We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit to Orchard Cottage”
Review of Orchard Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saxilby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham
2 reviews
“second visit to Orchard Cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After a very enjoyable stay last year at Orchard Cottage, we found an excuse this year - a visit to the BBMF at RAF Coningsby - to make a return visit to sample Margaret and Gordon's excellent hospitality.
Now for another excuse next year !
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It was lovely to see you again and delighted that you made a return visit. Gordon and I enjoyed our conversations with you and look forward to seeing you again next year! Thank you for taking the time to submit this review with the lovely comments about your stay at Orchard Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
139
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a short stay at Orchard Cottage and we have got to say the visit was just perfect in every way.
Our accomodation was the very comfortable Garden Suite, which was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and provided everything travellers could possibly need for a break away from home.
Breakfast was much enjoyed by us both because it was beautifully presented, plentiful and of a very high quality.
Margaret and Gorden, our hosts made our stay extra special because they welcomed us into their home, were very interesting people to talk to and really appeared to enjoy what they were doing.
If you are looking for accomodation in the Saxilby/Lincoln area dont hesitate to book this B+B we promise you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Gordon and I are delighted with your very prompt review and lovely comments. It is so good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Orchard Cottage. It makes all our efforts to make our guests comfortable, truly worthwhile. We really do 'enjoy what we do' and we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to submit this review. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area so that we can enjoy more breakfast conversation.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We returned to stay for 2 nights this time and it was even better than the first time as the garden was in full bloom and when stopping in the Garden Suite you are able to enjoy it in all its glory. Room and breakfast was absolutely first class as before. A very high standard is set and maintained all the time it would seem - no resting on their laurels here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
It is so good to receive such lovely, positive comments from a second visit; we do appreciate it as it does help to maintain our standards and avoid 'resting on [our] laurels'.
Gordon and I were delighted to see you again and look forward to seeing you soon . Many thanks for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have again enjoyed the wonderful warm welcome from Gordon & Margaret and the delightful Garden Suite ..... Excellent standard of accommodation and superb cooked breakfast - I have no hesitation in recommending Orchard Cottage - Simply the best!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and taking the time to do so whilst moving in to your new abode! It was a pleasure to see you again and hope that you are settling in to your new home. We look forward to visiting you as soon as possible .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A friend and 1 stayed for 3 nights with Gordon and Margaret. We had a lovely welcome from them and felt very comfortable in their beautiful home. Our room was lovely and we had everything we needed and the breakfast was 5 star. They are the most lovely people and we hope to stay again next time we're in Lincoln.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megz11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We greatly appreciate the lovely review which you have submitted and the time you have taken to do so.
Gordon and I were delighted to meet you and pleased that you were so comfortable in our home, which we enjoy sharing with our guests. We look forward to seeing you again, when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking,UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed with Gordon and Margaret on 9th and 10th May. we stayed in the self-contained stable block in the garden, separate from the house. We found the B&B to be of an excellent standard, clean , comfortable and very well equipped. Gordon and Margaret are perfect hosts, friendly, welcoming and very helpful with local knowledge. The breakfast was first class as well.

All in all a very pleasant experience. Would recommend to others.

Mick & Deb

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammydodger9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Gordon and I are delighted that you chose to stay at Orchard Cottage and that you enjoyed a reunion with your friends here. It was lovely to meet you all and we look forward to seeing you again maybe! Thank you for the very positive comments about us ; it does help tremendously in maintaining our profile.
Many thanks ,too, for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Greeted by Gordon and Margaret on arrival, we were shown to the guest suite with a lovely view of their beautifully kept garden. Accommodation comprised of small but adequate lounge area with T.V and Wi-Fi. Comfortable double bedroom with en-suite shower room, all very clean and well presented. Included are tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast included a choice of cereals, fruit juice, tea/coffee and an excellent full English breakfast if required. Gordon and Margaret are extremely welcoming host and could not do enough for us during our stay. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Orchard cottage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Your review of your stay at Orchard Cottage is greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad that you were comfortable in our Guest Suite Annexe. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxilby
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
8.4 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
5.8 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 48 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
6.5 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Property: Orchard Cottage
Address: Orchard Lane, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Orchard Cottage Saxilby, Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing