We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Accommodating”
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We Chose Caribe Town for three days before moving up the coast to Playa Negra, just north or Puerto Viejo. I definitely felt the dedication and hard work that Jessica and Marc have put into their bungalow hotel. We stayed in Bungalow #3, which came with a king sized bed, a ceiling fan, and a decently hot shower. Each Bungalow also has a nice sized porch with a couple of chairs and a hammock. I would say that the screening was 98% effective in keeping critters out.

The location is a few kilometers south of the many places to shop and eat in Puerto Viejo. Easy enough if you have a bike. You can rent one from Caribe Town ($5 i think) and if they are sold out, then there is also a place to rent them almost right across the main street at the seamstress shop. Nice couple.

There are only 5 or so places to walk to for dinner - unless you like to walk a kilometer or so. Two of our best dinners were at the Argentinian place (in the garden), and the Italian place (set back from the road slightly) right there in Cocles. Fantastic!

Back to Caribe Town - During our stay, the place was full; but we never experienced a delay in our morning breakfasts (which were made to order) or in the service that Jessica and Marc provided. They were able to give us good exchange rates, provide plenty of local knowledge, and got us booked on a full day excursion out to the Bri Bri on a drop of a hat. The Massages were not cheap, but Nancy was nice and apparently the bamboo treatment worked wonderfully on my fiancee.

There are a LOT of hotels along the beaches in this area. It is hard to stand out. I feel that Caribe Town does a good job of providing a sense of security within their property, the privacy of being in your own building, and a small community in meeting people at breakfast or hanging out at the pool after a day of travels.

I can't give 5 stars because of the weed whacker that woke us up at 7am. Granted, it was not the gardener on the Hotel property, but the property next door - which happened to be right outside our Cabin. There was also an access road very close by, which - when a car drove by, sounded like it was going to run us over when we were in bed. I understand Jessica and Marc have no control over this, but still... they exist.

Room Tip: #3 was furthest away from the main area, but also close to neighboring property/road. Had ceiling fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LumpyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at the Caribe Town for 3 days after a long tour around Central America.
Very nice and light house, 5 min away from beautiful beach and 20 min on bike to town with restaurants and souvenir shops.
Nice pool - but didn't check it myself. Excellent breakfast!
Massage is ok but a little bit pricey...
Jessica and Marc really love what they do and you can feel it everywhere! When I come back for sure I'm staying here again!

Room Tip: Natural light in rooms: during the day it's full of light and you have no curtains to make it da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My friend and I booked Casa Colibri at Caribe Town only to find that the second bedroom required going outside and around the house to get in and through a locked door---it's a dank basement room, and going to the bathroom in the middle of the night would be very cumbersome. The original description I saw on the website did not mention this (and now the descriptions don't seem to be there...not sure why). Also, the place had a septic smell that kept us up the first night (turned out to be rotten feather pillows unnoticed by management) and in general, a shabby feel to it. We thought you could do much better for the price in the area. Jessica was helpful at first but when we had issues with the place she was very hard to deal with, and a promised refund took weeks and a formal dispute with the credit card company before it came through. Can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Came in ---electricity in room didn't work initially to my recollection, hot water was iffy until Marc showed us how--Jessica was pleasant--not my favorite place--great that right next door to Jaguar Rescue (no jaguars, but fun place). Howler monkeys going on at night so you know you're near the jungle.More in between 3 1/2 stars but since there is no such thing on Trip Advisor, I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criticdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hola Dan-
We're sorry to hear your stay with us was "Just ok". Just a little point...the electricity was working just fine, the AC and fans were on, it was only the chain for the light of the fan that was off and just needed to be pulled. We were never sure what was the problem with the shower as when you asked us for help on this Marc turned the water on and it was hot without any further adjustments. We thought perhaps we did more than Just ok, helping you with a smile three times on Christmas night in your one night stay, as also when your wife couldn't open the door we assisted, as she was not using the correct one out of 3 keys on the chain.
We hope you always have happy travels and if you return to our area please try us again and we'll have the lights in the right position and can mark the keys for easier use :)
Pura vida!
Jessica and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Caribe Town is a wonderful intimate little resort in the lush rainforest, yet steps from the beautiful Caribbean Sea. We stayed in a two bedroom house in a private location. New mattresses made for wonderful sleep listening to the jungle sounds. The owners Jessica and Marc are friendly and willing to help with information and help with booking shuttles or tours. Quite a rustic atmosphere and the way to enjoy Costa Rican rainforest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The location is just great. I loved the organic homemade breakfast. Sleeping in the jungle and waking up with the sounds of the rainforest was just.great. Loved the place a lot. You can also rent.bikes which you have to ride in a Caribbean style but that is what it is about when staying in Costa Rica. La Pura Vida

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimiilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Jessica and Marc were fantastic hosts. Very knowledgeable and helpful. Quiet and tranquil but town and beach nearby. Nice breakfast. Don't know when I am able to return to Costa Rica but when I do Caribe Town Resort will be on the top of the list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,062 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range: £80 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing