We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Pecora Nera

La Pecora Nera
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We shared our plates starting with a special appetizer soup of chickpea, lentils and Swiss chard with shrimp. It was so good! We had the ricotta ravioli, also delicious. The special we tried was a crispy marlin fillet on grilled eggplant with a delicious tomato caper sauce. This came with a salad and small dishes of beets and carrots. Also there was a side of a wonderful potato dish. Many flavors, all of the great. Beautiful atmosphere, too. Gracious service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    76
    29
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beirut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We loved it ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The owner is a really nice guy. He stayed with us the whole dinner. Food was very good maybe a bit pricey but it was worth it since food isnt that good in costa rica.
Eat there if you are in cocles!

Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not so great for the family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've been here in years past and were not as impressed this time. The service was alright and the food was pretty good, but for the price it should have been a better experience. Perhaps it would have been better if we just went with adults, but for the family - we much preferred Amimodos.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charitywilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had an excellent 'degustazione' meal here for our 15th wedding anniversary. Illario cooked us an amazing selection of tasting plates, including wonderful homemade pasta, a delicious soup, a fish dish and seafood albondigas. So many flavours, we couldn't remember everything he described, but loved it all!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BevAskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperatriz, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really a surprising restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

It was an indication of the B&F ownwer and it was necessary a reservation due to is very crowded.The atmosphere is simple like should be at beach palces, but the food is remarkable.The owner is an Italian and very friendçy and talkative.
I had an amazing seafood spagheti and my with a fish with a red wine. Really one of the best seafood pasta I have had and surprisingly at smal beach place in Costa Rica.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vhilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pecora Nera also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to La Pecora Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing