We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tropical Setting”
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
“Perfect Tropical Setting”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a short visit to Puerto Viejo and stayed one night at Caribe Town. We loved the place, it was clean, quiet, and the setting was oh so tropical. Cute bunglows with lush green plants and trees along the walk ways, just beautiful. Jessica greeted us with a warm welcome and the ambience of the place was relaxing and laid back. We did not want to leave and seriously considered staying but we were on a tight schedule and had to leave before breakfast the next day. As soon as we were on the road, we start planning when we would come back. That is how impressed we were.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    66
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
147
235
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent 4days at this lovely place and it was the best choice! Marc and Jessica are so kind and friendly people. They organized our beautiful wedding on the beach, flowers,horses,dinner - the most romantic moment in our lifes. Thank you so much,we will never forget!
Ps: the bed was sooooo comfortable! ;)

Room Tip: Every bungalow is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliska86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The rooms were clean and accurate, attitude superb and also the location is nice. The sea is just across the street. Maybe I would have cleaned the therritory more as I got the feeling of national park (with no permit to pick up any fallen leave) while walking from room to room. But anyway, it was nice to be there. Recommend. We took a bikes and cycled a bit around the town and it seemed that we have made the best hotel choice in there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was my boyfriend & I's first trip to Costa Rica, and we decided on Caribe Town based on the reviews. We booked the family suite, and were very happy with the accommodations.
Here were our experiences with the following:

Marc & Jessica: what a lovely couple! We were greeted immediately upon arrival, and they were both very friendly and helpful. We had some questions about tours/things to do/places to eat in the area, and Jessica was very knowledgeable and recommended some great places. They also will make you a great breakfast - eggs, toast & homemade jam, local chorizo and fresh tropical fruits. Of course, there is also coffee!

The place: has very home-y feel. It has a bar, salt water pool and a common area you can chill out in. The pool was refreshing for a quick dip, and whenever we wanted a beverage all we had to do was ask. There is also a communal kitchen to use (if you are not staying in a cabin with its own), with dishes and everything you need. We ended up buying a few things, and it was nice to have a place to put them. You can also rent bikes if you'd like, as many of the locals use them for transportation.

Our room: was very clean, and the a/c kept the temperature very pleasant. We were able to access the wifi from here, which was an added bonus. The bathroom was also very clean, and we had no issue with water temperature after Jessica explained how it worked.

The area: is very nice. There are plenty of local restaurants (or "sodas") to eat at, as well as a phenomenal animal rescue right down the road. Check it out! Puerto Viejo is 3 km down the road, where you can catch a good meal/surf/shop/people watch. If you have the time, there is a Sloth Sanctuary 30 km away that is also well worth a visit.

We plan on visiting Costa Rica again, and we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

First of all: Mark and Jessica are doing a really good job and they are super kind.
I went there with my two chihuahuas and it was perfect for them too!!
I rented the new bungalow and it's fantastic. Beautifully finished. All wood. Beautiful kitchen. Nice bathroom. Comfortable mattress. All perfectly clean. The breakfast ok.
It's really well situated just in front of a fantastic beach. Near a lot of other awesome beaches, good restaurants and a beautiful wildlife rescue center.
I will definitely come back!!!!
Totally recommended!
Espero de verlos pronto!
Un saludo de Manuela and Kris

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMarinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This review is LONG overdue! We stayed there back at the end of Sept/2013 during the dry season. We originally booked a house but due to dry season the chances of water were slim. However, instead of not letting us know, Jessica reserved a bungalow for us which is connected to a larger water well. We opted to go with the Bungalow, which worked out great!

They were wonderful and provided excellent service! The hotel is located right by the beach about a 2 min walk away. We had an excellent time and would stay there again when we come back to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We Chose Caribe Town for three days before moving up the coast to Playa Negra, just north or Puerto Viejo. I definitely felt the dedication and hard work that Jessica and Marc have put into their bungalow hotel. We stayed in Bungalow #3, which came with a king sized bed, a ceiling fan, and a decently hot shower. Each Bungalow also has a nice sized porch with a couple of chairs and a hammock. I would say that the screening was 98% effective in keeping critters out.

The location is a few kilometers south of the many places to shop and eat in Puerto Viejo. Easy enough if you have a bike. You can rent one from Caribe Town ($5 i think) and if they are sold out, then there is also a place to rent them almost right across the main street at the seamstress shop. Nice couple.

There are only 5 or so places to walk to for dinner - unless you like to walk a kilometer or so. Two of our best dinners were at the Argentinian place (in the garden), and the Italian place (set back from the road slightly) right there in Cocles. Fantastic!

Back to Caribe Town - During our stay, the place was full; but we never experienced a delay in our morning breakfasts (which were made to order) or in the service that Jessica and Marc provided. They were able to give us good exchange rates, provide plenty of local knowledge, and got us booked on a full day excursion out to the Bri Bri on a drop of a hat. The Massages were not cheap, but Nancy was nice and apparently the bamboo treatment worked wonderfully on my fiancee.

There are a LOT of hotels along the beaches in this area. It is hard to stand out. I feel that Caribe Town does a good job of providing a sense of security within their property, the privacy of being in your own building, and a small community in meeting people at breakfast or hanging out at the pool after a day of travels.

I can't give 5 stars because of the weed whacker that woke us up at 7am. Granted, it was not the gardener on the Hotel property, but the property next door - which happened to be right outside our Cabin. There was also an access road very close by, which - when a car drove by, sounded like it was going to run us over when we were in bed. I understand Jessica and Marc have no control over this, but still... they exist.

Room Tip: #3 was furthest away from the main area, but also close to neighboring property/road. Had ceiling fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LumpyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,022 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Property: Caribe Town
Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing