We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Cameleon - Great Place in Puerto Viejo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Le Cameleon - Great Place in Puerto Viejo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Le Cameleon. Overall, it's a great place in Puerto Viejo/Playa Cocles. Staff is very accommodating and friendly (except one front desk guy who didn't seem all that interested). The accommodations were clean and comfortable (for those who point out the some mildew in the bathrooms, what do you expect? It's the tropics). It's obvious there's a turnaround in the works, and the management is working on making the improvements needed to bring the hotel back. The beach is right across the street and is beautiful, although the cocktail area was still under construction when we stayed. The pool is quiet with a (cold) jacuzzi next to it, it was very nice in the evening watching local bats wake up and fly around and listening to frogs calling. The walkways need some improvements, it's very difficult to see where you are walking at night with sporadic lighting. The jaguar rescue center is a 5-10 min walk down the road and was a worthwhile visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Matt,
Thanks for taking the time to write your comments; we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you, all our guests really enjoy the proximity of the Jaguar Rescue Centre. On top of that, we are going to open our new Concierge Service on Friday the 28th. The service is provided by Costa Rica Escapades and it is aimed to enhance our guests' holiday in the region.

I took over as the new GM a few weeks ago and as you have pointed out, my team and I are really going the extra mile to upgrade the property. It is quite rewarding to see it did not go unnoticed. I too felt uncomfortable with the lack of lighting on the pathways. Therefor, I have just purchased an extra dozen of spotlights to lay along the wooden sidewalks. They will be installed in the very close future.

I must say that my Front-Desk Manager and I are very concerned about your comment regarding one of our receptionists. If you feel like elaborating more, feel free to send me an email at GManager@leCameleonHotel.com - Not only are we working on the installations but more importantly, we are reviewing all of our procedures and service standards. Finding qualified staff members that grasp the value of good customer service as expected by North-Americans is not an easy thing around here. Nonetheless, through patience and good training, we feel that we are getting closer to our goals. As you have written, we feel fortunate that our staff is generally considered very accommodating and friendly. We are really putting our efforts on the fine tuning right now.

As mentioned, we are also working on the beach club, that will be ready on March 30th. While the construction has been a nerve-racking ordeal for both the guests and the staff, we are very exited to launch the new «La Sula Sea Lounge» next weekend. It's going to look fabulous and match the slick design of the rest of the hotel. Shortly after that, we will revamp our lunch menu. Stay tuned...

On behalf of all the team here at Le Caméléon, thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your valid feedback. We really hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    139
    60
    33
    25
See reviews for
137
304
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My sisters-in-law and I began our visit to Costa Rica in the Puerto Viejo region at Le Cameleon and were concerned that we wouldn't be happy anywhere else after our stay there. The staff were exceptionally warm and helpful, and eager to make our visit with them "the best." I loved the "spartan" beauty of the rooms, with the focus color changing each day, especially since we were in the midst of such a lush tropical environment. The sloth sanctuary and Cahuita National Park aren't far, and were definitely worth a visit, especially the sloth sanctuary. The pool was so relaxing after a sweaty day in the park, and the beach party across the road in the evening was lots of fun. Would definitely return to Le Cameleon and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Anita,

Thank you very much for your review; we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Camelon.

It is always so motivating to read comments like yours; it gives us fuel to continue with our strive be ever improving.

On behalf of the owner, the whole team here at Le Caméléon snd mydrlf thanks for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This resort is so beautiful, with tropical gardens surrounding the rooms and restaurants! We loved dinners in Le Numu restaurant, breakfast beside the small pool with hammock, and a Saturday night cookout at the beachside club. The resort spreads on both sides of the road, so our room did not have an ocean view, but when we walked across the road we had access to the beach club, with cabanas, chairs, a lovely beach, and bar. But the best part was the personal service, from front desk to wait staff. Whatever we asked (and we did have a couple of unusual requests due to some special needs), they delivered! Because the resort is fairly small, we saw the same staff each day, and that added to our feeling that we were cared for personally. This was a wonderful place to begin our Costa Rica adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello Kay,

Thanks for staying with us. It makes us proud to hear back from you saying how much you appreciated our installations and our staff.
We like to meet with each guest and deliver personalised service rather than having pre-written scenarios / one-size-fits-all service.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us back. We hope to have the chance to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you want to experience a unique concept at the caribbean you should choose Le caméléon, here you will find a contemporary style with minimalist decor, Le Numu restaurant is just great & the beach club is perfect to chill and have a few drinks after surfing or exploring punta uvita - manzanillo or cahuita national park.
It´s located around 6kms from pto viejo center so you will be close to many restaurants & the exciting life of this amazing reggaeville ;)

Room Tip: Superior Rooms worked just fine for me but in case you need more space for your family you can choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. I am glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We choose this hotel mainly because we wanted some extra comfort on a long trip with a baby, so we didn´t mind to pay the extra. It is not the typical hotel in this laid back town, forget about cracky wooden floors, naif paints and reggae music. Hotel is not on the beachfront, so don´t expect your room facing the sea, for that you need to cross the road, pass the "lounge", 30 meters in total. It has some sort of private beach, with day beds etc although depending on the tide can become very small, leaving you on the shade, so we normally visited next door beach prescinding the hammock and the beds.
Restaurant was really good so was the breakfast buffet. Service on my first dinner a disaster, but we call the manager and never happen again (don´t wait till you come back to complain of something on your holidays). Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms big and with a verandah surrounded by lush vegetation.
Rent a bicycle as distance to Puerto Viejo is a few km´s and it is the perfect transport for exploring the surroundings as Punta Uva etc. Will recommend for friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvacacioneshoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hola dvacacioneshoy,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you had a good experience at Le Cameleon.
The opinion of our guests is very valuable for us and help us constantly improve ourselves.

I totally agree with you, it is always better to raise your concerns while you are in the house as most of the time, it only needs a quick fix.

A note on the beach club: while there is not much we can do about the tides ;-) we are improving the whole set up to be more hip at the image of the rest of our hôtel and also to be more functional in order to speed up the service a bit; We now have a full bar right there on the beach across the street from the hotel. Some kitchen facilities and a POS system are being added. We are very exited about putting out our new furniture in a few days in order to be ready for the launch of our renewed "sea lounge". The event will take place on Sunday 30th of March in the form of an afternoon Tea Dance right there on the beach. We will make sure to post new pictures very soon.


Thanks for choosing us. We are looking forward to host you again soon.
--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a unique hotel in a spectacular setting right in the middle of a jungle, and steps from a great beach. Everything about Le Cameleon is first rate. Pool is very nice and private. There are only 24 units and they are in immaculate condition. We loved the white decor the architect choose ... it really does contrast nicely with the green vegetation. The restaurant offers excellent food and a nice selection. This is the perfect hotel for a honeymoon ... very private and quiet. My wife cried a bit when we had to leave - she loved this hotel and this part of the world.

We cannot say enough about the fantastic staff that made this hotel such a pleasure to visit. Frederick and Cindy and their entire staff made our stay one of the most memorable we ever had. We are getting up in years and we may never get the chance to come back, but we will always remember the time we spent at The Cameleon.

Room Tip: Second floor gives you a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments.

I too would have liked you to stay longer at Le Caméléon as I enjoyed every moment spent chatting with you. We feel so fortunate to work in such an idylic environment and to have the opportunity to meet great people from all over the world.

We strive to exceed our guests espectations and to constantly improve the quality of our service. Our greatest reward is to hear back from our customers saying that they left with great memories.

I do hope we will have to opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had two beautiful nights at the Cameleon. The hotel and its staff were amazing - each and everyone of them. Juan, the manager, did everything to make our experience in Puerto Viejo worthwhile. One evening we had a great organized dinner of Lion Fish with a very interesting presentation about the challenges in regards to the fish at the Caribbean side. We can only recommend the hotel and would definitively visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maaret2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: Across the Street From Beach, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing