We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
jjenred5
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here and it was just perfect. We stayed for twelve nights and wish we could have doubled it.

The location was perfect for us - a bit down the road from the center of Puerto Viejo so none of the craziness but all of the convenience and near some lovely beaches such as Punta Uva, Manzanillo and Cahuita Parque Nationale.

The grounds are beautiful. Aside from the rooms themselves everything is outside, nestled in the stunning nature. The pool is lovely and we understand they're opening a beach bar in the next couple weeks. We saw all sorts of wildlife on site - one morning we spent two hours laying in bed watching a troop of howler monkies hanging in a tree just a few meters away. It's a civilized retreat in the middle of wonderful nature.

We stayed in the Le Cameleon suite (it was our honeymoon) and it was lovely. Simple, clean, contemporary. Nearly as big as our apartment in Los Angeles. With a gorgeous open air jacuzzi tub and shower.

The staff were wonderful. Pleasant, kind and helpful. Very attentive, but not annoying. The manager, and frequently the owner, were present every day. They organized a few really great trips for us and were always happy to answer whatever questions we had.

The restaurant was very good. And their mojitos are delicious.

We were there in the beginning of September and it was great - just before it got too busy.

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we can't wait to go back again. We both travel for work and have stayed in tons of high end hotels around the world so are pretty picky. If what you want is stylish simplicity in the middle of the jungle at the beach this is for you.

In response to some of the negative reviews, we think that must be the exception to the rule. We didn't find it to be a party hotel at all but a very relaxing and much needed escape from Los Angeles.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjenred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    140
    60
    33
    25
See reviews for
137
304
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

All Costa Rican hotels play music to an irritating extent, but at least it is usually limited to the bar area. At this place it seemed to be everywhere, and far too loud. We weren't there at a weekend but I bet it gets noisier. Not a place to stay if you go to bed early.
Otherwise the place was comfortable enough. Nice pool and not a bad beach. But certainly our least favourite hotel of the holiday.
For serious sloth fans, the sloth sanctuary at Aviarios del Caribe is great, though for the sloths' benefit, you are not allowed to touch them. Last tour when we went was 2.30

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

If you have ever dreamt of the garden of Eden this is the place to be. I have been visiting the area of puerto viejo for the last 9-10 years and its overwhelming surroundings have never failed to surprise me. If you want to experience the PURA VIDA I could not suggest a better place.
When I visited in the past it was always more of a camping experience but since we have been to LE Cameleon this time around I appreciated the surroundings so much more. Imagine a place of complete luxury, where everyday you do not only wake up to a new day but a whole new experience in your room. Colours that brighten up your day!
Staff was always eager to attend to special needs and special requests. My mother is bound to a wheel chair and I must add that the hotel is very handicapped friendly. Everything is easily accessible and attention is given to each and every guest.
One further highlight is Chef Marco who before and after every meal came personally to ask weather there were any personal requests and I can tell you that you can sense the love and passion he cooks with in every bite. Exquisite!
Furthermore, while I was visiting the hotel was full, but due to the distribution of the rooms and the facilities one does not sense this at all whatsoever. All you hear during the day are the birds tweeting and the monkeys howling and during the night time you hear the insects sissing.
What fascinated me most was the transformation of the hotel during the day time and the night time its amazing. A whole new world to explore.
Definately going for an encore!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We travelled to Costa Rica for a week of rest and relaxation. We had always been to CR twice before but not to the Caribbean coast. We were attracted by the idea of a boutique hotel on this coast -- we thought we could scoot up and down the coast to various beaches and then return for some peace and quiet, r & r at Le Cameleon.

We arrived Friday at 8:30 p.m. after a long day of travelling from Toronto to San Jose, then the 4.5 hr drive to the coast. Beautiful drive. We had booked for 7 nights. When we arrived, there were almost no other guests -- us, and 2 or 3 others.

The guest suites are in 3 buildings -- a back building (most secluded), and 2 front buildings (one near the party zone and one a little further away). We were given a room in the building near the party zone, with the terrace open to the reception area (which is outside). We asked to be moved to the back building for a little more privacy. We were told that there was no where that we could be moved because more guests would start to arrive in a few days. Eventually, after some convincing, we were moved to the 3rd building where we were told we could stay for 2-3 nights, then we would have to move back to the party zone building.

The rooms themselves are nice but are already starting to feel the effects of time. The floors are painted white and the paint was chipping, showing the concrete floors.

We had a cool-down dip in the lovely pool and then a (very mediocre) dinner in the outdoor restaurant. The grounds are lovely.

The problem for us was this: it's a party hotel. The dance music started around 9:00 p.m. and then turned into club music (extreeeeeemely loud) at about 11:00, bass thumping through the entire hotel grounds. At around midnight we called and asked them to turn the music down. We were informed that someone from outside the hotel had rented the party-restaurant area for a birthday party and had "paid a lot of money". They turned it down for about 5 minutes, and then it was back up again, just pounding out the bass. After another 90 minutes-2 hours, we called again and asked that they turn it off. By 2:00 or so, and begrudgingly, they turned it off. No offer to comp our meal or reduce the rate of our room (around $270 USD).

We checked out the next morning. At check out, we were told that we just got unlucky and they only have the full-on parties once or twice a month.

If you are looking for a party hotel, this is the place to go. If you are looking for some peace, rest, relaxation and a good night's sleep, I would recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank splashd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We've started our visit of Costa Rica in "La Cameleon", and missed the place all the time since.
the place is beautyfull, the staff were all VERY helpfull and extremely friendly (especially Frederick, and also Diego, the restaurant manager).
listen to this: They have changed the pillows and picture on the wall colors (!), every day (you have to see that). the hotel looks great. the pool, the rooms (!!!), the restaurant. everything. definitely the best hotel in puerto Viejo area!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaron_1_Aher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I can't say enough about this place. They treated us like royalty and took care of every last detail. They had the best food we ate in Puerto Viejo and their bartender Alex made the best mojitos I've ever had anywhere in the world. The place is modern and luxurious yet seems to blend in perfectly with the natural surroundings and has an aesthetic appeal like no other place down there. It was exactly what we needed and one of the nicest places we have stayed anywhere, would have never expected in the middle of nowhere outside of Puerto Viejo. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicallingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I stayed together with friends at this unique and new property. Let me tell you, this Hotel Le Cameleon is a real example of creative professionals thinking out of the box! The contemporary, minimalistic, clean design and good taste harmonizes perfectly with the green exuberance of Costa Rica's Caribbean Tropical Jungle, creating an experience that captivates the guest. The hotel decoration is primordially white with colorful accents at every corner you turn around, which explains its also very appealing and creative name. White infrastructure contrasting with green Nature transmits you a very tranquil, peaceful feeling. Even though it opened recently, service is great, staff is warm and friendly; food is fabulous as well. Le Cameleon has an ideal location, just a few steps away from Cocles Beach. You shouldn't miss to check this place, at Puerto Viejo Limón, on your next trip to Costa Rica. It’s very unique and special; I don’t think there is any Hotel similar around the World. Myself managing presently a fine collection of exclusive Enchanting Hotels; www.enchanting-hotels.com, I can tell! I sincerely celebrate this opening and congratulate my dear colleagues and friends! Thanks for having me!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danigeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: Across the Street From Beach, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing