We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill and enjoy the Caribbean vibe!”
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Caribe Town in bungalow 4 for our honeymoon. We stayed there for 13 nights. Jessica, Marc and Carlos are extremely accommodating and lovely people. They live onsite and are always available to answer questions. The tours that were arranged by Jessica and Carlos were spectacular - highly recommended. Breakfast was great and always ready with coffee at 7 am. The pool area was fantastic and though the pool is small we loved it to have a quick cool dip after a hot day. There is an area for massage - try the chocolate massage! We rented bikes the whole time. Caribe Town is near plenty of restaurants - tons to choose from. There are plenty of beaches and great walks to take nearby. Overall - a spectacular vacation. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellyTimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

I visited Peurto Viejo with my daughter in law,my granddaughter and my best friend in October 2012. This was my second visit to CR and my first time to stay at Caribe Town. Jess and Marc and Carlos were the best hosts ever. Whatever we needed or asked for, the request was met; whether it was ziplining arrangements, more towels or a good drink! (and Jess makes awesome drinks!) We stayed in Casa Aguacate and it was more than sufficient room, clean and well equipped for our stay. Can't wait to go and stay there again.....Miss you guys!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed in Casa Mariposa, a property managed by Caribe Town Resort. We stayed for nine weeks (Jan 7 - Mar 11, 2013). We had access to all the services at the resort as well. Jessica, Mark and Carlos provided outstanding service as well as being very friendly, approachable and extremely helpful. Our home was private, comfortable, clean and had everything we needed in the way of linen, cleaning, and water. Jessica, Mark and Carlos provided excellent advice and service in arranging a number of tours which were all excellent - zip line, horseback riding, native village, waterfall, to mention a few, as well as information on national park tours etc. They arranged our four day tour to Panama, and on their advice, we stayed in a hostel for the first time on the quiet and laid back island of Basimento. Their suggestions for tours there were excellent. On our return to Costa Rica, we were delighted to find a beautiful bouquet of local flowers at our home in recognition of our wedding anniversary. We purchased bikes (which they purchased at a reasonable price when we left) since they suggested it would be better value for us given our long stay. The distance from Playa Cocles (where we were located) to the larger centre of Puerto Viejo is 3kms; to Manzanillo is 9kms. We biked this area many times. We ate at many of the cafes and restaurants and all were excellent. Suggest you try the Ocean Cafe in Puerto Viejo as they are very personable, and they provide healthy food (for example, using olive oil). Grocery stores are well stocked, and the many road-side fresh food vendors were excellent.
The area described is laid back, and the local people are helpful and friendly. We had a great time and highly recommend Caribe Town and their managed homes. Please see the comments of Patti Gordanier for her excellent comments.
Peggy and Rick Genest, Saskatoon, Saskatchewn, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard and Peg... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Rick and Peggy-
After 9 weeks together, you almost feel like family. Thanks for the great Skip-Bo matches and conversations. You are missed here in the jungle and we hope to someday meet your whole beautiful family. Sending you pura vida and best wishes always!!
Jessica, Marc and Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The cabana was comfortable although it only got cleaned twice in 8 nights. The breakfast was good and coffee was ready each morning. The manager was somewhat upset when we booked a tour through another agency. We did express our interests but did not receive input into suitable tours or contacts. We very much enjoyed the visiting acupuncturist. It's well located for beach access but barking dogs throughout the night brought down the peaceful atmosphere.

Room Tip: the hostel had great ceramic courtyard and hammocks. Plus they had good tour help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garydrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Hola Janet and Gary-
We had a great time with you here and truly enjoyed your ukulele concerts and conversation! Marc is getting close to learning your favorite song "Bottle of Wine" and really appreciated you helping him string his guitar.
We're sorry to hear there were some things less than perfect for your vacation. I do have to correct you though, as your bungalow was cleaned everyday (swept, trash changed, bathrooom washed down, etc..) and your sheets and towels changed twice weekly as described in the Information Book in your room.
Although we are not a tour company, as a service to our guests, tours are offered on our website, in the Information Book in the rooms and in the tour center in the main house. Its too bad you didn't feel offered tours or we didn't hear about what you needed.
When you booked a tour with a separate provider and the afternoon before your tour needed assistance, I was under the impression I happily contacted the tour provider to clarify what was included, got you the bus schedules and assisted with ordering a taxi and only made the note that the tours we book onsite always include transportation to avoid that kind of hassle for our guests. I do apologize if somehow I seemed upset, although this was surely not the case from my side.
Thank you for your review, we try to improve everyday and appreciate all thoughts. If you decide to come back and visit us, we will ensure you have the attention you need!
Pura vida,
Jessica, Marc and Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Jessica, Carlos and Mark were very gractious and accomodating! They are available for you 24/7 and no request is too big or too small. Our bungalow was very comfortable and clean. It is just off of the main house but because of all of the jungle foliage, you felt like you were completely secluded! I personally always felt very safe once on Caribe Town property which was very important. Excurisions were great. We did the river rafting on the way from San Jose to Puerto Viejo. That was a blast! We also did the jungle excursion which was awesome. Not for the timid, you will zip line, hike, rappel, swing, etc. It was amazing and the guides were very knowledgable about the jungle. Food was amazing up and down the coast!!!! Unfortunately, my husband and I caught the "bug" that was going around down there and were laid up for a couple of days. Nothing that a little beach time couldn't cure. I couldn't recommend this enough if you want to get away from the all-inclusive rut ;-) Thanks again Jessica & Carlos & Mark (and sorry again about having to wake you up Jessica when we locked ourselves out!!!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayDor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Hey guys!
We're so glad you were able to enjoy your vacation with us, despite getting sick! Happy to hear you are well now and got to enjoy our piece of paradise. Please come back and visit us soon!
Pura vida,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

What a beautiful addition to our break from winter! Thank you Jessica, Marcos and Carlos.
Awesome, ever changing facility. Everyone felt like family and interacted as one. Jessica has added several surrounding properties to her managment portfolio. Offering an even larger variety to fit travelers needs. Someone is available 24/7 to make check-ins and issues a breeze. More than just a place to stay, once you've booked online, short of holding your hand and leading you around, they can take care of most every need from arriving in Costa Rica to returning home. They know all the " must see" and " have to eat here" places and can make those arrangements too.
My " must do" recommendation would be for you to not miss an acupuncture and massage by Helen, and get it early in your stay because you'll want to see her again. My rotator cuff hasn't felt this good in ages.
If you are looking for glitz, glamor and high end catering, youll be disappionted.
This entire side of the country is rain forest, there's no shortage of animals to see,things to do and places to explore. It's a freindly,calm,relaxed, simple life with local people. Communicating is not a huge problem and everywhere we went people where more than happy to help out. Many facility owners are ex-pats. from english speaking countries. I'd love to be one someday:)
Caribe Town Resort and affiliated properties are clean, well kept, comfortable, affordable,and family and pet friendly. There's no shortage of freindly,local dogs that are eager to adopt you for short walks no matter where you are so you won't miss leaving Rover at home in his familiar flea and tick free surroundings.
Bikes are available at the facility, taxis are cheap, buses are inexpensive easy access and car / motorbike rentals are also available to go anywhere you want to be.
You can walk safely for miles on the beach in either direction. Depending on the time of year, rip tide can be a bit disconcerting but the water is always warm and inviting. There's lots of calm pool eddies to just float in with fish and wild life.
There isn't enough room to talk about the food in any of the local restaurants, all I can say is, " you won't be disappointed". Breakfast every morning was a great start to the day. Once Carlos figures out what eggs Benedict is, I'm sure he'll try his hand at it :) ( inside smile).
Thank you everyone for helping this be on my " best ever" list.
Definitely a " must go" , " have to return" place if you're considering a relaxed trip to Costa Rica

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyGordanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We recently stayed in the offsite casita at Caribe Town for the second time. This is a great, unique site (actually has an enclosed open-air courtyard) that brings the jungle into your living space. A brand new mattress made for a very cozy night's sleep. The second floor balcony affords a great view of the tree tops and surrounding area, once they add a hammock, it will be perfection. We really enjoyed a night time rain that made the tin roofs sing, it was wonderful. We enjoyed breakfast several mornings with lots of choices and it included some of Carlos' great onion hot sauce (yummy). And, yes, Carlos, I did go home and make some, thanks for the recipe. They are adding another property (Casa Gecko) which looks fabulous. Jessica, Mark and Carlos are great hosts and accommodate your every need. The swim up bar and pool are a great refreshment from the sun. Nicely situated near restaurants and a grocery store/liquor store nearby. Don't hesitate to try any of their accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verycoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Hola hola!
Its such a great compliment to have people that love it here so much they keep wanting to come back!! Thanks for making the trip again and we sure hope to see you both next year. Sending Pura vida from paradise!
Jessica, Marc and Carlos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range: £83 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing