We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My Wife and I spent our Honeymoon at Le Chameleon... We decided to stay 3 Weeks at Le Cameleon, and it turned out to be Heaven on Earth, the perfect place for a Honeymoon..
The Owner of the Hotel had a Vision, and we must say it is one of a Kind. The all white Rooms with the constant changes of Colour themes within the beautiful Jungle, just like a Chameleon are just unique. The WHOLE Staff made our stay soo SPECIAL, we will never forget this Honeymoon!! Thank you so much Fred, Silvia, Alma, Nery, Javier, Misael, Virgilio, Mauren and whole Team for making our stay unforgettable! We were very Sad that we had to leave, if were up to us, we would have permanently stayed.. The Beach Club of Le Chameleon is just across the Road, a Beautiful Area awaits with Lounge Area, Bar, Hamocks, an amazing Beach, all the Ingridients for a perfect Beach Club. There is even a Resident Sloth residing in the Trees there.. The Location of the Hotel is perfect, thats also one of the resons we choose Le Cameleon. We definatley recommend everyone to rent a bicycle (20meters from Le Chameleon is the Bicycle place..) and explore the Area, Puerto Vijejo is close by and we spent alot of time there in this beautliful layed back town. Great Restaurants and amazing people await. Punta Uva und Manzanillo Beach are also a must see. There are simply so many places one can see/visit. During our 3 Week stay we almost did a Tour/Excursion every day. A must see is the Jaguar Rescue Center and the Caribeans Chocolate Tour... Back to this amazing Hotel: We will always remember our beautiful stay at Le Chameleon and we will definatley be back. Thank you once again Team Chameleon, lets stay in Touch! Nat y Dani

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Gruetzi Nat & Dani

First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon. I am glad you had a fantastic stay here at Le Caméléon and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

It is so nice to receive such a detailed review; we really appreciate the time you put into it. It was a pleasure hosting you, we felt like you were part of the family. Our Concierge, Alma, got good practise from you as Costa Rica Escapades opened our new tour desk on the same day you arrived.

Thanks again, we really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,


Fred Spahr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    143
    60
    33
    26
See reviews for
138
310
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Overall stay was excellent. The hotel staffs were very friendly and approachable. Rooms were Modern and had a colour theme to it which was unique, just like a Camelon. The Breakfast was included and had a variety of options each morning. The hotel is in proximity to pretty much everything, beach, the jaguar rescue center, market town & bike rental locations. I had an amazing stay overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montez w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to send us your nice comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited in 2012 and loved it, so we tried again. It was great! The service was terrific! We always felt taken care of. The rooms are so clean and the common areas are gorgeous with all the plants and flowers. The beach service really made our trip! We could just relax and have fun and have our food and drinks brought to us, which is something that is not usually done in this part of Costa Rica. We will definately stay here again on our next trip! Thanks guys!!! Miss you!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for your nice comments.

We love having repeat customers, some have already came 7-8 times in 5 years.

It makes us feel proud to know that we have lived up to your expectations and that you will come again. We are looking forward to hosting you again.

Thanks for choosing us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Le Cameleon. Overall, it's a great place in Puerto Viejo/Playa Cocles. Staff is very accommodating and friendly (except one front desk guy who didn't seem all that interested). The accommodations were clean and comfortable (for those who point out the some mildew in the bathrooms, what do you expect? It's the tropics). It's obvious there's a turnaround in the works, and the management is working on making the improvements needed to bring the hotel back. The beach is right across the street and is beautiful, although the cocktail area was still under construction when we stayed. The pool is quiet with a (cold) jacuzzi next to it, it was very nice in the evening watching local bats wake up and fly around and listening to frogs calling. The walkways need some improvements, it's very difficult to see where you are walking at night with sporadic lighting. The jaguar rescue center is a 5-10 min walk down the road and was a worthwhile visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Matt,
Thanks for taking the time to write your comments; we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you, all our guests really enjoy the proximity of the Jaguar Rescue Centre. On top of that, we are going to open our new Concierge Service on Friday the 28th. The service is provided by Costa Rica Escapades and it is aimed to enhance our guests' holiday in the region.

I took over as the new GM a few weeks ago and as you have pointed out, my team and I are really going the extra mile to upgrade the property. It is quite rewarding to see it did not go unnoticed. I too felt uncomfortable with the lack of lighting on the pathways. Therefor, I have just purchased an extra dozen of spotlights to lay along the wooden sidewalks. They will be installed in the very close future.

I must say that my Front-Desk Manager and I are very concerned about your comment regarding one of our receptionists. If you feel like elaborating more, feel free to send me an email at GManager@leCameleonHotel.com - Not only are we working on the installations but more importantly, we are reviewing all of our procedures and service standards. Finding qualified staff members that grasp the value of good customer service as expected by North-Americans is not an easy thing around here. Nonetheless, through patience and good training, we feel that we are getting closer to our goals. As you have written, we feel fortunate that our staff is generally considered very accommodating and friendly. We are really putting our efforts on the fine tuning right now.

As mentioned, we are also working on the beach club, that will be ready on March 30th. While the construction has been a nerve-racking ordeal for both the guests and the staff, we are very exited to launch the new «La Sula Sea Lounge» next weekend. It's going to look fabulous and match the slick design of the rest of the hotel. Shortly after that, we will revamp our lunch menu. Stay tuned...

On behalf of all the team here at Le Caméléon, thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your valid feedback. We really hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My sisters-in-law and I began our visit to Costa Rica in the Puerto Viejo region at Le Cameleon and were concerned that we wouldn't be happy anywhere else after our stay there. The staff were exceptionally warm and helpful, and eager to make our visit with them "the best." I loved the "spartan" beauty of the rooms, with the focus color changing each day, especially since we were in the midst of such a lush tropical environment. The sloth sanctuary and Cahuita National Park aren't far, and were definitely worth a visit, especially the sloth sanctuary. The pool was so relaxing after a sweaty day in the park, and the beach party across the road in the evening was lots of fun. Would definitely return to Le Cameleon and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Anita,

Thank you very much for your review; we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Camelon.

It is always so motivating to read comments like yours; it gives us fuel to continue with our strive be ever improving.

On behalf of the owner, the whole team here at Le Caméléon snd mydrlf thanks for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This resort is so beautiful, with tropical gardens surrounding the rooms and restaurants! We loved dinners in Le Numu restaurant, breakfast beside the small pool with hammock, and a Saturday night cookout at the beachside club. The resort spreads on both sides of the road, so our room did not have an ocean view, but when we walked across the road we had access to the beach club, with cabanas, chairs, a lovely beach, and bar. But the best part was the personal service, from front desk to wait staff. Whatever we asked (and we did have a couple of unusual requests due to some special needs), they delivered! Because the resort is fairly small, we saw the same staff each day, and that added to our feeling that we were cared for personally. This was a wonderful place to begin our Costa Rica adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello Kay,

Thanks for staying with us. It makes us proud to hear back from you saying how much you appreciated our installations and our staff.
We like to meet with each guest and deliver personalised service rather than having pre-written scenarios / one-size-fits-all service.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us back. We hope to have the chance to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you want to experience a unique concept at the caribbean you should choose Le caméléon, here you will find a contemporary style with minimalist decor, Le Numu restaurant is just great & the beach club is perfect to chill and have a few drinks after surfing or exploring punta uvita - manzanillo or cahuita national park.
It´s located around 6kms from pto viejo center so you will be close to many restaurants & the exciting life of this amazing reggaeville ;)

Room Tip: Superior Rooms worked just fine for me but in case you need more space for your family you can choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. I am glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: Across the Street From Beach, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing