We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Finca Chica
Nearby Hotels
US$221
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yare(Cocles)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$105
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$111
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Umami Hotel(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$129
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Escape Caribeno(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Indalo(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Maritza(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coco Loco Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
159
21
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
21
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin housethe main roadcomplete privacydefinitely stay here againjungle staycosta ricatropical settinghowler monkeysfew minutes walkcoffee makerevery morningsights and soundsthe perfect hostsatellite tvcocles beachlocation was perfectfelt very safe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and had a great time in Cocles. This location was ideal to explore this area of the country. We were able to visit National Parck Cahuita, Puerto Viejo and Gandoca-Manzanillo. We stayed in La Casita Chica, and we loved it. From our house we could spot a sloth (on a tree right above the house), iguanas and other lizards and birds: toucans and oropendolas. The owners, a Spanish expat and his wife, were helpful, accomodating and welcoming. We booked 4 nights, but we stayed 2 more nights. It goes without saying that we recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafaelviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I went there in july with my wife and 3 sons (including a 5 months baby). We stayed in casita del rio for two weeks, this house is even better in real than on website pictures.
The house was much bigger that we really need, but, for 100$ a day it doesnt matter.

We had a lot of privacy there, far enough from others casitas, so if kids were noisy it doesnt bother anyone. This house is really full-equiped : wide and complete kitchen, real hot water shower, satellite tv, strong and individual wi-fi, daily cleaning, and half of the first level is open air, in an amazing garden surrounding !

There's a good restaurant (Joanna`s) by walking 2 min. ,a nice and complete supermarket (5 min.) and a special swimming spot that combine soft and salty waters (10 min.)

The owner, Emilio, is wife, Jenny, and their kids are really nice people. On our first hour there, Emilio was already gone at the beach with my two older sons. Jenny and the kids came to one of my sons birthday party, we had a good time!

So, based on my experience, i can strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This place is just super awesome. The family that owns it is lovely and really helpful. We spent 2 weeks on our honeymoon and couldn't expect better than this. Nature all around, beautiful peacocks on the property, cutest little bungalows. Everything is clean, new and good looking. It's out of town which is perfect if you wanna be calm and have privacity. We also felt safe there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Back from our round trip to Bocas del Toro and Las Lajas in Panama we decided to spend our last nights somewhere in the CR caribbean coast. After some internet research we found this place near the town of Puerto Viejo and booked Casita del Rio a two bedroom (plus loft) cottage kind of a tree house. Once there we were grately surprised to find such a nice, clean and charming bungalow in such a beatiful and peaceful tropical setting. We had some amazing time at La Finca Chica, the house was fully equipped and we loved the outdoors open living plan. The gardens are gorgeous and we could watch the howler monkeys and toucans in the early mornings up in the trees next to our bungalow. Jenny, the owner, a beautiful young local lady, is extremely sympathetic and helpful and so were the rest of the staff. Special thanks to the cleaning ladies that would face with a smile our daily chaos and disorder. We enjoyed very much the beach near Finca Chica. Two small rivers come together to the ocean to form a natural whitewater lagoon right on the beach. We also found very convenient the grocery store located within walking distance from Finca Chica. We had a big blast and will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Casita del Rio is an excellent choice when travelling with friends and/or kids.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christih85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We booked La Finca Chica for the last week of our round trip through Costa Rica. It was a great stay. Our house was the 2 person bungalow. It was daily cleaned and beds were ok. The room is simple, the kitchen is decently equipped (Water Boiler, Toaster, Blender, Coffee maker, stove, fridge). There are some animals walking around. The rooster is locked up, so it didn't bother me in the early morning :).

Service was particularly good. The owners really like having their guests and were very helpful in finding the way around. We got some fruit samples from their own garden.

La Finca Chica is located a bit out of town, so rental bikes or a rental car are recommended. The good part is that the nicest beach in the neighbourhood (Punta Uva) is also twice as close as it would be when staying in Puerto Viejo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joost_vanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews