We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Excellent little B&B in the middle of nowhere, literally, don't follow the Sat Nav - we got lost for ages in the middle of a field!

But this place was worth getting lost for.

Comfy rooms, lovely decor, great breakfasts, and nice hot tub.

Great for a little retreat, and quiet time.

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Palz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
219
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed here over my Birthday during the Easter holidays. My husband booked me a massage for when we arrived - we were a little late getting there but this wasn't a problem for Janie. She gave me a few minutes to relax, then came to get me for the massage.
The Lower barn has beautifully designed and maintained rooms - Janie updates them every year! We ate in "The Shack" with another couple and their daughters - not somehting we would normally do necessarily but had a really lovely evening chatting with them and the food was excellent.
Breakfast the following day was again excellent - with brilliant vegetarian options - normally I get left with scrambled eggs!
Overall, a fab place to go for a chilled out night or two.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calamine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Bickington, Devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at Lower Barn a few years ago and really enjoyed it so we thought we would return. The attention to detail is fantastic and the owners are really friendly. The accommodation was really good. We stayed in the Hideway (hidden at the bottom of the garden). Everything was great about it, including the breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millbrookcottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yatton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

I took my wife of 1 day to lower barn for a day of pampering after all her hard work planning our wedding.
We stayed in the hideaway which is a little 'love shack' in the garden. truly amazing and romantic and everything I expected for my new bride.
Janie and Mike were brilliant and really pleasant and serene people.
The food was really, really top notch and I feel good value for money. We ate in the shack which again is a really romantic place with subtle lighting and candles.
We have plans to return here in the future and have only one more thing to say -
THANK YOU JANIE AND MIKE!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eenyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

A stay at Lower Barn really is the ultimate in luxury and far cheaper than many a 5 star hotel! We went away for a birthday surprise based on the suggestion of a friend and we certianly were not left disappointed. From the moment we arrived, the 'feel of the place grabs you and it truly is a sanctuary in which you can relax, eat fantastic food, chill out and even use the onsite gym (with choice of CDs) and selection of treatments. The rooms are stunning (we were in the Hayloft), the breakfasts fantastic and the large breakfast table ensures that you really do feel part of the family and each morning breakfast lasted well over an hour as we chatted and shared stories with other couples staying in the barn.
If you get chance I seriously recommend the treatments available - I had a full body massage and my partner had a facila and both were out of this world.
I would seriously recommend this place to anybody - it really is heaven!!
Alice (owners Mother) and breakfast chef whilst we were staying is an absolute legend! Cant wait to vsit again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamfairbank323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed in the Garden Room which is part of the main house. The room was lovely, decorated to a very high standard with beautiful shower room, huge comfy bed and a conservatory area with flat screen wall mounted TV, 2 chairs and fridge. Mike and Janey the owners are very welcoming and have plans to improve rooms even further. Breakfasts were wonderful sitting round a big circular table with all the other guests, a great way to get to know everyone.You have to try Mike's steak in the shack of an evening, we had the best meal of the holiday here and the shack has an unique atmosphere especially when it gets dark and the fairy lights come on. It was summer so the fire wasn't lit but I'm sure it must be even cosier in Winter.
Very close to Heligan and about 10mls from Eden Project. We liked Fowey.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anncwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We had a 3 day break here, the place is quite simply BRILLIANT. Lovely well appointed rooms, a great breakfast and lovely people. It is always something when you find a place that goes that extra mile, Lower Barn goes further! Even a Jacuzzi in the garden , which was great after a massage from a professional and also a great person to boot. Easily better thsan the more established places like Tresanton (although not the view).
HIGHLY COMMENDED --Louis Austin -London

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvrman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
2.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Property: Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Address: | St Ewe, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Cornwall/Saint Ewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing