We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Griffin Hotel

The Griffin Hotel
Ranked #24 of 30 Restaurants in Attleborough
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
180 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Old charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Griffin has some good old charm and equally old decor to match. Its history and character make it worth a visit. Reasonable price and the food is ok. It will struggle with many other options available in Attleborough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    12
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value & nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Four of us went for lunch on Mother's Day & even allowing for the occasion there was a pleasant calm atmosphere. We all chose the regular Sunday roast & what a great choice it is. Beautifully cooked & with all the veg etc you would expect. A good portion is provided too. Puddings are also good with a nice choice of all the classic favourites. The only downside (& this is a minor point) was that the service was a touch slow, but as I said at the start it was Mother's Day & I guess busier than average.
So all in all very much recommended for a great traditional meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NandPOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Have just stayed here for one night for a family birthday party in Attleborough. This 500 year old coaching Inn has great character but with a bit of love and TLC could have so much more. The bedrooms need a complete refurbishment, they are dated, scruffy, and dusty. We had a double room and the four poster room. The bed linen was clean and the huge beds were comfortable. However the four poster room was cold on arrival and had a broken light on the ceiling (no shade), and the huge dried flower arrangement in the beautiful open fireplace was incredibly dusty. The double room had peeling paint, stained carpet and evidence of damp in the bathroom. Window latches and the toilet seat were broken, on shutting the bathroom door, plaster and cobwebs fell from the ceiling and the shaver light did not work. The coffee table had folded up paper stuffed in the base to stop it toppling over. Our welcome was non existent as the bar was full of locals watching Football and we were subjected to foul language as we entered. The barmaid shoved the keys at us and vaguely waved us up the stairs to find our own rooms and carry our own luggage. We had to sign ourselves in at the top of the stairs. There was no explanation of how to use the phones in the rooms and no offer of newspapers. Breakfast the next morning was ok but not outstanding. If you're going to use metal jugs and coffee pots at least make sure they are stain free before use otherwise they look as though they havent been washed.....china would be so much nicer. Thank goodness we were only using this place as a base to come back to after a party and were only staying one night. The pictures on the web site are very deceiving as they give give totally the wrong impression. We dont mind old and we like character but for £80 per room per night we do expect clean and fresh and good working order and a warm welcome. Would not come back unless this place had a total makeover and sadly would not be able to recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishmadasadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special, expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Went here for a meal prior to our sons carol service which was being held next door, the food was expensive for the surroundings, the bar and restaurant need updating as other people have mentioned, you can get a better meal else where for the same cost in more upload the upmarket surroundings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesandjay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I can thoroughly recommend this place for food - delicious. If you have any room left, there is pudding!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Griffin Hotel also viewed

Attleborough, Norfolk
 
 

Been to The Griffin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing