felt we were welcomed as friends and certainly left feeling that way.

Room Tip: The Hideaway is delightful, private and quiet with a bath big enough to do lengths in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngloAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

very nice brekkie, very nice secluded location, very nice meals if you prebook, very nice toiletries and hot drinks and welcoming chocolates etc, very nice beds, very nice hot tub, very nice large t.v in room, very nice gardens surrounding room, very nice overall location close to fishing village of mevagissey, all in all very nice!! may well go back!!

Room Tip: hideaway room is out of the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOE997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
257 reviews
3 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#5 of 34 in Mevagissey
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#6 of 34 in Mevagissey
535 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Parsonage Mevagissey Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Address: | St Ewe, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range: £123 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Cornwall/Saint Ewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing