We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven on earth Julie Gwyther”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful place ,beautiful accomodation very unique,beautiful food,lovely people ,special place .Ideal for couples ,the shack is a must Janies cooking is amazing,not knowing what you we re getting was a great way of adding to the unique style that Mike and Janie have achieved .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juls G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Lower Barns Boutique B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our second visit to Lower Barn and very last minute. The hosts, Janie and Mike are genuinely warm and friendly, very accommodating and are happy to go the extra mile for you every time. Nothing is too much trouble. This place is far, far better than most hotels, its clean, warm, with a very easy going atmosphere. The attention to detail in the rooms is great and reflects the care taken by the hosts to ensure their guests have a relaxed time. The rooms have excellent beds, beautiful fabrics, high quality bedding, towels, bath robes etc., if you forgot your soap bag it would not be a problem as pretty much everything you could possibly need is already there. The food served is excellent, fresh ingredients, locally sourced meats and fish, you could easily put on weight if you stayed there too long ! You will feel yourself relax the minute you dump your bag on the floor of your room - whats not to like about that ? A real treat !

Room Tip: There is a great variety of rooms at Lower Barn, look on the website first then you will have a clea...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband & I stayed here on a weekend away from our children & it was heaven. Janie, Mike & Janie's mum were all really friendly & couldn't have done more for us. They all made us feel so welcome. The decor is spectacular - quirky plush yet very stylish & lovely thoughtful extras - handmade soap parcel, chocolates etc. Plus when we returned to our room after a hearty breakfast - our bed had been made & our clothes had been kindly hung up in the wardrobe - I'd left it in a right mess (as weekend off from all domestic duties)!! After a full on cliff walk we collapsed into the luxurious hot tub which was a perfect tonic (not remotely seedy!!)! We ate in on Saturday night in the fab open fired shed & were treated to a delicious three course feast - the food was divine. I can't recommend Lower Barn highly enough - we're hoping to go back every year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The weekend was everything we could of hoped for. Mike and Janie were so warm and hospitable and show an obvious love of their home and the comfort of their guests. The rooms were really comfortable and beautifully furnished - giving the impression that they had only recently been decorated. Can't praise them enough for giving us such a wonderful stay. If you go there wanting lovely rooms, surroundings and welcome, then you won't be disappointed. Have already decided that we must go back and try staying in the cranny next time (for longer too!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karoly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having read the Sunday Times on the 3rd November we decided to escape from city life for a short break, in what we found out to be ultimately the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. We wanted somewhere that we could have a romantic break... It certainly exceeded our expectations. So where do I start? We stayed in the hideaway, a wooden lodge secluded at the end of the garden... Truly magical. The decor was absolutely beautiful and with a bath big enough for two of us we fell in love with the place. Janie and Mike were the perfect hosts making us feel relaxed and welcome straight away, Nothing was too much trouble for them and there cooking was truly scrumptious. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the lost gardens of Heligan (Only a 2 minute drive from Lowerbarn). Mevagissey is also only a short drive with beautiful scenery.
Thank you Janie and Mike, we're already looking forward to our next visit.
Lara & Matt

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Debbie - The welcome was warm, the sky starry, and we had a delicious dinner brought to our room. 'Cranny' was beautiful, warm and inviting with a log burner lit and amazing decor. We loved all of the small touches- snuggly towels, luxurious toiletries and a wonderfully comfortable bed. Andy - who would have known the love and care afforded us by Janie and Mike on our wedding night...this was a perfect stay. Be prepared for the incredible and inspired decor, colours, and little touches. During your stay, you become a part of the family...amazing food, under the Milky Way, and in the middle of nowhere...thank you.

Room Tip: Cranny was the perfect honeymoon suite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Mac_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We enjoyed a four night stay in one of the beautiful rooms overlooking the garden. Very high standard of accommodation with the very friendly Janie and Mike who made us feel very welcome.

Brightly furnished rooms and lots of little extras. We will definitely be returning for more!

Paul and margaret

Room Tip: If you want real luxury choose the newest rooms in the garden.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
14.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.0 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Address: | St Ewe, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range: £109 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Cornwall/Saint Ewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing