We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Finca Chica(Cocles)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast(Cocles)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Valeria(Cocles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Caribe Town(Cocles)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lapalapa Beach Front Hotel(Cocles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
69
14
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
14
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadstayed here for nightssurrounded by natureirenewolfgangmonkeysjunglewildlifefrogtreehosts
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

my second trip to el tucan jungle lodge and not the last one....
this is an incredible place, away from the main road, very laid back in a wonderful scenery! the owners Irene & Wolfgang are excellent hosts - very friendly, extreme helpful, good humored and modest all the time! they know a lot about flora & fauna and share this knowledge with their guests (if the guests are interested). once more: muchos gracias!!!!
the cabinas are very clean, the hammocks in front more than perfect! guess we saw more animals at El Tucan than at any other places, jaguar rescue center included ;-)
if you´re looking for a natural, tranquilo, high animal frequented and beautiful jungle garden - check out this place!!
there are bikes, snorkel, mask and fins for rent.
Punta Uva (most beautiful beach!) is a 20minutes bike ride from El Tucan.
for sure we come again and definitely recommend it!
El Tucan = Pura Vida! diez puntos!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammock-surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Stayed here two nights with a traveling companion. Bed was a box spring with a contraption like a trampoline mat on it. I slept uncomfortably on it and found out after leaving that my friend had a real mattress in his room. The place is clean but the river is more of a mosquito haven and a yucky little creek. Lot of critters around. Some are interesting and worthwhile. Some are pests. Owners are German, very pleasant, friendly, and accomodating. Breakfast was good. With a real matress, I'd do it again because of the kindness and personalities of the owners.

Room Tip: Check your matress. Keep the doors closed.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Rooms are clean, no frills, shower water is warm, but not hot.
They have 4 bungalows with patios that have a cute little seating area and hammock looking out at the jungle
The place is very tropical, relaxing and has plenty of wildlife around to keep you occupied..I could have stayed her the entire trip, but we roamed around costa rica with out realizing how great we had it at the beginning of our stay.
The German couple that own it are so sweet, accommodating and have lots of advise on the area.
For $45 a night for 2, breakfast and tax included, it's UNBEATABLE
You are very secluded in the jungle, not far from town though. It is a perfect get away

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoppybrewnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Beautiful jungle setting. The turn off from the main road is about 1 km until you reach the lodge, or about a 10 minute walk. Stayed here with a friend, and we both had big, comfortable beds. It was quite cold and we asked for an extra blanket. The rooms were simple but very, very clean and the owner cleaned and made up the rooms everyday. Soap and towels provided. There is a hammock outside each room and a table and chair. Screens on the windows keep most bugs out. There are ceiling fans, although we didn't need them. The breakfast was great: eggs or fruit, warmed italian or french bread with butter and jam and coffee, tea or juice.
Taxis from Puerto Viejo charge $5 or $6. I think I would of liked to stay closer to town in retrospect, but the lodge was very lovely and you do truly get a sense of the rainforest that other places in town would not offer.
The hosts/owners were very helpful, friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zana001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My boyfriend and I just spent almost two weeks in Costa Rica, almost exclusively on the Caribbean-side, in Puerto Viejo. We stayed at two places in Puerto Viejo, simply to get a better feel for the area. We loved both places, however, El Tucan Lodge was definitely the better value. Nina and Wolfgang are very welcoming hosts, along their two dogs, Maximilius and Vicky. Nina made us a wonderful breakfast every morning, including when we had to be up and ready to leave by 6:30 a.m. to catch our tour bus to Tortuguero National Park.

They have bikes you can rent at a very reasonable rate. I recommend renting the bikes, the lodge is 800 meters off the main road into the jungle. We enjoyed the solitude and quiet that being off the main road provided. That said, we did use taxis to get home after having dinner in Puerto Viejo (only because it was dark, we didn't have bike lights, nor know the pot-holes in the road). Catching a taxi is neither difficult or expensive. The bikes we useful in our adventures to the different beaches -- Cocheles and PV are very close, while Punta Uva (which is gorgeous) is within easy biking distance. BIG RECOMMENDATION: If you are going to bike in PV (which I think is the best way to get around) bring some bike lights with you, front and rear.

The rooms are quaint, rustic and clean. The shower was great - large with good pressure. We very much enjoyed being woken by the howlers at 4 a.m., although I really think that happens everywhere in PV as it also occurred at our other lodge. The deck outside our room was great, we would spend several hours reading in hammocks, listening to wildlife in the jungle and watching for birds and monkeys.

If you don't like traditional resorts, rather, appreciate genuine hospitality, rustic and clean lodges, being off-the-beaten-trail, and surrounded by various cultures, you will love El Tucan Lodge. Although from the US, my boyfriend speaks fluent German and delighted in speaking German with Wolfgang and Irene during our stay. Because the owners are German, but also speak French, English and Spanish, the guests that stay here are very diverse themselves. While they do not offer a dinner, they do have a great patio on which you are served breakfast and can purchase beer and wine in the evening and socialize.

We will definitely be returning to PV, and will definitely stay at El Tucan Lodge again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tube_pendous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews