We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed , a wonderful eating experience”
Review of Casa Gallega

Casa Gallega
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Not to be missed , a wonderful eating experience”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had the most wonderful fresh turnbot which was generously served with fresh vegetables and acorda a typical Portuguese dish made from bread and garlic .The accompanying wine was excellent . The meal was very good value for money and we came back a couple of days later and were equally well treated

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“food was good but...”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The divide between the smokers and non-smokers is clearly not enough. Spent all dinner smelling cigarettes and got home smelling like I'd been in some seedy bar. The non-smoking section is in a back room between the bathroom and the kitchen. When you don't smell the cigarettes, you smell the frying oil... not returning anytime soon.

Helpful?
Thank MartimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best fish soup!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The best fish soup I ever tasted! This restaurant is not cheap but you get the value for the money you spend. Nice place to have dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you're not a regular customer, be prepared to be poorly treated and face a huge bill”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

By advise of the owner I choose a seafood rice, but when the bill arrived, I was faced with a outrageous bill as they charged (and never warned me) for a whole lobster costing about €60. They refused to review the charge and lost a costumer for good.

My sister and husband were asked to change table, when they were already eating, and were moved, from a nice by the window to a between wc and kitchen table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Lisbon”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We lived in Portugal for 4 years and this is our favorite restaurant. We just were back to visit and it's still owned by the same couple Fernando and Marinha. The food is excellent and the service, also. The appetizers are wonderful, pulpo a gallega(grilled octopus), pimentos(little grilled pepper), crab spread, mussels, etc. They always have the freshest fish and seafood. The owners don't speak English, (but one of the servers, Lucy, does,) but they'll go out of their way to be accommodating. It's located in a small town about 6 miles outside of Lisbon. Worth a trip!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Gallega also viewed

Paco de Arcos, Lisbon District
Paco de Arcos, Lisbon District
 
Paco de Arcos, Lisbon District
 

Been to Casa Gallega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing