We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful paradise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful paradise hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Le Cameleon is a gorgeous boutique hotel built in the lush jungle on the beach. The staff were fantastic, and the junior suite in which we stayed was wonderful, looking out over the pool with a terrace that felt it was in the middle of the forest. The food was great although not consistent... You could order the same dish twice and receive something completely different! But Le Cameleon was a wonderful place to stay, from the ambient music playing at the pool, to the fairy-lights which lit your path through the jungle to the restaurant, to the hammocks on the beach... It was beautiful and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaUKLdn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    151
    66
    34
    26
See reviews for
151
318
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Le Cameleon, it's a really nice hotel, since the moment we arrived, everything was awesome, costumer service is really good, and the place is just beautiful, rooms are really clean and they have a great restaurant as well. My whole family had a great time and loved the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

There are things about this hotel that I loved: the gardens are stunning, mature, well-maintained and full of birds. The pool is beautiful. The beach is also great and was almost deserted when we were there. The staff are lovely, and very helpful. Also the food on the lunchtime beach bar menu is delicious. However there are a couple of things I think could be improved, in case management are reading this! We tried to get a bottle of champagne for one of our party for his birthday and it was very difficult to organise - and when it came it was only Cava. The restaurant also ran out of all but one type of red wine (an expensive one) when we were there. And despite the fact that it's in a stunning tropical location the bar doesn't serve fresh fruit juices - the cocktails and juices are made from syrup. I mention these three things because they are easy things to get right. I would also add that the jingly-jangly music played by the pool all day isn't to my taste - I'd prefer to just listen to the birds and the jungle noises, but this is a personal thing! All in all I loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone with enough money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HesterPlumridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After crossing the border (Panama-Costa Rica), it was the surprise ! No more steel, tall buildings and traffic jam. It was nature at its excellence. We arrived on a beautiful sunny day at Hotel "Le Cameleon" and headed straight to the beach. A wonderful beach, very calm and very clean. The tour of the hotel was made by the GM who explained us the facilities of the hotel as well as some information about the plants in the garden and the Higuanas chillin at the top of trees.

The rooms were also a surprise, to have that much confort in the jungle. It was a perfect harmony of modern design and nature.

The food was very tasty, I specially recommand the Spaghetti with Fresh Lobster.
In the Village of Puerto Viejo, there are so many bars with very relaxed atmosphere and everybody is so welcoming. I simply felt like in the movie "Rhum Diaries" with Johnny Depp.

We stayed there for 4 days and decided to stay for 2 extra days.
I was actually sad to leave Puerto Viejo, but I'm sure I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 29 (Suite) and 15 are super nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elyes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have never been to the east coast of COSTA RICA . I came across an article in THE NEW YORK TIMES about this boutique hotel so I decided to give a try . It is located in PUERTO VIEJO/LIMON(one of the provinces of COST RICA). The hotel is surrounded by a lot of vegetation very beatiful setting.It is a quite hotel at the time of my stay it wasn't that crowded 2 or 3 families including mine , some couples but that was it.The service was very good. The rooms were cleaned every day. The price for the rooms was on par with any $$$ hotel anywhere in the world. If you want to feel like you are in the USA this is not the place for you ; there are all sorts of animals and insects in the area after all these are the tropics.It is part of the charm. If you are used to a 5 star hotels in the USA this is not the place for you as this boutique hotel it's in another country that it is not the US ,after all when you go to EUROPE and the hotels advertise as 5 star you know that in the STATES they would be a 4 or a 3 star. LE CHAMELEON for me it's a beatiful hotel in COSTA RICA. I can't imagine the difficulties they must have handling a hotel away from main cities it has to be very difficult and just for that I praise the staff that try to make the stay of everybody as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enrique142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

It is a very nice boutique hotel situated on the beach. Clean and well maintained. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They all assembled at the exit to say good bye when we were leaving, which was really sweet. There were couples as well as families and every one was great. Nice location. Beach was right across the street. The hotel had hammocks, beach chairs, and bar for lunch & drinks right on the beach, which was very nice.I will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash47b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Pictures and reviews can be deceiving. Why its vital to check that the reviewer travels and has posted more than 1. So over Costa Rica. Its become over touristed and the tourism industry could care less about you. The attitude has become, "We don't need you, you need us."

Have been traveling off and on to Costa Rica for the last 15 years and its over. If you want to go to a beautiful place where people are miserable and don't welcome you, then Costa Rica is it. People generally don't smile, wish you a good morning, or care for your well being. It reminds me of what the US airline industry has become. Asking for more, and offering you less. This was my experience in all three hotels during this trip. I won't go back for a long time. Best to travel to Asia or Mexico where people are more socially educated in the tourism industry and "welcome" you.

Hotel has such potential but the uncaring attitude and disregard to tourists makes it not worth ones time to travel so far. No amenities at this hotel or any for that matter. Yet you pay top dollar.

Look at the photos. The employees know there are insects in the food. They can see the public areas are filthy. They're not blind. Its that the just don't care about you or your health. I ordered lunch to find insects crawling ALL over the plate it was served on. The response, "Well do you see them on the food?" I left. Checked out the next day. I work way to hard to travel to a place that doesn't want you there.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel or country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorena g, Director of Sales at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy the Caribbean and neither the service in our hotel.
As soon as you arrived in the hotel, the Manager and the receptionists understood from you that you had other expectations from the place and the area .
That is why they were very focused on you, in order to satisfy you and they have made their best for you to appreciate your stay.
Our restaurants,bars,beach club and reception situated in a beautiful tropical garden are all open spaces that's make the beauty of The Cameleon.
During certain periods of the year,there is more insects then usual,according to the biodiversity of life in the jungle.
Fumigation is not part of our policy as an environment friendly hotel.You have to know that fumigate in an open area doesn't mean just killing ants and bees it also kills hummingbirds ,blue butterflys and a lot of others species that are constantly around open spaces.
Our kitchen is on norms of HACCP guidelines,our breakfast buffet during this period of the year, we are using special covers and cellophane to protect marmalade and sweets staff.We recognize that it is not excluded that a bee can comes on a marmalade's plate of a guest.
Our motivated personal is very sad to see your pictures of our beach club knowing that they are not in the right context.During the rain we close to beach club in order to clean it and open it again when the weather is sunny.Those pictures had been made when it was closed!
We are anyway thanks full for your critics and our team will try to do their best to reach the goal:" complete satisfaction of the guests".

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: | Limon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod, Iphone docking station and amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private Yoga classes, SPA treatments in our Jungle Spa, Ochio y Medio gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course Noa Beach Club with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing