We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Martin-Eglise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Clos Normand
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martin-Eglise
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is the 3rd year we have stayed at this auberge and we have seen the owners making changes. During our previous stays the food was very good although in a rustic manner. This time it had changed to fine dining and we could only describe it as excellent. The accommodation was more than adequate and we will shall certainly be returning again. The gardens are well tended and attractive with the river running along.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    59
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
96
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here to break the journey between the Channel Tunnel and the Normandy peninsula. Our room was in the annexe, large and well appointed with bathroom (no separate shower), separate WC and French Freeview telly. All very clean and modern, everything worked with plenty of hot water.
Restaurant is made up of 2 rooms. A light and airy formal room with an open kitchen at one end and a less formal, more eclectic conservatory overlooking the gardens complete with water feature and resident, noisy, parrot. The food is good, bordering on the very good (I've been eating in France for 40 years) and the 22 Euro menu is excellent value. Beware though, portions are generous and you need to be hungry. Wine list is OK too, not overpriced and the service is traditional and professional.
Only minor niggles are that the owners appear to be doing the place up bit by bit and parts are a bit ramshackle, the room was a bit dark (a lot of French hotel rooms are) and the sink plug leaked.
Overall, a super place and certainly one to which we will return.

Room Tip: Chambres 1 - 4 are in the annexe and are roomy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuclear_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mampodrehiker
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We have visith " le closnormand " and take a dinner in their restaurant , its was greattttttttt - top service - very good local gastronomy and fresh products and with the open kitchen you can see you host making a wonderful dinner for you.
Very friendly and the welcome you as friends.
When we are in the area we are going back and don't forget visithing the nice garden.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mampodrehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The setting was picturesque and the bedroom and ensuite were tasteful and at 65 euros good value (even with a weak £) and coffee, tea,biscuits and chocolate were thoughtfully provided. My one complaint was that from a security perspective, it would not have been advisable to leave the bedroom windows open, since it would have been easy to gain access. The wines were not particularly cheap (starting at 18 euros) but the 22-euro menu was exceptional and excellent value. Although Madame was a little haughty initially, the staff were all friendly, but we do speak good French , so perhaps that made the difference!. Sue and Nigel, Stoke

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueBrStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Cork, Ireland.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

On first glance, this is an impressive hotel - hence our stay here. Set in lawned & landscaped grounds, with a delightful stream at the bottom of the garden, the location is hard to fault; nicely set back off the road in a small village.

However, that's where the good stuff ends. We both found the hosts increasingly rude and sarcastic, seemingly making fun of our intermediate French (he spoke no English - his wife only a little), yet the room's safety instructions included English...

Our room, on the 1st floor, was noticeably & unpleasantly sloping. A large double bed, uncomfortably sagging in the middle was foam-based (not springs) yet still annoyingly squeaky.

All afternoon & evening, stale restaurant/bin odours wafted by both the front and rear windows, resulting in a stuffy room (windows shut) with no option of air conditioning.

Their guard-dog is all very well, but did he really have to bark intermittently all night long, disturbing the guests?

Finally, for some reason, the hotel feels obliged to run security lighting permanently outside all of the bedrooms. Even with the curtains supplied, this shone into our room making sleep difficult, not to mention all the flies & moths it attracted. We found no way to turn these off.

We hope that others may benefit from our experience. We would not recommend staying here at all for the reasons stated above.

  • Liked — The landscaped grounds.
  • Disliked — The rude, sarcastic attitude of the hosts.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martin-Eglise
2.0 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#2 of 15 in Dieppe
241 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
3.4 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Clos Robinson
Le Clos Robinson
#2 of 2 in Martin-Eglise
72 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kyriad Dieppe
Kyriad Dieppe
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Dieppe Val Druel
Ibis Dieppe Val Druel
#10 of 15 in Dieppe
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Clos Normand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Clos Normand

Property: Auberge du Clos Normand
Address: 22 rue Henri IV, 76370 Martin-Eglise, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Martin-Eglise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martin-Eglise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Clos Normand 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing