We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find !”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a find !”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

What a lovely surprise when we arrived at the Chetnole Inn, to find such top quality accommodation, a warm, welcoming restaurant in the most peaceful idylic area of Dorset. Having been given a Red Letter Days voucher to use for a night away, we chose the Chetnole Inn as being a good base to explore parts of Dorset we had not been to before. We also added a further night and brought my father with us too. As with many of the other reviews we ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal and were very impressed by the large, well equipped room we had with a z bed for our daughter - Hardy. The little extras such as a sofa in the room to unwind, the Molton Brown toiletries and robes in the bathroom, make you want for nothing during your stay. The bed linen and egyptian cotton towels are most luxurious too. My father stayed in Henchard which was also a very spacious and well equipped room. Breakfast was lovely including a choice of full english, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, using local produce and freshly cooked to order. Will definitely be coming back for another visit and recommending to friends and family. Thank you for such a relaxing break in Dorset.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
111
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It is difficult to think of any original complimentary remarks to say about The Chetnole Inn. The other reviews have said it all already! All I will say is that both Jude and her partner work tirelessly to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. The attention to detail is obvious as soon as you arrive. Breakfasts and evening meals in the restaurant are wonderful, and although we didn`t intend to originally.we dined at The Chetnole every evening because the food was so superb!
We will definitely return there in the near future and wouldn`t hesitate to recommend it to all!

Room Tip: Make sure you book early for your evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just spent the night at the Chetnole Inn & what a lovely place it is, beautiful area, lovely clean spacious room, friendly staff & great food & a few of our friends who live in Dorset joined us for the evening, they had never been there before & they totally loved the food as much as we did & wished they had booked in for the evening too :-)

We will definately be going back in the future & can highly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing break with good food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHAMPTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

my husband and i stayed here for 1 night . we arrived about 6.20pm and the pub was just about to open.we checked in with jude , who was lovely , and she showed us to our beautiful big room !! the room was spotless as was the pub . we had an evening meal here which was delicious . MAKE SURE YOU BOOK A TABLE !!! on tuesday you get a starter or dessert for free with a main meal and wednesdays is pie night. both nights are very busy . there is only about 10 stairs upto your room (after a big dinner this is a blessing !! ) you have tea and coffee facilities as well as towels , bathrobes , water , and toiletries in your room.the beds are really comfy with cotton sheets.breakfast too was superb . cooked breakfast , cereal , fruit, yoghurts, porridge was some of the things on offer. nothing was too much trouble for jude but i really dont think you could of wanted anything else !!perfect stay and hopefully we will return !!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisa 149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Spent a weekend with the family at the Chetnole Inn - in 2 wonderful, very nicely decorated rooms. We had extremely nicde breakfasts and 2 ditto Dinners. The Menu is 'just right' enough to chose from! The wines are really nice, so are obviously the ales! We were also given really good advice for outings in the wonderful area!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Fantastic food - large yet homely beautiful rooms ... the Molton Brown tolietries were an added bonus! Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and ample toast, tea and coffe - smoked salmon and scrambled egg was the favorite!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmgirl88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Chetnole Inn for one night on our way down to Cornwall and were very impressed by both the standard of accommodation and the food. We were given fresh milk for our coffee/tea, which always wins big brownie points with me, and our bedroom had a lovely view across to the church. There are some lovely touches in the rooms, including fresh coffee and cafetiere, Molton Brown products in the bathroom and even a complimentary Chetnole Inn rubber duck to take home! We arrived quite early so had time to go in to nearby Sherborne for a wander. This is a lovely town to visit, lots of lovely cafes and interesting shops. We also walked over to the castle but sadly this turned out to be closed. We had an absolutely delicious meal in the evening at the inn and I can see why they have won awards for the quality of the food. My husband had the tenderest steak I have ever eaten (I 'helped' him eat quite a lot of it!) and my confit of duck was beautifully cooked. Although our bedroom was above the bar area, there was no bother at all with noise and we both slept very well. Breakfast the next morning was of a very good standard and we would certainly return in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteljunkieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Property: The Chetnole Inn
Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole
The Chetnole Inn Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing