We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”

The Crown Great Ellingham nr171le
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Attleborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Following a recent refurb we thought we would eat here for a change. Very good food, great choice of wine. Would certainly recommend

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pinkkatie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    48
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Everything is great about this new restaurant . Great wine , great food..lovely decor spacious and well designed. Attentive staff. Super south facing outside area. What's not to like?
Looking forward to trying it out again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artiqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Birthday Surprise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I had heard good things about the recent opening of the new crown. I booked a table for eight to have dinner to celebrate my daughters eighteenth birthday.
What a brilliant evening we had ! We had grandmother through generations to sixteen year old and the crown pleased them all. Everything was absolutely perfect !
Great food,great wine and service.
Well done The Crown. I want to keep you a secret for close friends but credit where credits due ... Readers, go to the Crown, you will be impressed !

Helpful?
1 Thank Neilpimpernel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Familiar local Pub reopens with a really creative & exciting menu ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I always look forward to revisiting a newly refurbed "familiar local pub" to experience someone else's interpretation of what they think people might enjoy & I wasn't disappointed. I thought the menu was creative, exciting and interesting something for everyone. The food was first class & beautifully presented with delicious flavours. I had the scrummiest starter of short sticky beef rib (sliced meal only) with radish & my friend had a pork croquetas; Plaice on the bone with samphire (prefer mine cooked until soft this wasn't cooked enough for me personally) - haven't seen Plaice on any menu for a while & my friend had a stunning piece of Hake, then we shared the most delightful prettiest Panna Cotta with a mango smooth puree? topping, coconut shortbread biscuits & coconut ice cream - it was heaven on a plate! Perhaps a minor criticism would be lighting just needs dimming down to create a bit more of a warmer cozier atmosphere for the evening but like all newly decorated places it takes time for it to become lived in & for the newness to wear off - it was a Monday night also. Good luck to you & I sincerely hope you get the support you deserve & I look forward to visiting again with more friends. I would certainly recommend the Crown to you all ... especially now as the Teddy Bears are up for viewing in the village ... go see the Teddy Bear trail & then have lunch or dinner as we did last night! We also popped out to the Beer Garden (not Bear - maybe your should have had a Bear Garden) on our way out which looks very pleasant too with modern wicker seating overlooking a further grassed area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DottyDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Sunday afternoon, newly opened and nicely presented environment. We arrived at 14:00 only two options on menu as sold out of roast, disappointing. Overtime I think the place will develop personality and ambiance, but not there yet! Lovely waitress tall and elegant, very courteous and accommodating. Would most definitely give it another go

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Great Ellingham nr171le also viewed

Attleborough, Norfolk
Attleborough, Norfolk
 
Attleborough, Norfolk
Wymondham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Crown Great Ellingham nr171le? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing