We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab lodge”
Review of Breckland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Breckland Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attleborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Been using this lodge since 2008, never been disappointed, now since the refurbishments it looks amazing. The stay is always good and last night the food was exceptional. Even if you don't stay at this very affordable lodge, you must try the new menu. Breckland are well known for their carvery but you will be well impressed to steer over to the king prawn and chorizo starter and for a main, the Haloumi main to finish off with the cheese platter.. Complements to the chef!!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
Thank PaulaHoNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Been past here no end of times but never stopped. Needs must and called in at 8pm on a Sunday night, hadn't booked. We found our way through to the Bistro and were offered the last table. No real ale but house shiraz proved to be quite palatable. Quite a good selection on the menu but opted for bangers and mash at £8.95. Chef told us mash no longer available but offered crushed potato. This proved to be a good choice. It was crushed new pots which were excellent. Freshly cooked veggies made the meal good value. This is not the place for a romantic meal but vg for a stop off. Will not hesitate to call in again if necessary.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our Family of four stayed here on 21st August and first impressions were fantastic, it's only when you enter your room is where it goes wrong. Air con is a must as we had a family room which wasnt very big, and it was too hot. The bathroom was ok but the mildew was. It nice to look at, I also dislike bars of soap, a pump soap dispenser would of been more hygienic. The beds were comfortable. But extremely squeaky causing our family to have little sleep,the other gripe is the tea/coffee facilities in the room!!!!! We had a family of four so why three of everything???? And no biscuits and why was there stale water in our kettle??????

The restaurant was very nice and modern, the food was fab too and I must mention George who waited on us for the entire evening, he is an asset to the place as he was so polite, courteous and made the evening fun for our party of fifteen.

I also agree with the previous comments that the price should include breakfast or give the rooms a complete makeover.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redhotryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband & I stayed for one evening on Thursday 21st August in a double room which was fine, it had all the basics required. Although the bed was slightly small it was very comfortable.
A couple of minor issues, was that on 2 occasions the shower lost it's power as it runs off the main supply & due to this I found myself standing under what I would call a dripping shower head, also the bath sealant was black & I'm sure it's meant to be white...bit disappointing as when you first arrive in your room it all looks clean & newly decorated.
I would stay at Breckland Lodge again but not in room 27!!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed last night and everything in our Room (27) seemed really good and modern to start with........ And then we went into the bathroom!!!! All I can say is that it doesn't look part of the same room , it was dated and very tired and the shower was so bad it took around 15 mins to get a decent wash as it was so slow as used the tap power!! IF ONLY WE HAD STAYED IN ONE OF THE OTHER ROOMS WHICH HAD MUCH BETTER SHOWERS IN THEM!! I know this as we booked three rooms and the others where much better. This a decent option hotel as long as you don't have room 27 as beds where comfy and decor modern.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked for a 1 night stop over to go to a 65th birthday party close by.
We were allocated room 3, it was dark very small with the tiniest of double beds.
There was the smell of drains coming in from outside which mad it unpleasant to leave the windows open. Air conditioning would have been nice.
Complimentary tea and coffee were minimal..... NO BISCUITS!!!
We thought that for the price charged for the room there should be a complimentary breakfast, you would probably get better value from a B&B.
We were quite surprised to see the chamber maid in the the room at 7.30am, without knocking first.
Overall we were very disappointed with our stay at the Breckland Lodge.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room unless your on your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Janet U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What can you really say, this was a business stay and was more than adequate, the rooms are comfortable if on the small side but beds are comfortable, my only real issue was the amount of flies both in the bar and the restaurant yes it was warm evening and had been a hot day but surely where your serving food should have some fly screens at the window it really was a problem and I spent my time at dinner and breakfast shooing them away, please sort it out

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Attleborough
10.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,213 reviews
9.3 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
134 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
461 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breckland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckland Lodge

Address: London Road, Attleborough NR17 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attleborough
Price Range: £64 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breckland Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to Meet, Dine & Stay. Whether you choose to eat in The Stag, our country pub offering all day food and bar snacks, or to try our extensive Stag restaurant menu and carvery there is something to suit every budget. Our recently refurbished en suite hotel rooms have been designed to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible, offering fresh white linen, flat screen televisions, free wifi access, radio, telephone, toiletries, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. We are also becoming the place to stop for breakfast. Our great value breakfast, using locally sourced ingredients where possible, continues to grow in reputation, bringing in locals and visitors from further afield. We also offer an outside dining experience in our parasol lined gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Breckland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breckland Lodge Hotel And Conference Venue
Breckland Lodge Attleborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing