We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous two night stay here and it is highly recommended! The Hardy room is spacious and well appointed and my wife was thrilled to have her favourite soap - Molton Brown in the bathroom! For me the wifi was fast and easy to access. The white towels and bathrobes were great.

We also ate in the restaurant pub on the first night (the second night - Sunday was closed). For me this was probably the best fillet steak I have eaten for a long time and a great quirky ideas is to cook it yourself on a small granite slab - so you get to cook it to you own liking. The rest of the meal was also very good (my wife had guinea fowl - also excellent). Breakfast was fast and a good choice on offer.

As the restaurant was closed on Sunday night, Mike and Jules (the owners) recommended us to the Acorn Inn in Evershot and also booked us in was was really nice of them. Well done - we shall be back I am sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

John, thanks for the review. I must say the fillet steak is a great favourite of mine as well. The steak is of exceptional quality, great to have a brilliant butcher and the granite slab is fun to cook on - keeps the steak warm till the end and cooked exactly how you want it.

Many thanks
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have just returned from The Chetnole Inn. Lovely bright comfortable rooms, all the little extras included. Wonderful food, although I couldn't do the menu full justice due to loss of appetite but my husband definitely did!!! Thanks for a lovely stay

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks Claire for you kind words.
All the best
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from a couple of nights stay at the Chetnole Inn. What a treat it was! The room (Hardy) was spacious and well equipped. Lovely ensuite facility with cosy bathrobes to boot. We had dinner on the first evening which was superb and we can easily see how the food has won so many awards previously. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. We both went for the Full English which was very tasty. The sausages were 'proper sausages'. Full of meat and taste.
It is a bit off the beaten track, but the fact that pretty much all the tables were in use at lunch and dinner is a testament to its local reputation.

We cannot praise it too highly and when we want a quiet night or two away, it will definitely be one of the favourite locations.

Previously, we have been a little sceptical of Trip advisor reviews, as there is often a wide variety of opinions. The Chetnole reviews were exclusively good and we can see why.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeLatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Mike, thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so glad you had a great time with us. Hope to see you again soon !

All the best
Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here on 5th October and loved it. Rooms were big, comfortable but beware Henchard room is two single beds together which was a little disappointing as we had booked a double room.

You absolutely MUST eat dinner here. The food is simply stunning! I had pork belly and my partner had fillet steak. Amazing. The dark haired waitress could do with smiling a little more in our opinion, just to maintain good customer service. Breakfast is included with the room price and it is delicious!

Overall would recommend staying in this beautiful inn-defo for the food (its won a lot of awards for good reason!)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma_louise00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ls1214, Owner at The Chetnole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and we delighted that you loved your stay and found the food stunning - thank you. We are concerned that you were disappointed about the fact you had booked a double room but then stayed in 'Henchard'. We have 2 king rooms and 1 twin room, and when your partner Jake rang to book we advised him that the kings were unavailable but there was the option of staying in the twin that we could turn into a large double which he then booked. We also confirmed this in an email to Jake as well saying that you would be staying in a twin room turned into a double - we are therefore sorry that you did not realise this before arriving.
Kind regards
Mike and Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Chetnole Inn staying the Hardy room which as stated in previous reviews is large, comfortable and spotless with a great view. We were staying on a DBB basis and the food was excellent with a good varied choice. There was also a good selection of wine. We walked to the train station one day (10 min walk) and caught the train into Weymouth which gave us both the opportunity to enjoy the Dorset country side. A great weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed for just one night but will return. Excellent room named "Tess". Bed a bit hard for us but still had a wonderful time as the room was spotless with free Wi-Fi and a lovely view looking at the church.
The charming service all round was excellent as was the evening meal. The fillet was the best I have had for a long time. It was seared and then served on a small but very hot granite slab, so that you just cut off a slice which you cooked to your exact liking. I will return again just for this steak!
Nice selection of good value wines and beers to complete a very nice village pub experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had three nights at the wonderful Chetnole Inn in early September .
A truly happy and comfortable experience , totally spotless and wonderfully decorated rooms , excellent food worthy of many awards , and a choice of ales and ciders , not to mention excellent wines .
Value and quality are rare to find these days and both are in abundance at this charming truly English village Inn.
I will definitely return to this Inn and beautiful Dorset soon .

Room Tip: 3 rooms and all totally individual and absolutely charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
7.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
249 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
701 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Rose & Crown Trent
The Rose & Crown Trent
#3 of 24 in Sherborne
46 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range: £92 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole
The Chetnole Inn Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing