We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A summer's break in Dorset”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A summer's break in Dorset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My partner Sue found the Chetnole Inn whilst hunting around the net, looking for somewhere for us to sneak off to for a few days.
The reviews on TA were all very positive, and we duly took the plunge and booked for a 3-night stay.
There are only 3 rooms at the Inn, so advance booking (I guess particularly in summer) would be advisable. The rooms have 'names', ours being the Hardy.

Our room was both spacious, well-equipped and spotlessly clean, with a lovely en-suite (please note shower-only in this room). The room also looked over the Church (and graveyard!) opposite, but I'm pleased to say that the only 'spirits' we encountered were the ones behind the bar!

Chetnole is well positioned for either visiting the Dorset 'jurassic' coast (about a 30-minute drive), or, like us, visiting National Trust properties in the surrounding areas. We ate in the Pub on two nights, both meals being of an excellent quality, and reasonable prices, when compared with similar properties in our experience.
Our only 'gripe' was that the menu could have been more extensive.....it's fairly limited, but they did have 'specials' offered in addition, over the 3 nights we stayed.

Chetnole is a quiet village, with its own ford, and worth a walk around after your evening meal. We enjoyed undisturbed sleep on all 3 nights, and there never seemed to be much more than general chat emanating from the Bar and restaurant area during opening hours.
The hosts also took every effort to try and ensure you enjoy your stay.
In summary, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
110
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Arrived last Sunday and had a few pints of Tribute before a feast of Thai mussels to start and a main of Sea Bass, both beautifully cooked, washed down with a bottle of Pino Grigio (Not all on my own of course) ended up with a cheese cake, fabulous! My partner had turkey roast and pear and rhubarb crumble...loved it as well.
What a find this is on our way down to Cornwall, excellent accommodation, spacious and clean with nice touches as mentioned by previous reviewers. Lovely evening walk through this peaceful village, a throwback in time, just how we like it.
Next morning, breakfast was good and all cooked fresh...what a super half way stop, a little gem of a place...we will be back to discover this lovely part of Dorset, soon we hope - Thanks Mike & Jude where nothing was too much trouble!

Room Tip: We had Hardy room which overlooked the lovely Church...peaceful & a great nights kip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heswall
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great place to spend a relaxing few days. Our room, Hardy, was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean with good fresh white towels everyday. We stayed a full week and could find absolutely nothing wrong. We ate there six nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything, portions very good, presentation lovely and quality excellent. Breakfast was perfectly presented, excellently cooked and served to choice by owner Mike in a spotless white coat. The restaurant was simple but very appealing, fresh white napkins and decent cutlery. The small touches in the room, hospitality tray and Molten Brown toiletries just an example. Mike and Jude are supported by an extremely friendly, efficient and courteous staff which makes the stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pick room Hardy and you will have a wonderful stay ( although we are sure all the rooms are excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ages698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pease Pottage, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We recently stayed at The Chetnole Inn for 3 nights last week and were very impressed. Chetnole is a small village which adds to the 'get-away-from-it-all' charm of the Inn - being woken up by birdsong rather than the sound of the motorway was a very nice change! Having said that, it is only a few minutes from the main road down to Dorchester and we got down to Weymouth within 30 minutes.
We stayed in 'Tess' which was a lovely room complete with view across to the village church & house martins nesting just outside the window. As other reviewers have mentioned, there are some lovely little touches here (I think this stems from the owners, Mike & Jude, thinking about what they would like to find in a hotel room) - fresh cafetiere coffee in a hotel is a first for me! (I tried to pick some up from the suppliers on our way home, but couldn't find them). Unlike a previous reviewer who thought the bed was too hard, we thought the bed is perfect - soft beds breed chronic back problems.
The food is absolutely fabulous and very varied, from Mussels & French fries (trust me, they looked lovely), to Chef's pie (very, very tasty), to Belly of Pork (my wife's favourite), to Fillet Steak on a Granite slab (one of the best pieces of steak I've had in this country). Desserts were also gorgeous - my wife raved about the pannacotta, and the chocolate brownie, complete with ice-cream & popping candy, was great. During our 3 nights, we sampled almost the entire menu between the 2 of us (they focus on 5-7 dishes for each course) and every one of them was a real winner.
I recommend a pre-dinner drink in the pub garden, watching the pet rabbits, the horses in the next door field, & the sun going down.
Breakfast is also lovely and there is a varied menu, including the Full English.
Everyone working in this establishment clearly knows they are working in a good quality place and it shows in their demeanour - relaxed and happy in their work.
Highly recommended - in fact, I've already recommended it to 2 groups of friends since returning. I'm sure we will also return at some point.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMyerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

2 nights - visiting family in the area,
We chose this for convenience and could have gone cheaper, those of our family who did, regretted it. When they saw our room they immediately wished they had booked here instead.
Touches such as a decent table for all my wife's bathroom stuff, dressing gowns and towels deluxe, space, good windows, nice view to church and cricket ground, quiet, and a quality pub and pub/restaurant food -
one draw back: current owner manager & family are selling to move to larger hotel, so by the time someone books, it maybe just the quality of rooms that remains...

and one criticism of this AND EVERY OTHER HOTEL almost-
hardish bed...
when can we have a bed softness rating included in all advertising. The so called "orthopaedic bed" craze was a rip off - I want a bed my elbows sink into - rather than one that causes them to sink into my ribs.

Room Tip: we had the "Hardy" which I believe had the best windows/views - but I expect all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your room, the food, the view and the extra touches you mentioned. We were very concerned to read your comment that future guests may be disappointed as you have said we are leaving. We want to clarify that we are not moving and anyone planning to book to stay with us can expect to have the same quality of experience that so many people have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Once again we've had a brilliant time at the Chetnole Inn, when we stayed for just one night last weekend. We stayed in Tess, which is a lovely room with a gorgeous view overlooking the lane and the church. We've stayed in Hardy on previous occasions and the rooms are spacious and sunny; the beds are comfortable, and guests are thoughtfully provided with touches such as fresh filter coffee, DVD player and a selection of current films, with mouton brown toiletries in the bathroom and Egyptian cotton towels and robes. Mike, Jude and their staff work very hard to ensure that every need is catered for, and the food is delicious whatever you pick from the menu, which features many locally sourced ingredients. We can vouch for the mussels in wine and cream, the roasted sea bass fillets, the hand breaded king prawns with sweet chili, and the liver, not to mention the freshly prepared breakfast. It's always a pleasure to stay at the Chetnole Inn, and we can't wait for our next visit. Thanks Jude and Mike for such a gem!

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms, and all equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 534HappyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Excellent accommodation, lovely rooms, delicious food, beautiful and peaceful setting and real value of money - could not ask for more!

The whole experience was fantastic and a great spot to discover Dorset from. I would highly recommend it for a weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Property: The Chetnole Inn
Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole
The Chetnole Inn Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing