We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, stylish and friendly.”
Review of Sherbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherbourne House
Ranked #4 of 5 Attleborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Great hotel in a beautiful location. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. It offers excellent value. The rooms are very clean, dressed well and of a great standard; they even have filter coffee in them (bonus). Excellent breakfast options. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay as we were in Norfolk for a funeral but after some heavy snow and having my 86 year old mother with us we decided to stay in sherbourne house as it was a pot luck decision we were bowled over by the place. The rooms were spacious the evening meals lovely not a large choice but not really a problem when only staying 2 nights a comfortable conservatory and bar were I was so relaxed I had more wine than I should have

My mother loved being there and I don't think she was bothered about attending the funeral as she was being so well looked after. Would only stay at the sherbourne when we are up visiting relatives wouldn't go anywhere else. We were the only guests at the time because of snow but would be even better with some more people in the restaurant just for a bit more atmosphere but still nice all the same

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzydiverSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We spent new Years Eve here with friends and we were delighted we did.From the moment we arrived Doris and Tobias made made us feel comfortable and relaxed. Our room (room 3) was quite large and well equipped.Tea & coffee,biscuits were laid out, flat screen TV, free wi fi and a super comfy 6' bed with quality bedding. Good size en suite and everything spotlessly clean. Before dinner we settled in the lovely conservatory/bar for drinks. Then what can only be described as a stunning 6 course meal was served in the pretty dining room. The food would have graced many a premium quality restaurant. After dinner and drinks we were invited to join Tobias & Doris in the garden for fireworks and bubbley at midnight. After a restful nights sleep the breakfast was delightful and plentyful with good choices on offer. We will certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike0194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I travel with my job and this was the 3rd hotel this week. ...and the best by far. Great room, big with large bathroom all in a1 order. Attractive conservatory and wonderful cooked breakfast, good parking, good hosts. On my list to return to when next in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Whilst suprised to be the only four people booked for dinner we were delighted by the private dining room. It was like being at a private dinner party with the most attentive hosts. The staff could not have been more helpful.

The menu is interesting in its Eastern European slant and though we all enjoyed our meals I felt it could have offered a wider choice. That said all of our requests to adapt items on the menu were readily accommodated. The chef [ess] even came out to check that everything was good.

Probably would check that there were other people booked in next time as it did lack atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lyndalovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Four of us went for dinner on a Saturday evening and had a very good meal at reasonable prices with excellent service. Our coats we hung up for us when arrived (none of this dumping them over the back of our chairs), the tables were well spaced and their were plenty of candles lit to give a relaxing atmosphere.

The prices are for 1, 2 or 3 courses and we opted for the 2 courses at £22.50. We were talking but there was no pressure to hurry up and choose. A jug of water arrived without us having to ask and our glasses were quietly filled. There is always a German speciality on the menu and 3 of us chose it, a beef roulade, which we tasty and very tender and the 4th had steak, equally tender accompanied by a wonderful Riesling.

I had hoped for a schnitzel as they are sometimes on the menu but the waitress told me that before I go again I can phone up and request they do one for me which sounds good to me.
The puddings were melt in the mouth and I can recommend the orange mousse and apple and cinnamon tartlets.

It was so comfortable that we invited a guest dining on his own to join us for coffee and continued chatting.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fritzmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at the Sherbourne House hotel. Sherbourne House is an 18th century manor house and is situated in the small market town of Attleborough just off the A11 between Thetford and Norwich.

We arrived early evening and we were warmly greeted by Toby the manager who after checking in showed us to our room. We had room number 1 at the front of the hotel overlooking the front lawn.

Our room was very spacious and was well appointed with nice decor and furnishings. The bed was probably one of the best that I have ever slept in with a comfortable mattress, big pillows and heavy duvet. The room came with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities including a cafetiere plus bottled water, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, telephone and clock radio. There was also a walk-in wardrobe which included extra bedding/pillows if you needed them.

The bathroom too was quite large with nice fittings. Two quality towels were supplied each, the bath towel being very large. Bottles of toiletries were also supplied along with flannels, cotton buds, cotton balls and tissues. The shower over bath was very good with hot and powerful water. Both our room and bathroom was spotlessly clean as indeed was the entire hotel.

One of the quirky things about our room was the sloping undulating floor (as mentioned on the hotel website). It took a bit of getting used to at first, felt like you were drunk before you had even had a drink! So just be careful when you return to the hotel at the end of an evening after really having a drink – laugh.

The hotel has a very nice restaurant with a conservatory attached which also has the bar. As we arrived early evening we had already pre-booked a table. The hotel manager Tobias (or Toby) is also the chef. For our evening meal my wife had the rib-eye steak which was cooked to perfection. I opted for the German special (as recommended by a previous reviewer) which was Beef roulade with carrots and peas and mashed potatoes, very tasty indeed. Apple and cinnamon crumble with rum & raisin ice cream completed our meal all served with a smile by Charlotte the German waitress. Both Toby and Charlotte were very attentive making sure we were happy with our meal. Breakfast was also extensive with a choice of cereals and fresh fruits and fruit juice. There was a choice of hot fair on the menu from a light breakfast to a full English including endless toast if you wanted it. Fresh tea or coffee rounded it off nicely.

The hotel boasts free Wi-Fi throughout, has a large car park plus a lawn with bench seating which would be quite nice on a warm summer’s day.

Sherbourne House is German owned and is managed by Tobias and Doris, unfortunately, we didn’t get to meet Doris as she was in Germany at the “sister” Baseler Hof hotel situated in Hamburg . Charlotte the waitress was over from Hamburg on a seven week secondment . Her English and service skills were excellent.

The hotel sits just outside Attleborough town centre around a 5 – 10 minute walk away. The town has several pubs, the Griffin was quite lively on Friday night. To the South is the town of Thetford and around 13 miles North is the historic city of Norwich with its Castle, Cathedral and many churches plus extensive shopping malls and market. If you don’t fancy driving into Norwich, the number 13 bus stops almost outside the hotel or you could catch the train from Attleborough to Norwich.

At £87 per night for a double room, I thought this was excellent value for money. We will be returning to Attleborough again next year and we will certainly return to the Sherbourne again.

Service just how it should be – well done Guys.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finkfloydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Attleborough hotels
2.3 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griffin Hotel Attleborough
Griffin Hotel Attleborough
#5 of 5 in Attleborough
34 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aldercarr Hall
Aldercarr Hall
#3 of 5 in Attleborough
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Old Field Barn Bed & Breakfast
Old Field Barn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Attleborough
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mulberry Tree
The Mulberry Tree
#1 of 5 in Attleborough
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbourne House

Address: 8 Norwich Road, Attleborough NR17 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Attleborough
Price Range: £92 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherbourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sherbourne Housebourne House is a privately run country house, built around 1740, which offers an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all our guests. Located in the historic market town of Attleborough, Norfolk, Sherbourne House is ideally placed for Norwich, Snetterton Motor Racing Circuit, and places of interest in the Breckland area including Thetford Forest, Old Buckenham Airfield, Bressingham and Wymondham.Whether visiting for business or leisure, Sherbourne House offers the perfect location for any occasion. We are pet-friendly and offer free broadband wireless internet access throughout. The Restaurant at Sherbourne House serves a wide variety of freshly-cooked, local produce to cater for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sherbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbourne House Attleborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing