We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Attleborough
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family friendly run business that offers everything a good village pub should have! Good food, relaxed bar and good service
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was really looking forward to having a Sunday lunch at the Red Lion, met up with friends, and it was a lovely day, we ordered a mixture of food, and was shown to our table, it was not full, but perhaps everyone had eaten and gone, but nice friendly staff, I ordered roast beef and it duly came, a lot of beef and crispy potatoes and great Yorkshire pudding, however, one of the vegetables were cauliflower cheese and this was on the plate, hence the cream sauce mixed in with my gravy and became a river of yellow and brown, now this may not bother a lot of people but for me I don't want all liquids mixed, if only this could have been served in a dish by the side of my plate, the dinner would have been much better.

My desert was a strawberry and rhubarb crumble, but apart from a little crisp topping the custard and strawberry's and rhubarb were all mixed together with a serving of ice cream on the top.

Just to mushy for me, I love a good crumble with custard or ice cream but not all together mixed in with the fruit. !

However, staff were friendly and we all had a good time, if I go again I will ask for separate bowls, oh and my of my party had the whitebait which were very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    14
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Welcoming and warming food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A group of 8 headed here after good reviews and we weren't let down! A lovely building with split bar and restaurant areas with lovely old beams throughout the eatery! The menu was well structured and had most food to choose from the whitebait, prawn and crayfish salad and Welsh rarebit where chosen for starters all were enjoyed the whitebait has just a light frying which was lovely, the salad was light with fresh prawns and crayfish though no croutons were found in either of the 2 dishes served, the Welsh rarebit was nice but lacked a real true flavour.
The timing at which the food was passed to the table was ideal for drinks and the palate go settle! The mains didn't let us down either the belly pork was well presented and succulent pork with lovely crackling, the sea bass was beautifully cooked and went very well with the mango salsa and Cajun potatoes! The one main dish that was a slight let down was the mushroom and celeriac rissotto, it lacked mushroom had large amounts of celeriac and was very stodgy many of us tried the dish but weren't impressed, but all the other dishes throughout the evening where of a high quality!!
A large desert menu I'd recommend the lemon tart was very light others enjoyed the honeycomb desert which all went which is always a good sign.
Throughout the evening the waitresses were very helpful and friendly throughout the evening would recommend and go back to the resursunt again!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisc-1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Magic Whitebait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went with friends for a late Sunday Lunch Table at 14.30 left at 17.00 without doubt the best whitebait starter I have ever eaten. Only problem I couldn't finish the main (Roast pork) that followed. Heartbreaking to leave the unfinished food on the plate. Excellent attentive service Thankyou Phil & Staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magpiey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good enough: but not special.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Sunday Lunch. Charming but amateur waitress settled us at one table then asked us to move to another!
Lunch was tasty and for the most part well cooked, a very good portion of roast beef tender and tasty, decent roast potatoes, but the veg was either very under or very over cooked. The 'pudding eater' was very happy with the sticky toffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton, Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Another fabulous Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Another visit to the Red Lion at Caston and another great meal. The atmosphere is country pub cozy, with modern decor and a roaring open fire. The Sunday roast doesn't disappoint and the service is great. This is our favourite Sunday lunch venue outside of London. There is a full menu if a roast is not your preferred option. The homemade honeycomb with ice cream and caramel sauce is a winner. Looking forward to our next return visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

 
Attleborough, Norfolk
Attleborough, Norfolk
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing