We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend away!”
Review of Sherbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherbourne House
Ranked #3 of 6 Attleborough B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend away!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My parents and I stayed here for 3 nights for my dads 50th birthday and it was perfect. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable. The food was absolutely amazing! And it was such a nice touch that the chef came out to have a chat and to check if everything was okay with the food, which it always was. The house is in a great location too. Would definitely recommend this place and hope to be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank V91L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    32
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
30
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night as a group of friends, the Sherbourne is ideally situated to get to/from Snetterton Race circuit in a matter of minutes, a major plus for us. Nobody batted an eyelid about four motorcycles pulling up to what could look to be a rather grand property - we should have thought it through in the name that there may be a gravel drive and there is.....fortunately we all had pucks with us.

Rooms are not the most spacious but more than adequately furnished and all high quality extras provided - particularly nice selection of biscuits! The bathroom too is well appointed, towels were nice, large and fluffy. The bed is exceptionally comfortable. Free wifi always welcome.

We negotiated, without hassle an earlier than normal start for the kitchen so we could breakfast in time for an early set off; there was a good selection of fruit, yoghurt and cereal. Two types of juice etc. Plus there was a good variety on the breakfast menu; we all had something different and it was all excellent. Given this we would have liked to have sampled the evening menu. However, other commitments stopped this being so; perhaps a good job as the restaurant and bar is closed on a Sunday evening - though we were emailed prior to our arrival a list of alternative eateries that were local.

All in all a good stay; everybody we met on site was pleasant and efficient, though felt a little pricey to get an excellent rating - maybe because it was such a brief visit we didn't get the full benefit. We would stay again, to make sure.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I'm not often inspired to write a review but on this occasion I feel it'd be wrong not to!

Catering for five of us from 8 to 88 years old, steaks done in different ways accurately, salmon with delicious sauce with a subtle hint of fennel, vegetarian, various starters to dessert; stunning wine selection & knowledgable advice
The chef even rustled up the most amazing chocolate brownies with raspberries for my daughter (not on the menu) nothing seemed a problem so we left feeling valued and looking forward go our next visit!
Highly recommended!!

Thank you for a memorable evening!
All the best,
The Sandford family

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here from the 5-8th July 2014, having visited last year as well. The rooms are clean, well presented and the beds exceptionally comfortable. There is a large conservatory where we enjoyed pre (and post) dinner drinks. Toby and his staff are friendly and cheerful. There is a simple menu for evening meals - I chose the German option which Toby cooked to perfection. The breakfasts are nicely cooked using local produce. One of the things that really sets the tone for this place is that there are no horrible sachets anywhere - all the sugars and preserves and sauces is decanted in to nice little bowls or jars. It's a lovely place and I thoroughly recommend a stay here. Cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Me and my Family went for a meal on a Saturday Night . Service is superb and the food is amazing . Will be going again for sure . Its a very clean and tidy and the grounds are very nice
Thanks very much A++++++

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was one of a group of friends, 16 in total, who had a fabulous evening at The Sherbourne. Doris and Toby were excellent hosts, and the food fantastic. We met with them prior to the occasion and they were most helpful in planning a varied menu. Their suggestion re an assorted starter and dessert plate was perfect. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I spent two days at this establishment run by a very lovely German couple Toby and Doris. We were made to feel very welcome. The room (no1) was large with a great bed and ensuite, very clean. Food, well, what can I say apart from 'out of this world' I chose German specials from the menu and I was not disappointed, Toby is a very talented chef. We were very looked after and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Attleborough
3.8 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
6.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
15.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
7.3 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
16.0 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbourne House

Property: Sherbourne House
Address: 8 Norwich Road, Attleborough NR17 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Attleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Attleborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherbourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sherbourne Housebourne House is a privately run country house, built around 1740, which offers an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all our guests. Located in the historic market town of Attleborough, Norfolk, Sherbourne House is ideally placed for Norwich, Snetterton Motor Racing Circuit, and places of interest in the Breckland area including Thetford Forest, Old Buckenham Airfield, Bressingham and Wymondham.Whether visiting for business or leisure, Sherbourne House offers the perfect location for any occasion. We are pet-friendly and offer free broadband wireless internet access throughout. The Restaurant at Sherbourne House serves a wide variety of freshly-cooked, local produce to cater for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sherbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbourne House Attleborough, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing