We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of The Chetnole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chetnole Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Chetnole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We found this inn thanks to Red Letter Day. It is in a tiny village a few miles south of Sherborne in Dorset (well worth a visit). The Chetnole Inn only has 3 or 4 rooms, but ours was very attractive with a nice view over the churchyard. The best thing was the food, all freshly cooked and very reasonably priced. We had 3 nights here and can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    27
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
114
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Chetnole Inn is now happily under the new ownership of Simon and Maria, and I'm delighted to say it is still a 5* place to dine and stay. Simon and Maria warmly welcome you to their traditional country inn. The bedrooms deserve their previous high ratings, beautifully appointed and so clean and fresh with good quality tea/coffee and bathroom products to hand. The restaurant was busy on the night we stayed, but their chef and waitresses managed seemingly effortlessly and the meal was delightful. Breakfast the next morning was as you may now expect - excellent. If you are looking for a break in a rural village inn, with a great atmosphere, used by travellers and locals alike - look no further!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notdoneroamingyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had the Hardy room and it was spotless. I loved the furnishings in the room, bathroom and toiletries were great. The room was very airy which was just as well as weather was very hot. The new owners Simon and Maria were very welcoming and we had a really nice breakfast each morning with local homemade jam etc. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for quality accommodation in a quiet rural setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

New Owners of one of your favourite places to stay not want your want hear but pleased to say on this occasion new Owner's Simon and Maria proved a delight! Still has lovely clean tidy well appointed rooms. Great young chef and friendly staff in a Traditional Village Inn. Cant fault this place which is why we keep coming back! Already checking my diary ready to book later in the year!

Room Tip: We have stayed in all three room would be hard to call but Hardy would be my favourite I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Chetnole Inn for one night at the weekend thanks to a Red Letter Days 'rural escape' purchased for us for our wedding and were absolutely thrilled with it. Completely off the beaten track, Chetnole is a real rural idyll seven miles from Sherborne. It was just the most beautiful village location to explore and our room 'Tess' (named after the Hardy character) had a wonderful outlook onto the village church and green beyond. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the booking and checking in process and the food is a real highlight. A previous winner of the Dorset Pub Food of the Year award, the Chetnole has a fantastic menu. My juicy mussels were fantastic and my husband's fillet steak, cooked at the table on a sizzling slab, was really tender - a stand out meal. We didn't find the rural location as quiet as we had hoped and continued to hear the DJ from a local birthday party until well beyond 3am. That's hardly the pub's fault though - it's obviously just a very happening village! A great spot from which to explore beautiful Dorset and nearby Somerset and Devon.

Room Tip: All three rooms are front facing, enjoying views of the village church
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoreleiReddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pease Pottage, West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently returned to The Chetnole Inn for a 2 night stay (unusual for us to return to somewhere - there is a big world out there!), and it didn't disappoint. We had a different room this time (Hardy) but I think our previous room (Tess) wins by a short nose. Once again, it's a lovely setting, complete with house martins nesting under the eaves and that lovely coffee and Molton Brown toiletries.
The food continues to be one of the main attractions here and really continues to be as good as it was last time. You will be hard pressed to find a better meal in this kind of setting.
It's a great location to explore - this time we went for a long walk round the Golden Cap and Stonebarrow and Langdon Hills, with a short visit to the picturesque Lyme Regis. The town of Sherborne is worth a visit on the way home, if not just to pick up the cheese, coffee and other goodies from the delicatessen and market.
I would encourage you to visit this hidden gem - you won't be disappointed. Look out for the Dinner, B&B deals on the Inn website (booked by phone only).
I'm sure we will be back at some point.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMyerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hidden gem, but you really need to know where you are going as this is very much off the beaten path. Food is good & presentation excellent, scallops & spicy sausage was delicious followed by fillet of beef DIY... You slice & cook on a hot slab at your table wonderful & very generous cut but a little lacking in taste? I was not over whelmed by the service, accommodating certainly but could be so much more to match the overall experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Concierge001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetnole
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
235 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
2.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
685 reviews
5.4 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
434 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rose & Crown Trent
The Rose & Crown Trent
#4 of 24 in Sherborne
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chetnole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chetnole Inn

Property: The Chetnole Inn
Address: Chetnole, Sherborne DT9 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Chetnole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chetnole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chetnole Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning country Inn set in the Dorset countryside a short distance from the historic town of Sherborne. We have flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, fires, good selection of real ales ales, fine wine list, beer garden with our family of chickens...Our rooms our 4 Start Gold rated and all are en suite with sofa's, flatscreen televisions, dvd players, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chetnole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chetnole Hotel Chetnole
The Chetnole Inn Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing