We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hammocks and swings”
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Hammocks and swings”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our groups stayed for three days in caribe town and it was nothing short of amazing. I'm not sure Jessica knows the word no. Can you cut up this fruit we picked off the trees for breakfast? "Yes" can you do our laundry even though we are leaving in 3 hours? "Sure thing" can I ring the bell at any time to ask for some other silly thing? "You bet!"
The food was also amazing. Homemade banana bread, French toast, pancakes and eggs. And man are eggs delicious in Costa Rica!
But maybe my favorite thing was the hammock for each bungalow and the hanging swings found around the grounds. Nothing says relaxing in Costa Rica like rocking on a hammock.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Gee_Eee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    66
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
147
235
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

...because we enjoyed it so much I'm not quite sure how to put it into words. Jessica and Marcos were amazing hosts, such a pleasure to be a guest in their establishment. I enjoyed chatting with them here and there (they're always on the run making sure everything is perfect), they are genuinely interesting and wonderful people to be around.

My husband and I booked the bungalow with the a.c unit and on a couple of humid nights we were very thankful for it! The bungalows are located in the back of the resort nestled into the beautiful jungle greenery (kept lovely by Marcos), they come with a cute little porch area with outdoor seating and a hammock. Inside the room are two beds, a tv, and in ours an a.c unit. The room was always clean and felt very private. We spent most of our time outside of the room but it was very comfortable.

The main area is really lovely with plenty of seating for all of the guests, hammock chairs (those were my favorite to relax in), a bar where they'll make drinks on request, a shared kitchen where you can cook dinner if you'd like, a pretty little pool that backs the bar, and a pool area to bask in the sun. Also an outdoor shower, two very clean bathrooms, and a hidden little "spa" area where you can get a massage. My only regret is that I didn't book one!

Jessica will help you book anything and everything from shuttles to excursions to spa days. Everything was extremely simple with her help, and that is really important especially if you don't know the area or the language! They're always available to call you a taxi or get you a beer. Breakfast is included and comes with homemade jelly, which is so good! They'll even do your laundry for a small price.

They also provide bikes to rent daily or weekly. We rented two bikes for the week and it was such a fun way of getting around. The beach is just across the street and through some jungle (accessible via gravel or dirt roads). Puerto Viejo is about a 5 min cab ride away, where you have a strip of shops, restaurants, bars and beautiful beach area. The Jaguar Rescue is a 5 min bike ride, literally just down the street and a must go to! Manzanillo is less then a 15 min cab ride away and in between is Playa Chiquita, Punta Uva, and Playa Grande...all surrounded by beautiful jungle, wildlife, beaches, and with some restaurants and shops nestled here and there.

Jessica and Marcos can be as involved as you want/need them to be. They cater very well to each guest. We never felt pressured nor did we ever feel ignored, we honestly felt right at home the entire time.

I would highly highly recommend Caribe Town, it is a gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaAHinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and host your honeymoon. We're so glad you loved it here like we do and we hope to see you again soon! Pura vida!
Jessica and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My best friend Jessica and I just got back from Cocles, and Caribe Town. We had an amazing stay, the breakfast was the perfect start to each morning before we took a very short ride to a number of beaches. My friend said the jam was the best thing she ate while in Costa Rica. The owners are beyond helpful, and were more then happy to answer any questions we had about the hotel as well as our travel and trip in general. If I get the chance to go back, I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
We loved your adventurous spirit! Glad you enjoyed our breakfast and our jams...we love being a bit "hippie" and making as much as we can ourselves and from rducts grown at the hotel. Come back and visit! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I loved this place for our honeymoon. They made it so special for us. Would highly recommend it for couples or anyone else. Great breakfast, great people, great accommodations, can't go wrong. I hope we can make it back someday.

Room Tip: We loved our romantic center bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I actually was not a guest of Caribe Town, but I may as well have been. I stayed up the road in a very bare-minimum rental unit for twenty days. My mother and I traveled together without any real plans in mind or any idea of what we'd do once we got to Costa Rica. Our first day we were without means of communication until we met Marc and Jessica. Meeting them saved our trip in so many ways. They were the first to make us feel welcome in Puerto Viejo, allowing us internet access to communicate with our families, use of telephone, laundry services, breakfast, drinks, recycling, bike rentals... you name it. Such incredibly friendly and accommodating hosts to people who were not even their hotel guests. They really gave us the "inside scoop" to Puerto Viejo, all of the little known secrets to making the most out of your time and experiences. We appreciated this very much living on our incredibly limited budgets. Undoubtedly, one of the best aspects of this hotel is the friendly and helpful services provided by Marc and Jessica. The next best attribute is the lovely, well-maintained gardens. After several hikes and bike rides throughout the town I was able to see more wildlife from this property than any other place I'd visited while in Costa Rica. For nature lovers, look no further than your own front porch. I was able to see large blue morpho butterflies, a baby green iguana, green poison dart frogs, red-eyed tree frog eggs, monkeys, sloths, and a variety of beautiful birds including toucans.

If you are looking for a home-like, friendly, well-advised experience I highly recommend Caribe Town.

Room Tip: Grab a unit with AC, the jungle can be quite hot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmltvrn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
It was our pleasure to meet you and your mom and we are so glad you enjoyed our space and our services. We really do love our jobs and it was great to be able to share our corner of paradise with you for a while and learn from you both as well. Pura vida and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at Caribe Town from June 14-20 and it was nothing short of amazing. The Caribbean coast is absolutely stunning and the atmosphere is filled with the laid back attitude that only a beach community can achieve, I've never been so relaxed in all my life. We stayed in two cabins on the property that Jessica and Marc manage, upon our arrival Jessica told us to just let her know if we needed anything and she wasn't kidding, at one point she crawled under our deck to replace the gas tank for the oven. But really my review started before we even arrive, traveling with 7 people tends to lead to some challenges but Jessica was wonderful with communication before we arrived, answering any and all questions we had, arranging transportation for us and greeting us when we rolled in at 11pm. We also explored the surrounding towns via bikes, adorable and the best way to do it- you'll see what I mean when you get there. The beach was a short walk down the "driveway" -90 second walk at the most. That beach some nasty rip tides (but beautiful sunrises) so we hung out at the pool on the property or rode our bikes up to Punta Uva one day (do that!) We didn't arrive with much of a plan so when we wanted to do something Jessica was there setting up everything or giving suggestions- we went snorkeling one day, visited the animal refuge down the road, got chocolate facials and checked out some restaurants in town- Cafe Rojo & Tammar's (sp?) -great food and drink. There is a little convenience shop within walking distance with produce, alcohol and packaged food/ingredients- we made most of our meals ourselves (budget and all) didn't ever have a problem with utensils or storage, all provided!
My bit about this area- if you're looking for Americanize luxury you're not going to find it here. This is Costa Rica at it's finest, there are bugs, there are animals, there are noises- soak it all in- it's beautiful- who gets to hear monkeys in the morning on a day to day basis? We were working in clinics in the central valley 3 weeks prior to our arrival at Caribe Town where we heard some rumblings of safety issues in the area. I'm a woman in my mid 20s who speaks very broken Spanish and at no point did I feel unsafe. Would I walk around by myself at night? No, but I wouldn't do that anywhere. It's definitely a bunch of old and young surfers, can you find nicer people then that? But I digress.
Finally, besides having a bar and lots of fresh fruit for spiked (or non) smoothies; for a small cost Jessica and Marc will make you breakfast- not only is Costa Rican coffee to die for, the homemade bread and jam they made is delicious. I could have lived on that stuff alone.
When we left at 6am on our departure dates Marc was there seeing us off. They truly have the balance of "being around but not always around" mastered, which i think it super important for a B&B atomsphere. I hope you choose to check this spot out! I really do feel like I discovered a hidden gem in paradise.

Oh PS being fluent is spanish is always a plus but it's pretty tourist orientated there and you can certainly get by well enough- cervazas, gracias,pura vida - you're set.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycee817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We have the best jobs in the world...even when it means crawling under a house in the evening to change gas. So happy you enjoyed it here, please come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It was my first time in Costa Rica and a friend had recommended visiting Puerto Viejo so I started looking up accommodations and this place had some of the best reviews for the price. My boyfriend and I booked a week here in late June. Their website was very helpful in checking the availability of rooms. We just missed getting a room with a king; we got the room with a double and a twin, which worked out just fine. Upon our arrival Jessica and Marco were there to give us a warm welcome and get us oriented on the place. It looked just like the photos, with beautiful plants everywhere and a new frog pond that Marco had put in. We actually rescued a green and black poison dart frog from the pool, which was exciting! Our bungalow was clean and comfortable, and we felt right at home. There was no closet, and while there were some built-in shelves, some wall hooks would've been nice. Our room didn't have AC, but we did have a ceiling fan, and since this was their rainy season the temperature was just right for us. At night we could hear the pounding surf across the street and insect noises from the jungle all around--we thought it was very cool.

We also really enjoyed Jessica's home-cooked breakfasts every morning; it was always eggs, chorizo, toast (with homemade jam), and fruit, but you can definitely customize the way you want your eggs and what kind of fruit you prefer, etc. The coffee was always hot and fresh and it was a great way to start the day. Planning tours and activities was a breeze; we'd just tell Jessica what we wanted to do and she'd make the arrangements with the local tour operators and all the transportation was included, which was great. During our stay we did ziplining, white water rafting and kayaking and had a fantastic time. We also visited the Jaguar Rescue animal sanctuary nearby, which was a great way to see some of the native animals up close. On more relaxing days we'd just walk along the beach to town or just hang out on our porch in the hammocks and read. Pretty good wifi connection here, too--we were able to do all our computing stuff with no problems.

Since this was their low season there weren't that many people at one time and it was pretty quiet, which we liked. We weren't looking for a raucous party scene and we appreciated Caribe Town's low-key charms. They made our stay in Costa Rica pleasant, fun, and stress-free--what more can you ask from a vacation?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We were glad to have you. net time you have to come back over the weekend and for breakfast you can also try our pancakes or french toast with homemade syrup or gallo pinto, the local Costa Rican specialty! We would be happy to see you again. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,020 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Property: Caribe Town
Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing