We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Finca Valeria(Cocles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Lapalapa Beach Front Hotel(Cocles)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast(Cocles)(Great Value!)
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Finca Chica(Cocles)(Great Value!)
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribe Town(Cocles)
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
69
14
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
14
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadstayed here for nightssurrounded by natureirenewolfgangmonkeysjunglewildlifefrogtreehosts
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent the better part if a week at El Tucan and we loved it! Beautiful rooms, helpful staff, amazing price! if you're hoping for a hotel room with air conditioning and concrete walls, then keep looking. It truly is perfect if you want the "jungle" experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxawd777xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I was looking for various places to stay in PV and finally stumbled on El Tucan Jungle Lodge. The lodge is located 800 m on a dirt road (about a half a mile) from the main road near Cocles Beach, so if you have a rental car, this is a great option.

El Tucan is a unique place because it is only 1 km from the beach but you're in the heart of the jungle - you REALLY are in the heart of the jungle. You can hear the waves far off in the distance but it is more of a "jungle" experience vs. a beach experience that is offered by the hotels and b&b's located near the road.

This place is not for everyone, as it is quite basic accommodations, but I paid $39 for lodging for a single person which I thought was quite reasonable. I looked at some other lodgings in town for around the same price range and I liked this one much more. The room is very spacious and the deck is a great place to sit out and enjoy complete peace and quiet.

The room makes you feel as if you are truly IN the jungle, as it is open air (the screens protect bugs from getting inside). If you lay in the hammock or on the bed, you can essentially listen to every single noise the jungle offers - rain, insects, animals. It's a very, very unique experience that I have never experienced in all of my travels - and I've stayed in many places.

The bed wasn't Temperpedic sleep quality by any means - it was sufficient -- but what it does allow you to do is have an experience of sleeping IN the jungle -- almost as if you were camping, but you have the luxury of a toilet, shelter from the rain, electricity, shelter, virtually no bugs, and a bed. All for a very reasonable price. Whether its the rain falling in the middle of the night , bioluminescent insects making sparks at night, or howler monkeys waking you up at 4 am, its an experience you will have forever. Really truly a cool experience that , if you don't like after 1 night, you can leave. I think it was very cool and recommend it.

The owners were laid back and cool. Lots of tucans flying around - you're guaranteed to see one if you stay. Breakfast was ...meh....but...whatever...price is right here.

If I come back to PV, I'd stay here. Cool joint, right price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It is our 2nd stay at El Tucan Jungle Lodge and we are very happy ti stay here.

The cabinas are great, clean and got huge beds, the shower and toilet are clean and equal to european standards.

The owners, Irene and Wolfgang are always helpful on planing daytrips and give advice on where to go during your stay.

Breakfast is delicious, with scrambled eggs, fruit salad, jam and fresh pan + coffee!

You can also expect to see alot of wildlife straight from your room - e.g. Tucans, howler monkeys, sloths and so on.

All in all it is a perfect place to enjoy the carribean side of costa rica and a nice and relaxing lodge in the jungle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The place is nice, simple, clean and enough to be comfortable. The owners are very kind and give a good service. You can see birds, hear the monkeys and rent a bike to go to the beach...which is not so far.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Why the hell they all like this hotel?! It's not the hotel at all!
As for me it was misrepresentation. Based on it's name I was expecting this one to be a hotel. In fact it was just cabinas. May be in sunny days it is ok to stay there but if you get there on rainy days you will get moist everywhere. All our stuff became moist in the room because rooms are not isolated from outside. The shower is like one in cabinas, linen and blankets were very old, breakfast was not good at all. The washroom is not isolated from the room so you will feel all oudor from it. The faucet in washroom was leaking.
The owners were pleasant though.
I was very happy when we left this place, casas in Cahuita were much, much, much better.
I would not stay in this cabinal ever again, I would not recommend this "hotel" to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkanoid70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews