We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Garden Place Hotel(Ruhengeri)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$373
US$300
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$225
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
213
296
122
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
296
122
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet stylehot water bottlesstir frynational parkhiking bootsginger teasmall space heaterbuffet meals aresitting arearooms are largeeach eveningboot cleaninggrounds are beautifulopen firemain buildingreception arealunch and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed two nights, and did a golden monkey trek (wonderful) and a gorilla trek (a bit disappointing, because we were unlucky in getting a group near the top the mountain and then found to be sleeping most of the hour).

The rooms were big and warm enough during our stay, the fire was a nice touch. The space was nice to have, the shower was strong, and the beds were comfortable. Internet, even though a bit spotty, was a luxury to have on our trip through remote areas

The food was better than expected on the basis of reviews here -- lots of fresh salads and vegetables, and lots of options.. made-to-order omelets in the morning were great

The grounds were lovely, with lots of beautiful birds to watch in the afternoon

The place has a funny feel -- kind of a cross between a big hotel and a lodge, but the staff were very helpful and friendly, and it was great to have our hiking boots cleaned!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here in preparation for out trek to see the gorillas. This place has just about everything one would want...nice rooms (working fireplaces, too), excellent service, super food. The local young dancers welcoming visitors in the evening was a nice touch. They seemed to really enjoy what they were doing. We wish we could have stayed another night, just to enjoy being away from the city. Would go again.

Room Tip: Any of they will work...a bit of a walk to some of them...but they have escorts if you want them after dark.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel just lacks everything! From comfortable beds and pillows to consistent service. One night we had a meek fire in our room and the night prior nothing. The food is below average and don't even try the desserts they are horrible. The staff is kind and friendly and this almost made up for what the hotel lacks. Not my favorite place. Hopefully they can improve with some light in the lobby, new sofas and making it more appealing. They did have nice show of student dancers.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If i was rating it for value for money I would say excellent - it is a great place between the high end pricey places to stay and the budget options.

The rooms are all individual cottages and are enormous with huge bathrooms. well appointed with a fireplace and you can ask for a fire each evening.

The grounds are huge and when you get back from your gorilla trek there are lots of birds to see on site. they also usually have some cultural activities.

Gorilla trekking can get quite wet and if you don't want to carry all the gear you can hire stuff like gumboots , waterproofs etc at the lodge.

The staff are helpful and friendly and the lodge is well located to get to the place where you have to meet up for the gorilla reks

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but the lower number have better views although they are less private
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safaribuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent two nights in this comfortable lodge - huge rooms - and enjoyed it overall, but found the service uneven. The staff are quite friendly and seem genuinely interested in making your stay comfortable; and if there is a problem, they go out of their way to remedy it. But many little things suggest a fault in the management somewhere. For example, while the bungalows have fireplaces and they routinely light fires in most rooms and have the staff set up to do that (nights at that high elevation can get pretty chilly), we didn't get it the first night, even through we asked specifically (and after a while we were too tired to bother), and only got it the second night right on the line between acceptably and unacceptably late. We belatedly heard from a friend that they also provide hot water bottles for the bed and a small heater in the room, though we had neither and didn't know they were available. On our last morning, as we went in for breakfast, we clearly surprised the staff, one of whom commented "Oh, we didn't know anyone was still here." (The rest of the guests had left early for their hikes to see the gorillas - the nearly-exclusive reason for staying there - and the next batch hadn't yet arrived.) To their credit, they quickly provided a tasty meal for us, but the experience was in keeping with those many small flaws that suggest weak management in some areas. Of course, I only point out these admittedly minor flaws precisely because this is a high-end property. If it were a budget one, I wouldn't expect so much. But if they charge upwards of $250 per night in a country where many in the local middle class barely make that in a month (and some in the villages don't in a year), we should expect fewer such flaws. But I'll conclude on a positive note: it's a beautiful property and, as I already noted, the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. In fact, they cleaned our hiking boots to the point where they literally look nearly-new! Finally, the evening cultural entertainment (a local dance troupe) was actually quite good and pretty authentic, and this jaded traveler found himself charmed by it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews