We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My boyfriend and I recently returned from Costa Rica. When we arrived in Puerto Viejo, we began to miss the Pacific. However, Emily and Jeremy's B&B immediately changed our minds. The place is spectacularly clean, they are both great hosts, and Jeremy's cocktails were the best we had during our two week stay. The couple puts in a remarkable effort to cater to the needs of their guests. They have put a lot of effort into maintaining the property which offers a very comfortable and relaxing environment. I would definitely recommend this place, which is a little gem away from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Viejo. In addition, nice beaches, and excellent food that Jeremy recommended are both quite close.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baruybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
232
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Emily and Jeremy's beautiful B & B. It exceeded our expectations. Their hospitality is unmatched. The hidden oasis behind the front entrance made us feel relaxed and safe. The room was clean and cozy with access to Wifi, and Netflix. The common areas had comfy couches, beautiful woodwork, a hammock, fountains and lovely foliage. Sweet Emily crafted a delicous breakfast each morning. The fresh fruit bowl was delightful and breakfast portions were generous. Jeremy enthusiastically met our needs, helped arrange transportation, and connected us with a wonderful horseback riding place. The B & B had bikes for rent which we enjoyed daily to venture into town or visit different beaches with. If you want a comfortable, and friendly place to stay then look no further. This place is top notch!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 741MnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Jeremy and Emily makes us you feel like home! Clean rooms, delicious breakfast, perfect location close to a beautiful beach, Jeremy was very helpful giving us advises where to go , if you want to eat good the restaurant next has door delicious and very affordable food, we highly recommend this fantastic bed and breakfast hotel !!Definitely go back in our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lg071328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a bed and breakfast near Puerto Viejo which is safe, immaculate, close to a beautiful beach as well as many good restaurants and has fantastic hosts then you have just found it. We stayed for 10 days with Jeremy and Emily and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are very well appointed, the lounge areas very relaxing. We rented bikes from Jeremy and had no trouble getting around without a rental car. There are plenty of good restaurants in walking/biking distance and Jeremy is happy to help with making reservations and calling taxis. We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ExoticEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place is like paradise. Perfectly clean rooms, friendly staff (comedian Jeremy included ;-) ), delicious breakfast, familiar atmosphere and all this in the relaxed, all-green, caribbean area of "good-vibes"-puerto-viejo!

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the yard are more private, so less people pass in front of your window :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ligiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent part of our honeymoon at Physis and had so much fun! Emily and Jeremy are fantastic! they gave us great advices to visit places, do´s and donts and we loved their involvement in all they do. The place has a unique touch and a really nice atmosphere. You can eat right next door for cheaper prices than in downtown and the food is very good. We fully recommend this little hotel and would definitely go back in our next trip to Costa Rica. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu9Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Physis Caribbean for 3 nights in November 2013. The facility is completely remodeled and absolutely beautiful, and Emily and Jeremy attend to every little detail with care and incredible hospitality -- they really go above and beyond your expectations, down to attaching a mini-flashlight to each room key so you can make your way safely in the dark. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is luxurious and well-appointed. Emily prepares a delicious breakfast every morning (and even went out of her way to have decaf coffee for us, which is surprisingly hard to come by in Costa Rica), and Jeremy will mix you up a happy-hour cocktail if you so desire. The hotel is situated in what we thought was the ideal location within the Puerto Viejo area, and Emily and Jeremy know all the ins and outs of the neighborhood, including which restaurants to try and where to sight-see. Plus, they are just fun, friendly people who care deeply about making your stay perfect. Highly, highly recommend Physis!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 7 in Cocles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast

Property: Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Address: 154 Miss Winny Town, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for nature, beach & jungle meets luxury, this is the spot. We consist of 4 rooms, with one completely private & secluded "Honeymoon Suite". All rooms have their own private bathroom & shower with hot water. All rooms also have air conditioning, refrigerators, safes, flat-screen TV with satellite cable or Netflix, dehumidifiers, ceiling fans, free Wi-Fi, and all new linens & decor. The private Honeymoon suite has a flatscreen TV with a DVD player. Room #3 sleeps 3 people with one full bed & one twin bed and a flatscreen TV with satellite cable. There are two regular double rooms available with flat-screen TV and free Netflix with DVD players. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and there is also a computer for guests to use. We have bicycles, snorkel gear, & boogie boards available for rent. We also offer laundry and drink service. Prices include breakfast each morning. Sorry, No children under the age of 12 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing