We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tuscan Hideaway”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Casina di Rosa

The bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom
The kitchen Casina di Rosa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The bedroom
The kitchen
Casina di Rosa
The bedroom
Casina di Rosa
The kitchen
Summer in Tuscany
The lounge area in the bedroom
The village
The lavender fields in the area
Casina di Rosa
The bedroom
The bedroom
View from the bedroom window
The kitchen
The staircase to the loggia
The loggia of Casina di Rosa
The countryside
The bathroom
Relaxing at Casina di Rosa
The kitchen
The bedroom
Civitella Marittima: a view over the hills
The lounge area in the sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Civitella Marittima, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Swarvie
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Tuscan Hideaway”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Casina Di Rosa is a charming self-contained cottage, with a central location ideal for exploring Tuscany. The quaint small village location is ideal for getting off the tourist track, and is a wonderful way of immersing oneself in the Italian community and culture. The self-catering amenities available make this stay comfortable and feel like a home away from home. The added personal touch of supplying a bottle of wine, pasta and sauce local to the region was also lovely.

We were very grateful for the flexibility in checking in and checking out, a demonstration of Gloria and Marcel’s commitment to meeting individual requirements. Marcel also offered assistance if needed, for the remainder of our stay in Italy.

In choosing accommodation in Tuscany, we were looking for a place that would enable us to enjoy a fireplace. We were delighted that a fireplace was available here, but a little disappointed to find out upon our arrival that supplied firewood was limited, and therefore had to limit the use of the fireplace in order for the supplies provided to last. A downside for us travelling out of season and just shy of the beginning of winter, missing the firewood delivery for the winter season.

The cottage was in excellent condition and we would have given this property five stars, if it were not for the small shower and its limited water pressure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location to Tuscany.
Liked least: Shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertEmi...
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By far the best place to stay in Tuscany!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Casina di Rosa exceeded our high expectations. Gloria and Marcel have thoughtfully equipped their lovely casina with everything you need for a great Tuscan vacation, from portable beach umbrella to fully provisioned kitchen. We appreciated the welcome basket, bouquet of fresh roses and especially the house book which contains all the info you need to plan your sojourn. After hectic and noisy Rome, Civitella Marittima was a welcome oasis of calm and peace. This delightful quaint Tuscan hill town has two bakeries, a butcher, convenience store and a great restaurant "La Locanda nel Casero". We enjoyed three incredible meals there during our two week stay and highly recommend it. Civitella Marittima is a perfect base from which to explore popular sites like Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Volterra, Vetulonia, the Chianti region and the sandy beaches near Grosseto. If you love wine be sure to hire Carlo for the day. He drove us to three local wineries where we met vintners who are passionate about their wines and guided us through in-depth tastings of their terroir-driven bottlings. The king size bed was super comfortable and we never ran out of hot water. We researched many places before choosing to stay here. We definitely think this is the best place to stay in Tuscany! Thank you Gloria and Marcel for making Casina di Rosa such a perfect Tuscan holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Would have liked a bigger place to eat outside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonefishi...
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Discovering Tuscany”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Just returned from our 5 weeks holiday in Italy, spent our first two weeks at Casina di Rosa, and what a fantastic start to an amazing holiday in the Tuscan/Umbria /Liguria areas . Gloria and Marcel did a great job setting up this villa for their guests, it was indeed a home away from home. Every little comfort was catered for - the huge fluffy bath towel , the biscoti , the chocolates, a bot of local wine and a kitchen equipped with the basics (+ spices) for cooking a simple meal. We tried most of the restaurants recommended and they were all good especially "Le Merlaie" (5mins drive away) and Locanda nel Cassero (right in the mid of the village), both where we dined twice , and Ristorante " I Tre Cantoni" where they specialised dishes with truffle - I can still smell the wonderful smell of truffle. Wish we could have gone back for more but there are so many little medieval towns to explore and food to experience and Civitella Marittima is within 45 minutes or so (including time for getting lost :-) ) from many in the area and two weeks was not quite enough to explore plus a couple of days just to relax in Casina di Rosa - which is a must to absorb the ambiance of this gorgeous little village. A wonderful 'Bucket list' experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness of the villa
Liked least: lumpy pillows :) & still scatching my head re machanism of the clothes line :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigi-e-R...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romantic and só Italian!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 1 week in october. IThe house was exactly what we looked for: cosy, non touristic and quiet. The village is nice and has all teh shops you need. They serve the best Bistecca Fiorentina in the local restaurant!!! The owners are extremely nice and helpfull!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Within 1 hour we felt at home.
Liked least: Getting use to driving in small Italian villages :)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the village.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing