We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel with great restaurant and bar”
Review of The Mulberry Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mulberry Tree
Ranked #1 of 5 Attleborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I have stayed at the hotel before and will always choose this hotel when I have to stay in the area. It is small but has a lot of charm, large LCD tv in the room and good bed linen on comfortable beds, I always have a good night's sleep (I stay in a lot of hotels in UK and overseas and believe me there is nothing better than knowing you are going to stay at a hotel with a comfortable bed!).

The restaurant gets busy on Fridays and Saturdays so book a table to avoid disappointment. Free fast wifi so I can check my emails. Really cannot say anything bad about the hotel - it is not a Four Seasons but a well run nice boutique/small hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinball10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2010

Stayed for 1 night due to a Business Trip. I couldn't fault the welcome or accommodation and it wasn't noisy! The room was spacious and well decorated, with a comfortable bed and fluffy duvet. Real coffee in the room. A shower and large bath and very nice shampoo/body wash.
I had already eaten, so didn't try the restaurant (but judging by how busy it was, it must be good!). Breakfast was excellent.
This would be ideal for an adult couple who wanted to do some touring in the area and have a cosy bolthole to return to.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stopped at the Mulberry Tree whilst visiting family. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful,rooms clean and the food was fabulous!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazise06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked with this hotel because we wanted a quality stay. We informed them on booking we were bringing a child of 12 yet on arrival were informed children werent allowed in the bar! Great as they had nowhere else to go apart from the room.
Our room was nice on initial impressions, however it wasnt up close, the handles on the furniture were falling off, the loo roll holder was cfalling off, the 'power' shower trickled worse than an incontinent OAP the 2 double beds were just 2 four footers, The poor quality of finish was highlighted by there being no threshold strips under any of the room doors.The hallway had a strange smell which may be explained by the fact the 2 front bedrooms of the hotel are derelict with the ceilings falling down.
We had driven up from hampshire so went to bed early only to stay awake due to the bar below being so noisey, and rowdy locals outside in the garden til midnight.
After a poor nights sleep in the small beds we went down hoping to at least have a decent breakfast.
the owner served us reluctantly, service took ages with us having finished our pots of coffee and tea before we got even a slice of toast, there was only 1 other person for breakfast. The food was poor, tough sauages, my wifes salmon and scrambled eggs was however excellent! a bright light to a very poor stay.
We did tell the owner about the noisey night but he shrugged it off, saying we didnt think the sound of the bar would carry to the room above!
Oh and dont park out front, the locals use the car park as a cut thru with thier buggys and dont care about the cars..Oh and dont expect help with your bags either

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DadsArmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

You have the choice of a Travel Lodge, Holiday Inn or Premier Lodge - for around the same money the decisions not going to be that hard - stay at The Mulberry Tree.

Great rooms fitted out to a high standard, a lovely big bed and good size bathroom. Good food from the restaurant and good service from checking in to checking out.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank 100cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Having stayed in two hotels recommended on Trip Adviser and being disappointed by both just before staying at the Mulberry Tree, I can say the latter was a very pleasant surprise indeed. I wouldn't hesitate to stay and eat there again.

The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean (I'm truly fussy), spacious, comfortable, and decorated in Kelly Hoppen colours. The bed and pillows gave me a good night's sleep. The TV, cable and cafetiere were all new-ish and worked well.

The restaurant was very busy (23rd December) but service was efficient and friendly. I was impressed with the Modern British menu, and the quality and price of the food (but then being a Londoner, I'm used to unfriendly service and over-priced food).

Small hotel bars in small towns can be horrible, (especially for a woman travelling alone) but this one was cosy and welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonSongbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We have eaten here a number of times and the food has always been of the highest quality. The dishes are imaginative, tasty and generous. There is a good wine list, too.
Recently we also stayed here for 2 nights and were impressed by our room and bathroom.
Definitely a much higher standard than you might expect from a small market town.

1  Thank CosiNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Attleborough
2.1 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
304 reviews
8.0 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,166 reviews
11.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Aldercarr Hall
Aldercarr Hall
#2 of 5 in Attleborough
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherbourne House
Sherbourne House
#3 of 5 in Attleborough
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griffin Hotel Attleborough
Griffin Hotel Attleborough
#5 of 5 in Attleborough
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulberry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulberry Tree

Address: Station Road, Attleborough NR17 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Attleborough
Price Range: £39 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Mulberry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mulberry Tree Hotel Attleborough
The Mulberry Tree Attleborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing