We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality but over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We booked for three nights, but could only stay for two (we were charged for three). The accomodation is modern and clean, but the bedroom and bathroom we were given were very small and cramped. The food quality was good and the service efficeient and friendly. It is in a very isolated location and can only be reached via very narrow country roads. Overall good quality but very overpriced in comparision to other places we stayed

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2010

Don't often stay in B&B's, normally quality hotels. This was a last minute booking last week and we booked the Hideaway. Quite the best room and setting we have stayed in anywhere for years irrespective of price. Cooked breakfast was excellent. Difficult to imagine a better place in the West Country. Miss it and you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCWS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Excellent little B&B in the middle of nowhere, literally, don't follow the Sat Nav - we got lost for ages in the middle of a field!

But this place was worth getting lost for.

Comfy rooms, lovely decor, great breakfasts, and nice hot tub.

Great for a little retreat, and quiet time.

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank Palz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed here over my Birthday during the Easter holidays. My husband booked me a massage for when we arrived - we were a little late getting there but this wasn't a problem for Janie. She gave me a few minutes to relax, then came to get me for the massage.
The Lower barn has beautifully designed and maintained rooms - Janie updates them every year! We ate in "The Shack" with another couple and their daughters - not somehting we would normally do necessarily but had a really lovely evening chatting with them and the food was excellent.
Breakfast the following day was again excellent - with brilliant vegetarian options - normally I get left with scrambled eggs!
Overall, a fab place to go for a chilled out night or two.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calamine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at Lower Barn a few years ago and really enjoyed it so we thought we would return. The attention to detail is fantastic and the owners are really friendly. The accommodation was really good. We stayed in the Hideway (hidden at the bottom of the garden). Everything was great about it, including the breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateBoothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I took my wife of 1 day to lower barn for a day of pampering after all her hard work planning our wedding.
We stayed in the hideaway which is a little 'love shack' in the garden. truly amazing and romantic and everything I expected for my new bride.
Janie and Mike were brilliant and really pleasant and serene people.
The food was really, really top notch and I feel good value for money. We ate in the shack which again is a really romantic place with subtle lighting and candles.
We have plans to return here in the future and have only one more thing to say -
THANK YOU JANIE AND MIKE!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eenyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

A stay at Lower Barn really is the ultimate in luxury and far cheaper than many a 5 star hotel! We went away for a birthday surprise based on the suggestion of a friend and we certianly were not left disappointed. From the moment we arrived, the 'feel of the place grabs you and it truly is a sanctuary in which you can relax, eat fantastic food, chill out and even use the onsite gym (with choice of CDs) and selection of treatments. The rooms are stunning (we were in the Hayloft), the breakfasts fantastic and the large breakfast table ensures that you really do feel part of the family and each morning breakfast lasted well over an hour as we chatted and shared stories with other couples staying in the barn.
If you get chance I seriously recommend the treatments available - I had a full body massage and my partner had a facila and both were out of this world.
I would seriously recommend this place to anybody - it really is heaven!!
Alice (owners Mother) and breakfast chef whilst we were staying is an absolute legend! Cant wait to vsit again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamfairbank323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
9.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
971 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
86 reviews
3 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Little Cornish B&B
The Little Cornish B&B
#2 of 34 in Mevagissey
424 reviews
3 mi away
Wild Air Guest House
Wild Air Guest House
#7 of 34 in Mevagissey
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Address: | St Ewe, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range: £123 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Cornwall/Saint Ewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing