We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for winter”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great choice for winter”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Chosen for its convenient location for Sherborne, the Chetnole Inn turned out to be a great choice on one of the coldest days of winter as the very accommodating landlord left te heating on all night, something my wife is not use to at home! We had two very spacious rooms of a good standard with clean bathrooms (though no bath unfortunately).
Good choice on the menu in the evening and delicious dinner and breakfast. A great pint too! Check In times are lunchtime then early evening, not a problem but we failed to notice it on the website and arrived when the pub was locked up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    25
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
112
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I've been to an awful lot of pubs in my time and this place is as good as any of them. Beautiful setting opposite the village church. Met friends for lunch who use it regularly. We all agreed that the food was excellent. Prices certainly more than for your average pub grub but we felt it was warranted, food and presentation up to restaurant quality. The pub reminds me of the Fox and Hounds at Cattistock which I reviewed recently, quite unassuming from outside but beautiful inside with wonderful old decor and stunning flagstone floors. The landlord was as helpful and friendly as I've ever met. As an ale drinker I can also report that the beer was splendid. In a nutshell, everything you could ask from a country pub. As with the Fox and Hounds, I just wished I lived closer and will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My parents wanted to take us out for a meal and asked us where we would recommend.

The chetnole is local to us and we have been many times before.

The service is always welcoming and efficient.

The food was superb and the hand breaded tiger prawns were superb, not to mention the chocolate brownie for desert!

It's the little touches that count like pouring Guinness properly and ensuring that everything is just right.

Mike runs a great inn and we always recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pau1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We visited this establishment about 4 years ago and enjoyed the experience. When the option of a local visit with our neighbours was mooted we suggested the Chetnole Inn against our friends' judgement. They had visited previously and found the food 'ordinary.'

The welcome was warm and friendly a welcoming fire and a number of people already eating. The menu was nicely short and balanced.

Ther food when it arrived lacked any skill or originality. For example the fishcake was bland and not homemade. Far better options could have been obtained in the local supermarket. The fishcake was 'sitting' or perhaps 'swimming' in a thin sauce which added nothing to the dish.

It was accompanied by a small container - bowl would be an exaggeration of chopped green salad - and a similar bowl of skinny chips. I won't go into the other meals but it shouted microwave and minimal skills. All this for £14.00!!!

Overall with sweets the good bill was about £90 for 4 people.

Were we unlucky? We visited mid week - perhaps the chef's night off? but there was no encouragement to return.

Should we have raised this with the serving staff? Well no - the food wasn't bad just indifferent and not worth the price. In our view there are far better options in the area

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngandfiftyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here for one night during October. Booked it throught laterooms.com so had no idea what to expect really. It was fantastic, a lovely quaint pub in a quiet area. The owners are welcoming and friendly without being obtrusive. The rooms are of excellent standard, big, tastefully decorated and modern and most of all spotlessley clean.

The evening meal was delicious, the food was of a very high standard and piping hot. Breakfast was also very good. Food cooked to order and nothing is too much trouble.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay here again, would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I realise that we may have had the 'second team' for us but after all the rave reviews we were really looking forward to our meal here, but unfortunately it did not meet our expectations. The space and service was very pleasant but the food was not great in general and in places rather mediocre. One guest had guinea fowl which was ok though the potatoes were rather greasy while my wife's sea bass was well cooked but again the Rosti was very greasy and the roasted veg were just ok. My beef pie was not very good, soggy pastry rather bland sauce and slightly rubbery beef. The plum tart would have been very good had it been cooked for another 5-10 minutes. As I said nothing awful but considering the prices are restaurant level we were expecting something special but got average at best. The sandwiches looked good so if you go start with them and then see how it goes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameron67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Aussie
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

It’s always interesting to find out how right the feel you had when researching an unknown place or accommodation was, when it comes to discovering it in reality. Well, in this instance, it was spot on..!!!

A quiet and pretty area, a quaint pub and all extremely tasteful. We had dinner there each night, interesting choices, and yummy. Probably the only disappointment was the limited wine list and the lack of wi-fi (although advertised) We were told it was working, that it must have been our computer, but other guests were unable to connect either, and we had no problems elsewhere. However it did not negatively impact our stay, was more an inconvenience.

Our room (Hardy) was spacious, spotless, bright and airy, and very comfortable. Mineral water supplied, a selection of teas, a coffee plunger (cafetière) . . . really nice touches by thoughtful hosts.

We would choose to stay there again in a flash. I booked via Chetnole Inn’s website, and their reply was prompt and friendly. Overall a superb place to choose having such easy access to a delightful part of the country.

Your awards are well deserved, congratulations..!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Property: The Chetnole Inn
Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole
The Chetnole Inn Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing