We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a tropical wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Branson West, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a tropical wedding”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My son stayed at Le Cameleon several times in the past and he and his future wife chose the hotel for their wedding. First, let me say the hotel staff couldn't have been more professional. Their preparations covered every aspect of the wedding including wonderful rooms for all our guests. The wedding venue is in a lush tropical garden with an elevated koi pond near buy all beautifully decorated. The dining area just near buy was transformed into a beautifully color coded setting. The meal which included whole fried snapper and Caribbean Jerk Chicken. Both perfectly presented and delicious. The service throughout was exceptional. The after wedding party was held across the street at their beach venue where the stage and bars were set up. A perfect setting and the night was topped off by an amazing fire works display. I consider Le Cameleon Hotel the nicest hotel in the Puerto Viejo area. I strongly recommend staying and enjoying their ever changing colors in all the rooms. If you're thinking about a Caribbean wedding you really should investigate Le Cameleon!

Room Tip: Beautiful beaches all around, good food and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    151
    66
    34
    26
See reviews for
152
319
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

well let me start by saying i loved this place! i would never stay anywhere but le chameleon when in puerto viejo!!! puerto viejo is a fun beautiful little caribbean beach town with plenty to do. great food nice people and great waves! myself and two of my buddys left on a surf trip to costa rica to see as much of the country as possible. lucky for us we stumbled on the la chameleon. it ended up being one of the highlight of the trip. the people that ran it the service food and even the super fun caribbean band they had playing at their restaurant. do yourself a favor check this place out. very clean and GREAT service!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I made a reservation over the internet from their website. When I arrived they had no record of my reservation even though I had the confirmation page printout. Nevertheless they had a room available. When I checked out after 2 days they said they needed my credit card because they didn't have it from the lost reservation. I gave it to them and when I returned home and checked online they had double-billed my card. It took me dozens of calls and was given the complete run-around regarding this issue. The manager is not here, the accounts person is off today blah blah blah. I finally had to engage a feisty friend of mine who was fluent in Spanish and she dogged them for 2 weeks with calls everyday and finally after 3 months the charge was reversed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Cameleon_Hotel, Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Evny777,
We apologize profusely for the inconvenience. A double-billing should never occur, much less take so long to be reimbursed. There is a new management and reservations team here since mid-October (about three months or more after your stay with us), and we’re confident that these mistakes will not happen and inconvenience our guests in the future. We now also have more staff that is fluent in English and can solve issues more promptly. As your situation has already been solved –however tardy- I know this doesn’t change what you went through, but hopefully you can perceive the good intention of our apology and know that changes have been made in our organization to prevent these things from happening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel was opened in 2009 and from what I can tell the publicity photos must have been taken on the day it opened because in reality the place looks nothing like the photos. Everything is worn out and run down. The rooms are not spotless which is what I expect when I'm paying $250 a night. The marble surface in the bathroom was badly cracked and the tiling discoloured and marked. The white painted floor in the bedroom was badly marked and the wooden terrace was badly maintained. The staff are friendly on the whole but the service, especially in the restaurant, is not great. The breakfast is served buffet style (not a favourite of mine), the tables are not really clean, placemats are stained and they provide only paper napkins...cutlery is also cheap. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and although the food was good there was not enough of the main dish and I found myself having to order a second main as I was still hungry. Dessert however was delicious. The gardens, although containing some very beautiful plants and trees, are much overgrown and do not show signs of being maintained well. The beach is conveniently located a short walk across the road through the so called beach club which, as far as I could see, consisted of a small bar in a raised seating area and some very tired and badly maintained beach beds (other reviewers have posted relevant photos of these). Cocles beach itself is lovely, an enjoyable walk. All in all I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is expecting anywhere near luxury at $250 a night...if I had paid $150 I might have expected the level of comfort provided but with the hotel as it is I was extremely disappointed with Le Cameleon. We had stayed at a sister hotel (part of the same chain), The Shana Hotel and Residence in Manuel Antonio, which was absolutely fantastic in comparison to Le Cameleon, and considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Cameleon_Hotel, Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear 682Julie,
It really was a pleasure having you and Ms. L. as our guests last week. You both are lovely people and we enjoyed your relaxed and good-natured energy throughout your stay with us. We’re all really, really sad to realize with your review that your experience here was disappointing! During your week with us we genuinely thought you were having a good time, and even when we said goodbye at checkout Ms. L.’s comments seemed positive, so when we read your evaluation we were surprised to see that there was another side to the story. The night you had dinner with us and were not satisfied with the size of the portion, we immediately sent out another plate which we did not charge to your bill. We are aware of several maintenance issues that we’re addressing little by little. Just this last week you may have noticed we set up some new blue lounge cushions in the lake area, and the poolside recliners are also brand new. On the beach, the red hammocks were bought and set-up just a couple weeks ago, and early this year we also want to update our beachside chairs and recliners so that they add to the beauty of the area.
Thank you very much for your review. We do wish you had reached out to us while you were here so we could help you have a more enjoyable stay, but either way our guests’ reviews always help us improve, so we appreciate it. Thanks again for your stay and hopefully the rest of your trip around Costa Rica and home went smoothly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was the final hotel in our 21 days trip, and we had high expectations. As you' ll see the decoration is very white and was a bit too much for us. Unfortunately our room smelled damp, which was properly down to the double glazing, which is not needed and keeps all the humidity in. We did asked for a dehumidifier but never got one. The manageress was very nice, but we felt that other staff were not very good for that kind of establishment. On the other hand , it is fairly close to the town, for 5 -6 dollars you can get there, and the hotel has an access to a good private beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejulie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough to help us, suggesting places to visit, organising tours, transport, recommending places to eat and booking tables. The staff are genuinely interested in your trip, how they can help and make your stay better. We enjoyed the Christmas celebrations that were organised. The setting is fabulous it is difficult to know whether to lie by the beach or the pool both are beautiful.

The new management have some great ideas and we look forward to returning to see the improvements now in practice. Our stay here was a great end to our honeymoon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemlWad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at Le Cameleon on our honeymoon in October 2013. After coming from a not so great hotel experience we were skeptical. Right when we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly staff. They apologized profusely that our other hotel wasn't great and offered us an upgraded suite. We thought it was so nice of them to be concerned with our previous experience, and the fact that they wanted to make our stay at their hotel great. The suite was great! First floor, very clean, large bathroom, nice porch and they switch out your art work and pillows each day to a different color! They also have a light that changes colors behind bed, to go with the chameleon theme! We had a great experience with their food and bar staff as well. Our bartender Ignacio was friendly, attentive, and very knowledgeable about the area. He even suggested we tour the jaguar rescue center which was our favorite spot in Puerto Vierjo. The animals there are really unique and you get to interact with them very closely! especially in the monkey enclosure! Over all the staff was great, even helping us rent a car ( we couldn't speak Spanish and the car center representative available didn't speak good English). I would definitely suggest staying here to any of my friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishprincess331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: | Limon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod, Iphone docking station and amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private Yoga classes, SPA treatments in our Jungle Spa, Ochio y Medio gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course Noa Beach Club with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing