We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The other places must be Really bad then”
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The other places must be Really bad then”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I've researched for a long time and this B&B was the best in the area according to reviews. I have nothing to compare it with, so I will just list the pros and cons:
Pros:
1. Parking lot inside the gate
2. Rooms are separate bungalows
3. Quiet places surrounded by beautiful garden
Cons:
1. Synthetic bed linen and towel(I've never slept on nylon sheets before and now I understand why they are so cheap) You sweat like a pig and they smell too. They are brown which matches the decor, but it is also very convenient to hide stains. I suggest the owners make a trip to San Jose Price Smart and get Egyptian cotton 600-thread count sheet set for $40 a pop. That will earn them some positive reviews for sure. Same goes for the towels.
2. The shower is heated by a head heater unit with a very low capacity. You need to use a very slow water flow to get something remotely lukewarm out of it. It might be due to old electric wiring and this is the only thing the wires could handle. I understand that. Just pointing it out.
3. The breakfast is just eggs(scrambled or sunny side up, no omelette), toast and 2 pieces of fruit, tea or coffee. If I were the owner I'd add something to it, at least an omelette with some cheese and veggies. It's not that expensive, you can use the same tomato to feed 5 people.

Overall: It's an ok place for the price. I would just change some things.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHE4EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    65
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
143
234
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for 18 days and it was the best vacation we have ever had. Jessica and Marc are the most honest, hardworking and helpful people you could ever meet. We have traveled extensively and this was our first time to Costa Rica. We were a little nervous but it turned out to be everything we had hoped for and more!! There is nothing negative that can be said about this place, even the other guests were great and felt the same way. The amount of care and interest they show in their guests and in their property is outstanding. Anything you wanted to do or know about, they were there for you but at the same time, they respected and understood your privacy and "alone times". We are already planning another trip back in February to stay there as it was totally awesome. Super close to a gorgeous beach, a vibrant yet peaceful town, and great dining and diversity is just a short walk or bicycle ride away. Perfect location, perfect resort and perfect hosts that make you feel like family............can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson Island, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Jes and Marc continue to make improvements to the property. The gardens have always been beautiful but the addition of so many new plants have made them even more interesting and we saw many new birds, butterflies and dragonflies on this visit. As always, they went above and beyond to make sure that we had a great time. Whether suggesting interesting places to dine, or booking sea-kayaking or zip-line adventures, they were knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachWalker5A4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent two nights in Casa Colibri and had a great time. We are a family of 5 and can't say enough about the hospitality of Jessica and Marc. Not only are they super friendly but they are very willing to do what it takes to take good care of their guests. The location is great--quiet setting but very close to a lovely beach. We live in Costa Rica and will come back for sure. Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asunción, Central, Paraguay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hosts and owners really show their care for their livelihood and their guests! However, if you are less of a hotel tourist, you should know, the cheaper bungalows do not have aircon. They do not come with toiletries such as bath soap or shampoo. You will have to ask for wash cloths and there is no storage space to unpack your luggage. But, all you have to do is plan ahead or ask. In this way, we got separate towels for the beach and the washcloths we needed. The breakfast was made to order and was a delicious start to the day! Everyone knew a lot about the surrounding area and was able to guide us as well as rent us bikes to explore. If you don't have a car, you will be walking about 5-15 min to hit various types of eateries. The lovely common area with simple kitchen and beautiful pool give extra space for relaxation. But truly, your hosts make your visit, their kindness and attention is top notch!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Puerto Viejo area are cheapest in the town itself which also has the most and easiest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We're glad we were able to help you with what you needed! We DO listen to our guests and today, we installed shampoo and soap dispensers in the showers of the bungalows. We appreciate all feedback..next for plans...more places to store bags and clothing :) We hope you come back to visit us to see the progress we work hard on every day and thank you so much for your valuable feedback! Pura vida,
Jessica and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Caribe Town is perfectly located, close to Cocles and Punta Uva beaches and to the town of Puerto Viejo. Marc and Jessica make sure that your stay is perfect. Highly recommend Caribe Town for your caribbean get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alenscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
It has been a pleasure to host you, your friends, your family, your puppy, everyone you have reccomended come to us! We look forward to your next visit and meeting more of your terrific circle of friends. Pura vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at caribe town for 9 nights unfortunatly we had to leave earlier than we had planned, we loved staying at caribe town!
Jessica and marc went above and beyond to make our stay amazing and theyvmade you feel like part of the family would highly recommend staying here, so close to beach and lovely restaurants.
The bungalows were lovely and clean. We would love to return in the future.
Lisa and Ryan

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Property: Caribe Town
Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing