We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit ...”
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Despite a hair-raising shuttle drive through the foggy mountain terrain, and some minor problems with the hot water supply in our cabin (which, though promptly repaired, quit working twice during our 10 day stay), we were very happy with our stay at Caribe Town. It's in a peaceful & beautiful garden/jungle setting, just a five minute walk from Playa Cocles, and not much further to some very nice restaurants and attractions (don't miss the 'Chocolate Experience' tour). Jessica and Marc go out of their way to make everything go smoothly and pleasantly, from the almost all-you-can-eat breakfast, keeping the rooms clean, to giving practical advice, arranging tours, reservations, taxis, etc, all done with a genuine smile, and goodhearted intentions. Better hosts would be hard to find.

Having nothing to do with the resort, the one disappointment with our trip to the Caribbean coast was the garbage issue. While it is picked up once per week, until that time, it's just piled by the side of the road every day, which means one can't walk anywhere without passing mounds of smelly trash and litter spread all over the place, once the animals have torn it apart. Having said that, the beaches were relatively clean. Thankfully, this did not appear to be a problem in San Jose. However, not yet having visited the pacific coast, I don't know if it's any better or worse there. Otherwise, Costa Rica is a paradise of flora, fauna, friendliness and all around fun. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

This review is a little late, but I stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights back in December. Jessica was such a gracious host and gave us so many great recommendations of where to eat and where to go. Every single place she recommended we loved so much. She really helped us have such an amazing first time experience in Costa Rica and especially on the Caribbean side. Every morning she cooked us a delicious home cooked breakfast with fresh fruit, eggs, coffee, and her delicious homemade jam! Still crave that jam today. We got the bungalow with air conditioning, but surprisingly did not really need it. It was nice to sleep without the noise of the air conditioning and hearing all the many sounds of the jungle. If you want a 5-star resort feel and service, this is not the place. In fact the Caribbean side is not the place. This area is a really small beach town, but it is so relaxing, fun and charming. There are so many beautiful beaches in this area and the townspeople are super friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were phenomenal at every place we ate. There are so many amazing things to do in this area, truly an unforgettable experience. We both loved it so much we cannot wait to go back, and when we do we will definitely stay at Caribe Town again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Have just returned from spending 5 weeks with Marc and Jessica at CaribeTown, couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable and relaxing holiday. Marc and Jessica are amazing and give everything they have to make sure all guests have the best and most memorable vacation possible.
The resort is very well kept and they are constantly striving to keep everything from the grounds and gardens to the rooms in tip top shape, to make your stay comfortable.
We stayed at an offsite properties across the road (Casa Gecko) and it was fantastic lots of covered outdoor living space and a recently added patio in the garden to enjoy your morning coffee with nature. Although we were offsite we still enjoyed all the amenities from the resort such as the bar area, the pool and of course the excellent standard of care that Marc and Jessica lavish on all guests. Although breakfast is not included with offsite properties everyone is welcome to enjoy the delicious fare for $5 which is well worth the price, and Sunday breakfast with Marcs wonderful rice and beans...what more can I say other than we will return to Caribe Town and Casa Gecko in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jot38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I would have given 4 1/2 stars. The only thing that didn't make the experience 100% correct were the jungle noises and the rain drops which were pretty noisy on the roof during night. But maybe it's just me - my wife could sleep through without problems.
On the other hand Marc and Jessica were absolutely fabulous , outstanding even within a vacation were we overall had great experience with accommodation staffs. Marc in particular was always available for a chat and useful tips and both were always welcoming us with great smiles and availability at any time.
I can recommend it. But if you are sensitive to noises bring a pair of earplugs along :-)

Andreas

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Caribe Town in July of 2013 (better late than never to write a review!) and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Costa Rica. We stayed at Caribe Town for 6 nights and 7 days and loved every second there. Jessica and Mark were extremely nice, accommodating (booked our taxi to and from the airport), set us up with the best excursions, cooked us the freshest, most delicious breakfast we had ever had, and were just awesome people to talk too.

When we arrived at Caribe Town, Jessica greeted us with the best welcome- she offered us beer after a long trip and to take our bags to our villa for us. Caribe Town is relaxing, has comfortable hammocks to nap and read in, has an amazing beach that you can surf and swim in right across the street, and is a short bike or taxi ride into town, and so close to other beaches. I wouldn't change anything about Caribe Town and we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A lovely place and well-managed.
Nice and clean bungalows, comfortable beds
The location -surrounded bij jungle- is superb; close to the beach and easy going without the noise of Puerto Viejo itself.
The owners Jessica and Marc understand the traveler's wishes and make you feel at home.
whatever it is you wish, they will try an do their best to help you. (even if you are feeling ill:).
The enthusiasm of running their b&b shows and you will have a good time and feel at home. Good people! If you are looking for a big resort this is not your place, but if you want to avoid the bigger resorts..this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent 3 nights in this place in house. Everything was super. House is big, kitchen full equiped. Jessica and Mark are very good and ready to help. Beach is 50 m from house. If I will be in future in Puerto Viejo, I will stay only there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kymen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range: £79 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing