We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chetnole Inn
Nearby Hotels
Summer Lodge(Evershot)
US$357
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Albert Hotel and Spa(Evershot)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Helyar Arms(East Coker)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
US$126
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(Yeovil)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
151
30
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
30
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfillet steakbeer gardenpielarge portionsexcellent foodlyme regisdorset villagepretty villageopposite the churchnext morninglovely eveningate hereno hesitation in recommendinghardy roomwood burnercooked perfectly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My husband and i stayed overnight on a short visit to Dorset. There was a bit of a mix up on check in time as we were told 6pm in the confirmation email but it was closed until 6.30. This wasn't a problem as we went for a short walk around the village but might not have been so good if it had been bad weather. Once we went in though the owners were really helpful and friendly. The room was fabulous and very clean. The bed was very comfy. We ate there and had a fabulous evening meal and breakfast was super. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank tc241103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry for any confusion around check in times and just wanted to clarify that our check in times are 12 - 2.30 pm or any time from 6.00 pm. We do state in every booking confirmation how to contact us if you arrive after 6.00 pm and before the pub opens at 6.30 pm so apologies if this was not clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

What a lovely surprise when we arrived at the Chetnole Inn, to find such top quality accommodation, a warm, welcoming restaurant in the most peaceful idylic area of Dorset. Having been given a Red Letter Days voucher to use for a night away, we chose the Chetnole Inn as being a good base to explore parts of Dorset we had not been to before. We also added a further night and brought my father with us too. As with many of the other reviews we ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal and were very impressed by the large, well equipped room we had with a z bed for our daughter - Hardy. The little extras such as a sofa in the room to unwind, the Molton Brown toiletries and robes in the bathroom, make you want for nothing during your stay. The bed linen and egyptian cotton towels are most luxurious too. My father stayed in Henchard which was also a very spacious and well equipped room. Breakfast was lovely including a choice of full english, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, using local produce and freshly cooked to order. Will definitely be coming back for another visit and recommending to friends and family. Thank you for such a relaxing break in Dorset.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timetraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It is difficult to think of any original complimentary remarks to say about The Chetnole Inn. The other reviews have said it all already! All I will say is that both Jude and her partner work tirelessly to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and relaxing as possible. The attention to detail is obvious as soon as you arrive. Breakfasts and evening meals in the restaurant are wonderful, and although we didn`t intend to originally.we dined at The Chetnole every evening because the food was so superb!
We will definitely return there in the near future and wouldn`t hesitate to recommend it to all!

Room Tip: Make sure you book early for your evening meal.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just spent the night at the Chetnole Inn & what a lovely place it is, beautiful area, lovely clean spacious room, friendly staff & great food & a few of our friends who live in Dorset joined us for the evening, they had never been there before & they totally loved the food as much as we did & wished they had booked in for the evening too :-)

We will definately be going back in the future & can highly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing break with good food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

my husband and i stayed here for 1 night . we arrived about 6.20pm and the pub was just about to open.we checked in with jude , who was lovely , and she showed us to our beautiful big room !! the room was spotless as was the pub . we had an evening meal here which was delicious . MAKE SURE YOU BOOK A TABLE !!! on tuesday you get a starter or dessert for free with a main meal and wednesdays is pie night. both nights are very busy . there is only about 10 stairs upto your room (after a big dinner this is a blessing !! ) you have tea and coffee facilities as well as towels , bathrobes , water , and toiletries in your room.the beds are really comfy with cotton sheets.breakfast too was superb . cooked breakfast , cereal , fruit, yoghurts, porridge was some of the things on offer. nothing was too much trouble for jude but i really dont think you could of wanted anything else !!perfect stay and hopefully we will return !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisa 149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews