We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly impeccable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly impeccable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I can't wait to go back and stay at Le Caméléon again. The hotel is within its own caliber in the region. The rooms, amenities and all the surroundings are contemporary and utterly comfortable. The entire hotel and its surrounding provide an atmosphere that is refreshing, impeccable, and is a true oasis in my book.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVVillegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello LOVVillegas,

Nice to hear back from you. We are very glad that you have appreciated the comfort of our Hotel.

Let us know when you come back this way, Miami is only a few hours away...

On Behalf of the owner, all the staff and myself, thanks for your visit and for writting your appreciation of the hotel.

Hasta pronto!

Frederic Spahr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    139
    60
    33
    26
See reviews for
137
305
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Le Cameleon in may this year. This hotel has a real authentic Caribean atmosphere. Staff that are ready to serve you, and see that you are comfortable at all times. Local restaurants within walking distance, and village center withinn a few kilometers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Ole,

Thanks for your great comments. I am glad you liked our authentic Caribean atmosphere.

We hope to see you again in the close future.

Cheers

Frederic Spahr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Best selection if you are looking for comfort and traditional hotel amenities. Rooms are comfortable, nice balcony to drink your coffee, air conditioning, big bath, all white room (even floor), color decoration changed daily (nice touch) and steps to beach. Good breakfast in a nice seating. The area is very relaxing and everything goes at a slow pace, excellent restaurant at walking distance (50 meters, Pecora Nera-Italian) and don't get stress in the Caribbean you go with the flow.
Will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the second floor with garden view. These rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fechavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hola Fechavo,

Thanks for your nice comments. I am glad that we have lived up to your expectations.

We hope to see you again soon. Check out our website for special offers.

Cheers

Frederic Spahr
Genenral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Le Cameleon is a stylish option in Puerto Viejo.
It is located a bit up the road from the main town of Puerto Viejo, about mid-way to Playa Chiquita and a few kilometers from Manzanillo. It is near several nice restaurants and the Jaguar Conservation Center, a good location if you have a car or are willing to do a lot of biking.

There is a very nice beach just across the road. The hotel has a "beach club" but the actual beach area is quite tiny and chairs/ daybeds get snapped up quickly. I reccommend not taking too much stuff and walking down the way a bit. (As in any part of the world: be careful with valuables.) There is tons of beach and even a river outlet to explore.

The hotel has a small pool area which is very nice for a dip after the beach.

The hotel has a cool tropical-minimalist design, but its years are showing and it could use an update (paint and some refurbishing, mostly). Rooms are very comfortable with well thought-out features and neat little touches to liven up your stay. Bathrooms are awesome as are the toiletries.

Breakfast was ok, just what you need to get going (yogurt, fruit, eggs, bread, cereal, some local food ie: the ubiquitous gallo pinto). The standout were staff members who were happy to help us if we were a bit late (usually) and some items had run out. (We didn´t have any other meals there as the lunch/ dinner menu seemed a bit pricy and not too interesting.)

The staff were very kind and accomodating to a fault. Excellent in every way.

In terms of value for money, it is a bit pricier than some other options, but more upscale than a typical Puerto Viejo hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCCR506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a complete review. I am glad that you've liked your stay with us and that the service of our staff and the design of the hotel pleased you.

Since your visit in January, the Beach Club has been upgraded to match Le Cameleon's slick design. It is now called La Sula Sea Lounge with more sitting and eating options. Our Beach Restaurant and Bar is now open from 10AM until 6PM with plans to extend the opening hours soon.

After taking over as GM some 3 months ago, I have noticed that, like you, some of our guests were hoping for a broader breakfast menu. We have just done that with a daily special ranging from egg sandwich, breakfast burritos, fruit pancakes or eggs Benedict.... on top of the standard options that we already had like scramble, fried or omelet. Besides our "gallo Pinto," we now offer hash browns, yucca paddies, and as before we still have the options of Bacon or Ham and of course toasts and rolls and the usual fresh tropical fruits, cereals, fresh juice, coffee and tea with the option to buy Capuchinos and Lattes. We believe that as such, we should be able to please the great majority of our guests.

As pointed out by you, Le Cameleon offers a different, more stylish and upscale option in the area. Nevertheless, we are always aiming for improvements and therefor value your valid feedback

We hope to see again very soon.

--
Frédéric Spahr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The boutique hotel is 100 meters from Cocles beach, one of the most beautiful I have ever seen! The room are big enoug, clean and pleasant! As a camaleon, its colors change everyday!
Moreover the staff is always willing to help with big smile on the face ;-)
Thank you for hosting us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tchoul84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic S, Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello tchoul84,

Thanks for taking the time to review us; we really appreciate your good comments. All our guests like the colour changes, in fact we have just added Pink to our array of colours. we are working on adding more colours as our guests tend to extend their stay with us and we want to keep surprising them. We have posted your review on the billboard for all the staff to see it, they really liked your comments.

We hope to see again soon.

Thanks for staying at Le Caméléon where Every Day is a New Day!

Frédéric Spahr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I spent almost a week here. We didn't take note of the location and were later bit by that as the hotel is at least 4 hours drive from the capital. In our case the short road was blocked by a mudslide, so we had to wait till the next morning and take a longer 6-hour route. This is completely our fault though. Do consider your transfer options ahead of time and don't assume you can just take a taxi from the airport any time.

Once we got there, the location was great. There's a good beach that's almost empty most of the time, a few decent nearby restaurants (including one on premises), and a convenience store (which is actually used by locals, so it's decently priced). If you want to go to Puerto Viejo that's actually quite far away, but you can rent a bike or take a taxi. We ended up just walking - part of the way can be walked on the beach, and there are various restaurants/bars/spas/etc along the way.

Good:
+ Close to the beach
+ Stylishly decorated (but the transparent bathroom doors might not fit everyone - check your room's photos)
+ Great service (e.g. we never had trouble getting someone's help at the reception)
+ Lush greenery on premises
+ Illuminated and very clean pool
+ Peaceful and quiet

Not so good:
- Breakfast - OK, but I've had better breakfasts in cheaper places
- Hot tub wasn't really hot (same T as the pool) and the bubbles were really weak
- Sound isolation (you can hear the neighbors from the bathroom and the balcony)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DmitryE810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylviaMendes, Front Office Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello Dmitry:

Thank you for your comment about us we feel great that you spent a nice time with us even some times that no were good. About the comment they are not too good we are working to improve them, because we think the our guest;s opinions are very important to grow and improve aour service.

So one more time, thank you and remember your always welcome to come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very stylish Boutique Hotel, between Puerto Viejo and Rescate Jaguar. Opposite the Hotel is the Beach and the Beach Club of the Hotel. If you don't come by car, you will be able to rent a bicycle.
The Hotel is held in pure white, a floor without a carpet and a small bathroom. The colors of the room may change, by changing the paintings and pillows. Cool idea, never seen before. We had a Junior Suite, these are in the Ground floor. We had room Nr. 12, unfortunately with view to the Lobby. Means people walking close by the terrace. The pool was nice and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you very much indeed. We enjoyed this Hotel and will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvanmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylviaMendes, Front Office Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hallo Jvan,
Than you for your comments, about our hotel. We feel glad that you spent a nice time with us and you want to come back. About the less privacy in your room sorry about it we are working right now on it to.

Remember every time that you want to come bck to visit us you are welcome.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: Across the Street From Beach, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing