We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

New Owners of one of your favourite places to stay not want your want hear but pleased to say on this occasion new Owner's Simon and Maria proved a delight! Still has lovely clean tidy well appointed rooms. Great young chef and friendly staff in a Traditional Village Inn. Cant fault this place which is why we keep coming back! Already checking my diary ready to book later in the year!

Room Tip: We have stayed in all three room would be hard to call but Hardy would be my favourite I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
111
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Chetnole Inn for one night at the weekend thanks to a Red Letter Days 'rural escape' purchased for us for our wedding and were absolutely thrilled with it. Completely off the beaten track, Chetnole is a real rural idyll seven miles from Sherborne. It was just the most beautiful village location to explore and our room 'Tess' (named after the Hardy character) had a wonderful outlook onto the village church and green beyond. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the booking and checking in process and the food is a real highlight. A previous winner of the Dorset Pub Food of the Year award, the Chetnole has a fantastic menu. My juicy mussels were fantastic and my husband's fillet steak, cooked at the table on a sizzling slab, was really tender - a stand out meal. We didn't find the rural location as quiet as we had hoped and continued to hear the DJ from a local birthday party until well beyond 3am. That's hardly the pub's fault though - it's obviously just a very happening village! A great spot from which to explore beautiful Dorset and nearby Somerset and Devon.

Room Tip: All three rooms are front facing, enjoying views of the village church
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoreleiReddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pease Pottage, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently returned to The Chetnole Inn for a 2 night stay (unusual for us to return to somewhere - there is a big world out there!), and it didn't disappoint. We had a different room this time (Hardy) but I think our previous room (Tess) wins by a short nose. Once again, it's a lovely setting, complete with house martins nesting under the eaves and that lovely coffee and Molton Brown toiletries.
The food continues to be one of the main attractions here and really continues to be as good as it was last time. You will be hard pressed to find a better meal in this kind of setting.
It's a great location to explore - this time we went for a long walk round the Golden Cap and Stonebarrow and Langdon Hills, with a short visit to the picturesque Lyme Regis. The town of Sherborne is worth a visit on the way home, if not just to pick up the cheese, coffee and other goodies from the delicatessen and market.
I would encourage you to visit this hidden gem - you won't be disappointed. Look out for the Dinner, B&B deals on the Inn website (booked by phone only).
I'm sure we will be back at some point.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMyerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hidden gem, but you really need to know where you are going as this is very much off the beaten path. Food is good & presentation excellent, scallops & spicy sausage was delicious followed by fillet of beef DIY... You slice & cook on a hot slab at your table wonderful & very generous cut but a little lacking in taste? I was not over whelmed by the service, accommodating certainly but could be so much more to match the overall experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Concierge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

From flexibility over date changes ( due to floods etc ) , to sending a lot item efficiently and quickly afterwards to all that goes in to a hospitable stay the highlight here as other have said is the service . Jude shone , the staff on duty the Saturday we stayed were pleasant enough just not so knowledgeable (e g not understanding the wine list , not giving accurate directions to the village station ) . The food was great - recommend the quality of the fillet steaks , one of the best I've had in Europe , as well as starters/ deserts and breakfast the next morning . The room was clean , pleasantly decorated and the bathroom adequate . Overall a great place for a night or two away - nice country inn. Do take a train from the station - you flag down the train as it's a request stop .. and it's a great country ride to Dorchester Weymouth . Sherbnourne nearby was a lovely historic town .. try Olivers coffee shop - a classic .

Room Tip: Hardy was very pleasant with views towards church one way and pub garden and fields the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilltopOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly a big thank you to Jude for being so attentive to our stay, both Ali and myself were made feel very welcome .
Our room for the night was Tess , great cosy room !. Spotlessly clean with a really comfy bed.

It's the kind of inn you wouldn't mind driving an hour or more to get to just to sample the food . That being the case I'd recommend treating yourself and staying the night.
Thanks again to mike and Jude.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joej_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
639 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed one night as a Valentines weekend getaway. We had dinner in the restaurant

Our room was large and comfortble (Hardy Room) but could not be described at cosy. It was well decorated, clean and functional. Similar to other reviewers I thought it would benefit from bath not just a shower

We arrived on a cool and damp evening and the room was warm as the heating was on. The following morning there was no heat and was just a little chilly

The food in the restaurant was lovely and the service efficient but without and real warmth.

Overall at the price we paid it represented reasonable value - In summary the stay was good but not great as it lacked the wow factor

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Property: The Chetnole Inn
Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole
The Chetnole Inn Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing