We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This resort is so beautiful, with tropical gardens surrounding the rooms and restaurants! We loved dinners in Le Numu restaurant, breakfast beside the small pool with hammock, and a Saturday night cookout at the beachside club. The resort spreads on both sides of the road, so our room did not have an ocean view, but when we walked across the road we had access to the beach club, with cabanas, chairs, a lovely beach, and bar. But the best part was the personal service, from front desk to wait staff. Whatever we asked (and we did have a couple of unusual requests due to some special needs), they delivered! Because the resort is fairly small, we saw the same staff each day, and that added to our feeling that we were cared for personally. This was a wonderful place to begin our Costa Rica adventure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello Kay,

Thanks for staying with us. It makes us proud to hear back from you saying how much you appreciated our installations and our staff.
We like to meet with each guest and deliver personalised service rather than having pre-written scenarios / one-size-fits-all service.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us back. We hope to have the chance to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you want to experience a unique concept at the caribbean you should choose Le caméléon, here you will find a contemporary style with minimalist decor, Le Numu restaurant is just great & the beach club is perfect to chill and have a few drinks after surfing or exploring punta uvita - manzanillo or cahuita national park.
It´s located around 6kms from pto viejo center so you will be close to many restaurants & the exciting life of this amazing reggaeville ;)

Room Tip: Superior Rooms worked just fine for me but in case you need more space for your family you can choos...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comments. I am glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We choose this hotel mainly because we wanted some extra comfort on a long trip with a baby, so we didn´t mind to pay the extra. It is not the typical hotel in this laid back town, forget about cracky wooden floors, naif paints and reggae music. Hotel is not on the beachfront, so don´t expect your room facing the sea, for that you need to cross the road, pass the "lounge", 30 meters in total. It has some sort of private beach, with day beds etc although depending on the tide can become very small, leaving you on the shade, so we normally visited next door beach prescinding the hammock and the beds.
Restaurant was really good so was the breakfast buffet. Service on my first dinner a disaster, but we call the manager and never happen again (don´t wait till you come back to complain of something on your holidays). Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms big and with a verandah surrounded by lush vegetation.
Rent a bicycle as distance to Puerto Viejo is a few km´s and it is the perfect transport for exploring the surroundings as Punta Uva etc. Will recommend for friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvacacioneshoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hola dvacacioneshoy,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you had a good experience at Le Cameleon.
The opinion of our guests is very valuable for us and help us constantly improve ourselves.

I totally agree with you, it is always better to raise your concerns while you are in the house as most of the time, it only needs a quick fix.

A note on the beach club: while there is not much we can do about the tides ;-) we are improving the whole set up to be more hip at the image of the rest of our hôtel and also to be more functional in order to speed up the service a bit; We now have a full bar right there on the beach across the street from the hotel. Some kitchen facilities and a POS system are being added. We are very exited about putting out our new furniture in a few days in order to be ready for the launch of our renewed "sea lounge". The event will take place on Sunday 30th of March in the form of an afternoon Tea Dance right there on the beach. We will make sure to post new pictures very soon.


Thanks for choosing us. We are looking forward to host you again soon.
--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a unique hotel in a spectacular setting right in the middle of a jungle, and steps from a great beach. Everything about Le Cameleon is first rate. Pool is very nice and private. There are only 24 units and they are in immaculate condition. We loved the white decor the architect choose ... it really does contrast nicely with the green vegetation. The restaurant offers excellent food and a nice selection. This is the perfect hotel for a honeymoon ... very private and quiet. My wife cried a bit when we had to leave - she loved this hotel and this part of the world.

We cannot say enough about the fantastic staff that made this hotel such a pleasure to visit. Frederick and Cindy and their entire staff made our stay one of the most memorable we ever had. We are getting up in years and we may never get the chance to come back, but we will always remember the time we spent at The Cameleon.

Room Tip: Second floor gives you a nice view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments.

I too would have liked you to stay longer at Le Caméléon as I enjoyed every moment spent chatting with you. We feel so fortunate to work in such an idylic environment and to have the opportunity to meet great people from all over the world.

We strive to exceed our guests espectations and to constantly improve the quality of our service. Our greatest reward is to hear back from our customers saying that they left with great memories.

I do hope we will have to opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had two beautiful nights at the Cameleon. The hotel and its staff were amazing - each and everyone of them. Juan, the manager, did everything to make our experience in Puerto Viejo worthwhile. One evening we had a great organized dinner of Lion Fish with a very interesting presentation about the challenges in regards to the fish at the Caribbean side. We can only recommend the hotel and would definitively visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maaret2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel seems like an anomaly.....it's all white rooms and spartan layout is so out of place for the region. No artwork or any connection to the region. It could have been a hotel in Europe or Asia or anywhere else. The place is poorly lit and palms trees are overgrown on the path to the rooms. Really strange to have to fight your way along the walkway. On the positive side, the staff is absolutely awesome ! Very helpful, good tips and advice on what to do in the region.

Room Tip: All rooms are same and all are quite....no risk here. Just be ready for a bleak, spartan, all white...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Cameleon_Hotel, Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Gil R,
Thank you so much for your positive comments on our staff! We feel very fortunate to have such a great team and we're happy to have been able to make you feel comfortable and well attended. Our hotel's design is based on the attraction of the opposites, and the owner's idea was precisely to contrast bright white rooms with a lush jungle in every other corner of the property. This offers the feeling of having a peaceful, minimalist sanctuary to rest in while still being surrounded by nature. We quite like it but we understand it's not everyone's taste. Thank you very much for your comments though and we'll be sure to let our staff know that they were appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent 8 wonderful days at Le Cameleon made perfect by the friendly staff.
Special thanks to Sylvia on reception who organised or taxi transfer from San Jose to the hotel.
Just like everyone else who has stayed here we were amazed by the tropical garden that attracts all kinds of wildlife. There is a resident sloth who resides in the tree by the reception, and we were visited by toucans and humming birds. We saw all this wildlife within the grounds.
Our room was on the second or top floor of the block of rooms which allowed us to view the tree tops for wildlife.
The room was simple and clean and my wife is pleased to report that the wildlife (Bugs etc) stayed outside of the room.
The pool area is clean and has sun beds available for those of us who are too lazy to walk 100m to the beach, where sun beds and hammocks are available for use.
As mentioned earlier the friendly staff are one of this hotels best points.
Walking distance to supermarket and cafe/restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room for wildlife viewing.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
692 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
479 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Address: | Limon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range: £117 - £902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod, Iphone docking station and amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private Yoga classes, SPA treatments in our Jungle Spa, Ochio y Medio gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course Noa Beach Club with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing