We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paco de Arcos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a fantastic new hotel. Old manor house building with a class linked modern extension. First class staff, wonderful rooms and breakfast. Well done to all the team there. The Vila Gale training department is doinf an excellent job.

Room Tip: All are good, there is also a fantastic family run rest. just down the road from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel and particularly about the staff.
At Vila Galé we truly believe that the staff can make the difference and our fantastic team puts this into practice every day.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Collection Palácio dos Arcos.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is an incredible beautiful hotel in the small vilage of Paço de Arcos, on the coastal route between Lisbon and Cascais. With easy access to the capital and to many sights around it ( including Cascais, Sintra, Mafra, etc.), the Vila Galé Palácio dos Arcos is a fantastic choice to visit this lovely area.
The building ( the old part and the new ) as well as the gardens are absolutely gorgeous. The service from the check-in to the departure was perfect. All the staff were kind and helpful, always with a smile.
The rooms have poets names, our was Lord Byron ( seems that they knew I like English writers!) and had direct access to the outside swimming pool and gardens.The hotel has also a spa area with an indoor pool. The room and bathroom were fantastic, spacious and spotless clean with a big and comfortable king-size bed and a sofa. The sofa, that makes the extra-bed, is comfortable to sit but not to sleep. My son had difficulty sleeping there.
The breakfast ,served in a lovely and bright breakfast room in the old palace, was first class as the hotel itself!
This is, without any doubt, the cherry at the top of the cake in the properties of the portuguese hotel chain Vila Galé. All of their hotel are good but this one is perfect!
Now some words in Portuguese: Um muito obrigado ao grupo Vila Galé por, num momento tão difícil para o nosso país, continuarem a acreditar que é possível investir em Portugal! Parabéns por este hotel fantástico e continuação de muitos sucessos!

Margarida Nobre
Coimbra, Portugal

Room Tip: I think all the rooms will be good.Our was the 118 and we liked it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Ms. Margarida Nobre,
Thank you very much for your review with such a complete and pleasant description of our hotel and its location, which is in fact an excellent base to explore the triangle made by Lisbon, Sintra and Cascais.
We would also like to thank you for your comments in portuguese: muito obrigado pelas suas simpáticas palavras e votos de sucesso. Na Vila Galé acreditamos que é importante continuar a investir no nosso país, daí a aposta em mais uma unidade, o primeiro hotel de 5 estrelas do grupo, em Portugal.
Com os melhores cumprimentos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

There are a number of good hotels in the area especially when you go towards Cascais. This hotel is the best one away from Cascais and the only thing lacking is the atmosphere of Cascais. But with the same token: much less tourists :) The hotel is new, the old part beautifully renovated and the new rooms are great. There is an excellent restaurant across the street as well as in the Hotel. The road can be heard from the pool and when dinning outside which is a petty but the nice staff makes up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker1969too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. The fact that you considered our hotel as excellent makes us proud.
We know that there are many good choices in terms of hotels and we wish to make the difference by the attitude of the staff; we are glad you felt it.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Collection Palácio dos Arcos.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Palácio dos Arcos is a new hotel. Only a few reviews but we were tempted to try it. And we're glad we did. It was the perfect way to end our 4 weeks in Portugal.

First a few words about taxis and the hotel.

- We drove from the Algarve and dropped up the rental car at the airport. Tried to get a quote from the taxi driver on the price to Paço de Arcos. But he suddenly didn't speak English :) And my Portuguese isn't very good. Ended up paying €48 which is too much. Trip back to the airport was only €30. At 4AM.

- I had saved a satellite photo of the area on my phone. Very helpful, as many drivers don't know where it is. If you can say "Avenida Marginal, Paço de Arcos, amarelo" you'll be fine :) The yellow colour stands out. Beautiful and easy to remember. The taxi drivers are very helpful and love it when you know a few words of their language.

First impression

- We were welcomed by people helping with our luggage, a cold towel and cold fresh orange juice. Almost overwhelming. Check in was extremely quick and easy. Very important for us. Perfect way to arrive at the hotel.

The room

- Typical modern Portuguese styling. Very calm and "friendly" feeling. The poets theme is great. Very nice touch with quotes on the walls.

- Beds are incredibly comfortable. I would have brought one back to Norway but couldn't make it fit in my suitcase.

- Our room had a nice size table with two chairs. The sofa turns into a bed. Not the best sofa to sit on but ok. It's practical but could be more comfortable. Curtains make privacy easy and air condition worked perfectly.

- Bathroom with shower and bathtub. Nothing to complain about. Very nice.

- We didn't notice any noise from the busy Avenida Marginal or the train (room 211). The view is nice. The trees in the garden obstructs a little bit but they look nice and I think they shelter from the noise from the road too.

Cleaning

- Perfect. Nothing else to say about that. Rooms and everywhere else on the hotel was perfect.

- Very nice touch with the small candy in the evening. Our daughter loved it.

Pool

- The pool has the most refreshing, clean water ever. I forgot to ask how they do it. Wouldn't be surprised if they used other methods than chlorine.

- The pool is easy to use for children. Also for those who have trouble getting in and out with the stairs in one end.

- Fantastic sunbeds and towels.

- Perfectly clean everywhere. Outstanding pool area.

Staff

- Seemed to be a very young staff. Extremely friendly and helpful at any time of the day.

- They can help you with almost anything. Or actually everything. But I didn't have time to find out. Very nice to get information about trains and ferries. Printed time tables and gave us directions.

- Made us feel welcome. I hope they all know now that we think they're doing an excellent job.

Food

- Excellent breakfast buffet and extra menu. Didn't eat dinner there as we had planned other things.

Location

- Paço de Arcos isn't downtown Lisboa. But that's ok. It's a nice area. Narrow streets with some interesting buildings. Lisboa, Cascais, Estoril ++ is easy to reach with the train. The station is 150 metres from the hotel. Staying a few minutes away from everything was never a problem for us.

- It's close to Quinta da Fonte, a huge office park.

Things to do

- It's a nice trip to walk west along the beaches and cliffs. Get a map from reception and just go. Take pictures of the fountain on the beach, the small forts on the cliffs and take a breather on a cafe when you're tired. We walked to Oeiras and stumbled upon the marching band from the fire department and a wedding :)

- Take the train or taxi (€11) to Belem. Beautiful place.

- From Belem you can take the ferry to Trafaria on the other side of the river and go to the beach at Costa de Caparica. The ferry trip is a nice way to get a different view of the beautiful city. Take the return in the evening during sunset.

- Take the train to Cais do Sodre, taxi or metro to Oceanári de Lisboa. Great place for kids. Or just take the train and start walking in the city. You'll never get tired of Lisboa.

Restaurants

- We tried Casa de Dizima across the road from the hotel. The other restaurants down the street are said to be very good, and maybe we should've tried them. Dizima was ok. Excellent fish. But they have a tendency to overdo things. Excellent meat but to many things going on on the plate. It's fine dining and the price shows it.

- Este Oeste in Centro Cultural do Belem is an excellent place. Coffeeshop and a restaurant with Italian and Japanese. Perfect sushi, perfect pizza, exciting dishes that mix both styles and tasty Teppan grill. And the desserts are wonderful. The mousse and the local ice cream.....have to go back there :) Price is very reasonable.


We couldn't have been more happy with our choice of hotel. I'm sure we're coming back in the future. And that's the best way you can show that you think it's a great hotel. I really hope everyone in the staff understands how thankful we are for all their help.


I was told by someone from Lisboa that Palácio dos Arcos is where king Manuel I watched Vasco da Gama leave for his voyage to India. It was good enough for a king then and still is today.

Room Tip: The terraces are a little bit close to each other in the corners. A room in the middle of each row i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such a complete review, which is a perfect guide about our hotel and its surroundings.
We enjoyed all your comments, particularly the ones about our staff, which stimulate us to continuously improve.
We entirely agree that the best way to show that you enjoyed a hotel is coming back to it and our team looks forward to welcome you again like a king at Palácio dos Arcos.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a new, luxury hotel with good facilities including a high quality spa. The literary concept of naming rooms after writers and poets and the poetry on the walls is a clever touch. The rooms are spacious and very comfy and the bathrooms are well designed. The service is impeccable and being a new hotel, the staff are only too willing to please. It is worth noting that while the hotel has a lovely sea view, it is not on a beach and is in fact, located on a main road with noisy traffic. This can't really be heard from the rooms, but it can from the pool and restaurant. There is free wifi but it is very patchy across the hotel. My biggest criticism is about the quality of the food. The room service menu is limited and overpriced. The food I ordered was below par; an undercooked omelette, 5 or 6 soggy chips with wilted lettuce and two wedges of tomato. The poor quality was replicated at breakfast. The food and wifi are the only things that need improving. Otherwise, was very impressed.

Room Tip: They all have a sea view, but go for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culchavulcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we are going to analyse the ones that you considered necessary to be improved.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Vila Galé Collection Palácio dos Arcos.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was a last minute booking, always a risk. In this case the Palacio dos Arcos turned out to be the perfect hotel. Being so new, everything was pristine. For 7 nights we were pampered and the smallest request met with smiles and instant attention. We agree with everything previous reviewers have said. This hotel is destined to become very popular with discerning clients, I hope the staff maintain their enthusiasm when it does.

Room Tip: The careful design means all rooms in the new blocks are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loughside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Our aim is to provide perfect stays to our valued guests, like you, so we are very happy to hear that we achieved it.
Thank you very much for your comments, which are an excellent incentive to the staff maintain the enthusiasm you refer.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Collection Palácio dos Arcos.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The staff and the hotel amenities are superb.
The location of the hotel is excelent and the fusion of the old palace with the new building is very well done. The theme of the poets, and the poems all over the walls make us, at least think about what surround us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardocunhalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our staff, the hotel amenities, the location and the ambiance.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Collection Palácio dos Arcos.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paco de Arcos
6.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,229 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
Hotel Solar Palmeiras
#2 of 2 in Paco de Arcos
101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos

Address: Largo Conde das Alcacovas 3, Paco de Arcos 2770-031, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Paco de Arcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paco de Arcos
Price Range: £126 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel located in the historical town of Paco de Arcos right by the Tagus River on Lisbon Coast. The nearest link to the transportation network is only a 2 minutes away and you can get to Lisbon Historical Centre in only 15 minutes or to Cascais in about the same time. The nearest beach is only 1km away. The nearest airport is 25 km away. This hotel marks the Vila Gale Group's debut with a 5-star unit in Portugal. With a poetic inspiration and decoration and a privileged location by the Tagus River on the Lisbon Coast, it has 76 bedrooms that are fully integrated in the surrounding environment. The hotel offers 24 hour reception, wheelchair access, hotel safe, and luggage room, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a library, the restaurant Inevitavel, Satsanga Spa, an outdoor pool and a surrounding garden. This unit turned out to be renewed and boosting landmark for the historical centre of the town of Paco de Arcos. The luxurious rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos has 1 restaurant and 2 bars available for its customers, open not only to hotel guests, but also to the general public all year long. The Satsanga label is present at the hotel and is composed of a set of facilities that provide well-being to all its customers. Here, you will find a heated indoor pool, sauna, Turkish bath, Vichy shower, gym and rooms for massages and treatments (all for an additional cost). Guests may choose their breakfast, lunch or dinner meals from a wide buffets. At lunch and dinner guests may also select dishes from the set menu, or take the a la carte option. In addition, the hotel caters for guests with special dietary requirements or take away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Collection Palacio dos Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing