We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
69
14
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
14
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadstayed here for nightssurrounded by natureirenewolfgangmonkeysjunglewildlifefrogtreehosts
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Beautiful jungle setting. The turn off from the main road is about 1 km until you reach the lodge, or about a 10 minute walk. Stayed here with a friend, and we both had big, comfortable beds. It was quite cold and we asked for an extra blanket. The rooms were simple but very, very clean and the owner cleaned and made up the rooms everyday. Soap and towels provided. There is a hammock outside each room and a table and chair. Screens on the windows keep most bugs out. There are ceiling fans, although we didn't need them. The breakfast was great: eggs or fruit, warmed italian or french bread with butter and jam and coffee, tea or juice.
Taxis from Puerto Viejo charge $5 or $6. I think I would of liked to stay closer to town in retrospect, but the lodge was very lovely and you do truly get a sense of the rainforest that other places in town would not offer.
The hosts/owners were very helpful, friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My boyfriend and I just spent almost two weeks in Costa Rica, almost exclusively on the Caribbean-side, in Puerto Viejo. We stayed at two places in Puerto Viejo, simply to get a better feel for the area. We loved both places, however, El Tucan Lodge was definitely the better value. Nina and Wolfgang are very welcoming hosts, along their two dogs, Maximilius and Vicky. Nina made us a wonderful breakfast every morning, including when we had to be up and ready to leave by 6:30 a.m. to catch our tour bus to Tortuguero National Park.

They have bikes you can rent at a very reasonable rate. I recommend renting the bikes, the lodge is 800 meters off the main road into the jungle. We enjoyed the solitude and quiet that being off the main road provided. That said, we did use taxis to get home after having dinner in Puerto Viejo (only because it was dark, we didn't have bike lights, nor know the pot-holes in the road). Catching a taxi is neither difficult or expensive. The bikes we useful in our adventures to the different beaches -- Cocheles and PV are very close, while Punta Uva (which is gorgeous) is within easy biking distance. BIG RECOMMENDATION: If you are going to bike in PV (which I think is the best way to get around) bring some bike lights with you, front and rear.

The rooms are quaint, rustic and clean. The shower was great - large with good pressure. We very much enjoyed being woken by the howlers at 4 a.m., although I really think that happens everywhere in PV as it also occurred at our other lodge. The deck outside our room was great, we would spend several hours reading in hammocks, listening to wildlife in the jungle and watching for birds and monkeys.

If you don't like traditional resorts, rather, appreciate genuine hospitality, rustic and clean lodges, being off-the-beaten-trail, and surrounded by various cultures, you will love El Tucan Lodge. Although from the US, my boyfriend speaks fluent German and delighted in speaking German with Wolfgang and Irene during our stay. Because the owners are German, but also speak French, English and Spanish, the guests that stay here are very diverse themselves. While they do not offer a dinner, they do have a great patio on which you are served breakfast and can purchase beer and wine in the evening and socialize.

We will definitely be returning to PV, and will definitely stay at El Tucan Lodge again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tube_pendous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

this was just wonderfull. very clean en huge rooms. a real jungle experience.
Very friendly owners and a lovely dog "Vicky"
I would recommand everybody to spent some nights over there. A car is very welcome to get there

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Here you can get it all in once. Just 1 km from the beach this lovely place is located right in the jungle and also on the riverside ! Nice and clean spacious rooms (2 cabinas with 2 rooms each). all with terrace, hammock and a bathroom. best is to have your own car or you can rent bicycles in the lodge. lots of animals around, like monkeys, birds, butterflies ... rooms are equipped with mosquito-nets instead of glass in the windows, so the air can circulate but not the insects ;-) owners speak spanish, english, french and german. very recommendable for relaxing, walking around and watching animals and also flowers etc.
they recently got wi-fi internet so bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I stayed there two times, first alone for three nights and after with my boyfriend again for three nights and I came back really with pleasure!
It is a wonderful place. The bungalows are in the middle of the jungle and they are very spacious. The terrasses are with a great hammock and very big too. Sitting on the terrasse you can enjoy all the animals and the nature, you here all the wonderful jungle noises.....
Everything is really clean.
The owners serve a really good breakfast on a nice terrasse and they will help you with everything you could need. They are so friendly and helpful.
The Lodge is situaded 1 km back in the jungle of the street. Directly on the street you find nice restaurants and a nice beach. If you do not want to walk the distance to the beach and if you do not have a car you can rent a bike of the owners for a really cheap price.
For me personnally it was only an advantage that the lodge was off the street!!
I would go everytime again there!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews