We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Meets Beach”
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First things first - Jessica's coconut french toast... hello! So good. This place was great. Marc gave us a whole bunch of tips on things to do, places to eat, etc. Breakfast each morning was delicious and always different. Our bungalow was precious, tucked away amongst beautiful vegetation and nights were always quiet. Room was on the small side but very cozy. Shower took some getting used to - hot cold hot cold hot cold - but who cares! You're in paradise! ;) Beware of mosquitoes, we exterminated a few but had a mosquito net for the bed which helped us sleep more soundly. Our bungalow was guarded securely by several decent sized spiders and their webs. The pool looked awesome but we didn't go in. Just sitting at their bar & staring at it was good enough for us! Pretty close to the beach and some restaurants. Lots of people ride bikes but we had a car, great for driving into town. That would have been too far of a walk. They have bikes on their property but I guess they're all broken so Marc suggested we ask the bike rental place around the corner... we just took the car. Overall, we'd stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Myself, my husband and another couple stayed at Casa Gecko, a separate house managed by Caribe Town Resort, for two weeks. We were shuttled by a local, Marvin to the resort. Firstly, he was awesome and the start of our stay was off to a great start. When we arrived, Jessica was there to greet us before we exited the van. She escorted to our house which was located very close to the resort. We went to breakfast nearly every morning in the cozy dining area at Caribe Town Resort. Breakfast was delicious and filled our bellies. Jessica was extremely helpful and we booked a few tours through her. She also suggested several fantastic restaurants and called a taxi for us without hesitation. The trip to town did require a taxi or bike as the hike was quite long...well at least for us. The beach which we visited daily, was a short walk down the road. We had great fun in the waves. Our stay involved socializing with Marvin and his family quite often. He even made us a meal at his home and baked us a delicious cake for his birthday. Fabulous man!
Our stay at Casa Gecko and Caribe Town Resort was absolutely amazing. Loved it and hope to return someday!
Just want to send out a big thank you and many hugs to Jessica, Mark, Marvin, the staff and all the wonderful people we met on our travels. xxoo

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1241Ripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Caribe Town for two nights in early February 2014 and had a wonderful time. Jessica and Marc were very welcoming and were extremely helpful with tips about local restaurants, bike rentals, the nearby animal rescue centre, driving routes, etc.! We loved the privacy and jungle setting of our casita. The room was comfy and the patio was a great place to relax. The breakfasts were excellent, and we appreciated the common area with kitchen and fridge for guests to use. We found the architecture of the pool area and casitas really interesting and attractive. The location is perfect for exploring the area from Puerto Viejo to Manzanillo, and the great beaches at Cocles, Playa Chiquita and Punta Uva! We loved Caribe Town!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okanaganguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Beautiful, at night listen to the sounds of the ocean and the jungle all outside your window. Very clean and comfortable. They are so helpful! With transportation and restaurant recommendations. They even did my laundry, priced per load, but it was worth it! Getting to puerto viejo only took ten minutes in a taxi and another 15 minutes the other way from the resort is the most beautiful white sand beach, Punta Uva. Breakfast every morning for $5 but you eat until you're full. Would absolutely come back! Also, very rare to the area, hot water! Absolutely loved the outdoor patios. We even saw a sloth on the property in the tree in our yard one morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Jessica and Marc have a very special place and make you feel right at home. Caribe Town is located a short way south of Puerto Viejo in and area called Cocles. The beaches were better here, and there is a nice selection of restaurants and a super market within a short walk. We stayed for four nights and only ended up going into Puerto Viejo once. My wife and I were traveling with our one year old daughter. Jessica and Marc were super helpful and accommodating, even during the reservation process, suggesting alternatives to the room I had chosen. We stayed in Casa Pipa, directly across the driveway from the main resort, and it was wonderful. We could have stayed for much, much longer. The house had two bedrooms, a living room, bathroom, and kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, the area quiet at night. The whole place was super comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vashonfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived at Caribe Town with no itinerary from this point of our Costa Rican journey on. Jessica and Marc dived in and made sure we could do all the things on our must see list! They were super helpful and almost able to read our minds. I should have known when on our way to our bungalow, Marc stopped to show our 11 year old the resident sloth. Our bungalow was great, very clean and far away from the action that we were only awoken by birds and howler monkeys but close enough in that we were able to enjoy a brilliant $5.00 breakfast after a 1 minute walk. The breakfast area is very friendly and we were able to meet some very interesting people. We can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyTravelers654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at CASA GECKO for 3 weeks in January, 2014. The moment we arrived and were greeted by Marc and Jessica and shown to the house I knew this was my idea of heaven. I was looking for a rental surrounded by nature, very clean, well equipped, comfortable beds, safe and close to the beach. CASA GECKO AT CARIBE TOWN MET MY EVERY NEED. The house was clean, well kept up and well equipped. We enjoyed cooking most of our meals, but did enjoy many breakfasts with Jessica and Marc at Caribe Town just 2 min. down the road. Jessica's homemade pineapple-ginger jam was amazing as was the homemade bread every morning. On Sundays, Marc made his rice and beans and was the best I had ever tasted. Everything about the holiday was excellent. Jessica and Marc are there to help with booking tours or even just a cab to town. This is a wonderful place to go and relax. Swim in the ocean just across the road or in the salt water pool at Caribe Town while having a cold refreshing drink. What more could you need. With all the wonderful species of flowers and plants and of course the numerous kinds of birds and other animals, there is always something to watch. If I could, I would return every year, but will definitely be back many times. THANK YOU MARC AND JESSICA FOR A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY AND FOR ALL YOUR HELP AND INFORMATION.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing