We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of Tour, Exceeded Only by the Quality of the Sherry”

Bodegas Lagar Blanco
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Montilla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bodega familiar incluida en la denominación de origen protegida Montilla-Moriles. Realizamos venta de vinos de calidad, visitas guiadas, catas dirigidas de vinos y celebraciones.Family winery included in the PDO Montilla-Moriles. We offer high quality wines, tours, wine tastings and meals.
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality of Tour, Exceeded Only by the Quality of the Sherry”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

WOW ! ! ! What a wonderful experience. Each step along the way built upon the previous, starting with the drive through the rural area outside of Montilla amidst the grape wines and olive trees. Upon arriving we were greeted by our host Miguel and were very pleased that our limited knowledge of the Spanish language would not be a limiting factor, as Miguel was very fluent in English. Miguel showed us around outside taking to time to educate us about the grapes and how the elevation (what a spectacular view), the soil and climate of this area all contribute to producing the very high quality Pedro Jimenez grapes used to make their sherry.

We then headed inside where Miguel educated my wife and I on the winemaking process, taking his time to answer our questions as he taught us about the different aspects of the process from the cement holding/fermentation tanks, to the way the barrels were filled to adding the new wine to the older wine to produce the final product.

Miguel then conducted the tasting which began with tapas consisting of cured Iberian meat and cheese. Miguel then educated us on the new wine and how it progressed over time to becoming the Fino, Olorosso, Amontillado and the Pedro Jimenez. Each wine had its own distinct character and flavor and yet were all made from the same grape by varying the time and oxidation involved.

At the conclusion of the tasting Miguel, ever the perfect host, provided us with a sumptuous meal composed of Spanish omelette, flamenquin, croquetas and salmorejo which all belonged to traditional Cordobesian foods.

If are visiting this region of Andalucía, the Montilla-Moriles wine region, then taking a tour of Bodegas Lagar Blanco is an ABSOLUTE must do. Granted, you won't know what you're missing but I will and I guarantee you, if you knew what I know, you'd be kicking yourself for not making the time to be educated by Miguel, a true ambassador of the Spanish people. OLE ! ! ! and many thanks to Miguel, our most gracious host.

Jim & Dorothy Howell
Suwanee, GA

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful secret spot...!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I adore sherry and understood Miguel's family-run Lagar Blanco to produce some of the most exceptional Oloroso, Amontillado and PX in Montilla-Moriles, and that's certainly so. The landscaping is so dramatic and sweeping, leaving the little bodega to feel like your secret amidst the colinas.

Miguel is a gracious and deeply knowledgeable host who privately toured us around the vineyard explaining cultivation technique and all harvesting details in perfect English. We moved through to the tasting room to sample very special blends and an array of green young wine to aged sweeter sherry. Miguel was very generous with portions and we were left glowing with sherry! Tge sweet scent filled the air in the bodega and we absolutely had to leave with bottles of each- Miguel's wines are almost criminally priced- the oloroso and PX definitely deserve higher price points than €12 as they're very much to be savoured.

Would love to return to witness the September harvest. Miguel is very warm-hearted and we would love to hear updates on the development of the impressive bodega.

Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaGeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The bodega is high on a hill so the views are fantastic, olives and vines as far as the eye can see! The landscape alone is worth the trip but Miguel is a major bonus. He carefully explained about the vines, why they are planted as individuals rather than on wires, how the local climate affects the grapes, the soil, the processes of picking through to the production of the wine and of course then there was the wine tasting with tapas. We were very impressed with the wine and wished we didn't need to be flying home, we would certainly have bought more than a couple of bottles to drink whilst we were here but there was absolutely no pressure to do so. Miguel was an excellent host, because it is his family business and he's not just an employee, his enthusiasm and passion for the Lagar/bodega makes the tour so much more interesting and informative than most. We would highly recommend this visit, well worth a trip off the beaten track.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ajaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing afternoon amidst rolling hills. ”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Four of us spent a wonderful afternoon at this vineyard. Miguel was a gracious host. He gave us a quick introduction to the wine making process. We tasted a number of wines. I really liked the amontillado. The setting amidst the olive trees and vineyards was picture perfect. A must see if driving from cordoba to granada!

Helpful?
Thank revati k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best things in life are hard to find...”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to southern Spain for our honeymoon and were determined to go to at least a couple of off-the-beaten-path places. When I read about the Montilla-Moriles wine route that was on our way from Granada to Sevilla, I knew we had to visit a bodega (where they store/age and bottle wine) or lagares (where they actually make and press the wine). After reading about Bodegas Lagar Blanco in the Guardian, we were set on our destination. Getting there by car is not easy, but as long as you have a GPS that takes coordinates you'll be okay (ours only accepted addresses and there's no set address for this place). The second you get there you see why it's such a tricky destination. It's outside the main towns and set on a rural hill, surrounded by verdant, rolling hills filled with grapevines. Under the Andalusian sun, it is a sight to behold. Miguel, the owner's son and our guide, patiently waited for us even though we were 2 hours late (I told you it was hard to find!!!) and gave us a great tour and tasting. Although the place is small, the intimacy, charm, friendliness of Miguel, and quality of the wines makes you linger much longer than you'd think. We were there almost 3 hours. All the wines are great, but particularly phenomenal are the fino, amontillado, and Pedro Ximenez. Make a reservation and find your way there. It's undoubtedly worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SRinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodegas Lagar Blanco also viewed

Montilla, Province of Cordoba
Montilla, Province of Cordoba
 
Montilla, Province of Cordoba
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Bodegas Lagar Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing