We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”
Review of Orchard Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saxilby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My sister and I have just returned from our first visit to orchard cottage , what alovely place to stay Margaret and Gordon are lovely hosts, very welcoming, the rooms are nice and clean, and tastefully furnished, breakfast just couldn't be beaten !! Would definitely return,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We greatly appreciate your lovely comments about your stay at Orchard Cottage. It was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to submit such a prompt response.
It was particularly nice to know that Lesley enjoyed her 'Birthday treat 'with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
142
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Orchard Cottage in November 2013 and we looked forward to a return visit. We did so in early April this year (2014). Everything was as excellent as before: spotless, comfortable, peaceful, beautifully furnished and equipped. It was a joy to meet the owners, Gordon and Margaret, again. Their welcome was a warm and helpful as ever. I would happily recommend Orchard Cottage and, once again, look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mecastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Gordon and I were delighted to see you again and so pleased to know that you were as comfortable as before. It is such a good recommendation for us when our guests return on a regular basis. We thank you most sincerely for your prompt response and for taking the time to submit another review. We hope that your visit to your son ,for his birthday, was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fantastic B&B, Margaret and Gordon were the perfect hosts, extremely welcoming and friendly. My husband and I stayed in the guest suite with our 17 month old little boy which was perfect as it has two rooms which meant we could put the little one to bed and spend the evening in the sitting room without disturbing him. The suite opens out onto a beautiful garden which our little boy had lots of fun running around in. I've seen a number of B&B's that do not accept younger children but Margaret and Gordon were not only happy for us to bring our little boy but they provided a travel cot and a lovely Winnie the Pooh plate, bowl and cutlery set for his breakfast, along with a booster seat. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice and some relaxing background music! I would highly recommend Orchard Cottage, we will certainly be visiting again. Helen, Shane & Jacob

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLS1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Your lovely comments in such a prompt and lovely review are greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and your little boy, Jacob ,who was truly delightful.We are very plaesed that you enjoyed your stay at Orchard Cottage whilst on your visits to Sundown Adventureland and Bransby Horses. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you so much for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wonderful stay, wonderful accommodation and wonderful hosts. Gordon and Margaret were most welcoming and the extra touches such as being able to leave fresh milk in the fridge make all the difference. The annexe was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The sitting space has a lovely view of the garden and we hope to return in the summer when we can make use of the charming outside sitting areas. The breakfast was perfect in everyway and the service was outstanding. We are looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 148Sarah_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Gordon and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Orchard Cottage and greatly appreciate your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again in the summer. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review as it does help us to maintain our profile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My stay at Orchard Cottage was a last minute booking and I am so glad I found this little gem. Mr & Mrs Allen were very welcoming and friendly. I stayed in the annexe which was very comfortable and homely. Breakfast was excellent and set me up for the day. If my work takes me to Lincoln again I will certainly stay at Orchard Cottage

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We are delighted that you were comfortable at Orchard Cottage ; your positive and lovely comments are greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area on business or pleasure! Thank you for taking the time to submit this revieew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A very quiet and peaceful location. The decor and the quality of the room was first class. The breakfast featured home made bread and preserves and was cooked to perfection. Mr & Mrs Allen are a charming couple and made my wife and I feel very welcome and we will be returning again and again whenever we visit our family in the local area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We were delighted that you chose to stay at Orchard Cottage in order to visit your family in Lincoln. We greatly appreciate your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again soon when Gordon will be happy to continue your intertesting conversation about the last flying Vulcan! Thank you for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is our second visit to Orchard Cottage, and as before it was a very pleasant stay. Gordon and Margaret were once again the best hosts you could hope for, and the annexe room separate from the main residence we had was lovely. The breakfast was superb (as it was on our last visit) and it was wonderful to chat with the hosts, such a nice and interesting couple. We will be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GED120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Gordon and I are delighted that you enjoyed your second visit to Orchard Cottage. We are extremely pleased with your lovely comments, it certainly helps to maintain our profile. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxilby
5.2 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
717 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.6 mi away
Canal View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
346 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bridleway Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Bridleway Luxury Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Grange de Lings
136 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 48 in Lincoln
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Property: Orchard Cottage
Address: Orchard Lane, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Orchard Cottage Saxilby, Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing