We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of La Finca Chica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Finca Chica
Ranked #3 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in House 4 for nine days in October.

The house was very clean and the grounds were well maintained. The wooden floors and furniture were just like the pictures - clean, smooth, not scratched or damaged. The caretaker took off his shoes before walking on the terrace floor. The cooking pots were stainless steel and nearly new condition. In my experience this is rare in self-catering accommodations.

There were NO MOSQUITOES at La Finca Chica in October when we were there. We did not have to try the mosquito nets. The mosquitoes would have found me and bitten me if they were there. I received many bites during the guided hike near Manzanillo.

SERVICE: Jenny promptly answered our email questions both before and after we had booked. She arranged private transportation directly from the airport. Since our flight arrived at 9 in the evening, we arrived at La Finca Chica around 1 AM. We were greeted as soon as we drove in, provided with a flashlight, and shown to our house. It was very nice to wake up there in the morning to jungle sounds instead of at an airport hotel. Due to a family emergency we did not meet our hosts in person but the staff took good care of us.

PRIVACY: From the terrace we could not see the other houses. We occasionally saw people walking past to the one house beyond ours. We did not hear voices from the other houses. We did occasionally hear music.

LOCATION: We were very pleased with our choice, keeping in mind that we were more interested in peaceful relaxation than nightlife. There is a bus stop right where the lane meets the main road and buses to Punta Uva or Manzanillo and the other way to Puerto Viejo came every couple of hours and cost 600 colones per person. The supermarket was also very close and turned out to have a good selection once we got used to it. We enjoyed Cocles beach. The waves, when we were there, were about right for beginners learning to surf. I was surprised by how warm they felt when they washed over me. The Jaguar Rescue Center is a 1 km walk from La Finca Chica. Caribeans Chocolate is about a kilometer in the other direction and a great place to stop on the walk back from town, just before taking a dip at the beach.

NOTE ABOUT TRANSPORTATION: Though we were glad that we had arranged for private transportation to La Finca Chica on our arrival at the airport, we were also pleased with the public bus that we took for the return. It was about $10 each and offered a good chance to see the countryside. The afternoon and evening in the center of San Jose far exceeded our expectations. We took the $1 TUASA bus to the airport and found it to be very convenient. We decided not to pay the premium of paying our departure tax at the hotel and this turned out to be a good choice, as there was no lineup at the counter when we arrived at the airport at 11 AM.

Negative: This is not directly related to La Finca Chinca, but about the area in general. The garbage, as it waits on the side of the road for weekly collection, becomes messy and smelly and is scattered by the black vultures. It is not terrible, but gives a bad impression.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
87
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MESA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This place is amazing! Owners are great people! Houses are in the middle of trees and nature... very private and secure, beaches around are simply beautiful. Housekeeping service and rates are more than good. Nice people attending and working hard to provide you the best experience in the South Caribbean in Costa Rica. Thank, I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADRIANA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cahuita, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Finca chica was actually fully booked on the dates we needed, but Emilio have suggested us to stay in additional house he have built, and is open for rent while the owners are away. It was amazing experience! We were 5 adults, 2 of us landed on the day we arrived, and it was the perfect place to get read of the jet lag. The house was very beautiful, 50m from a white beach, huge garden and many calm areas. Emilio was very nice and helped us with all our needs. Enjoy!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks here, the houses are finished to a great standard and are set in wonderful tropical grounds. We saw so much wildlife here it was great.

It is a 30 minute walk or short cycle into town and the beach is just a few minutes walk, there is a supermarket nearby. Cheaper to buy somethings in town but has a good selection in the local one.

The house was well cleaned everyday and helpful owners if you need advice or assistance. I really liked Puerto Viejo but we were glad we stayed just outside in Cocles, beautiful beach and the paved road makes cycling and walking so easy. Great facilities and great to sit outside at night and relax in the hammock!

Room Tip: We stayed in house 4, this is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolGrecian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aljezur, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We like to share our great experience last March at Finca Chica. Beautiful spot, listen the sounds of the nature every night, see local wildlife around, and stayed at a cosy and nice house, with privacy! Thanks a lot Jenny and Emilio for sharing with us your piece of heaven on earth!

The kids want to go back, and us too...! Surfing, bicycle, snorkling, walkings, all just 3 minutes from Finca Chica. The house was very clean and have all the facilities.Casa del rio is ideal for families. Muchas gracias e esperamos volver !
Um abraços da familia portuguesa Henrique, Vera , Concha, Maria e Vicente

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was by far one of the nicest houses we've rented on any vacation! The $$ was fair, if not under priced for what you get. Very clean with maid service daily. The owners Jenni and Emilio were so kind and helpful to any request or favor. They went above and beyond their duties to make our vacation seamless! Lots of privacy, with peace and quiet, which to me is a must! There are so many places to choose from in this area, and it seems to me like many little inns get greedy with the rates. Not the case with La Finca Chica! I say, support the Ticos over all the expats who own Inns. You will get a much truer experience with so much kindness!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My husband and I stayed in House 4, Casa Pizote, from January 19-26, 2013 and absolutely loved it. It's very safe, comfortable and beautiful! We could not see any of the other 3 houses from our house, all we could hear were birds, insects and monkeys. You really feel like you are in the middle of the jungle! The grounds are well kept and the bungalow was very clean.
Jenny and Emilio are so welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We actually got pretty sick on the trip and Jenny called the local doctor to do a house call. I do wish the beach was a little closer but it wasn't a problem to drive. You could definitely walk to it, but we chose not to since I was pregnant. The closest beach was actually our favorite beach since many people weren't there. It was almost like having your own private beach! We will definitely be going back to Cocles and will stay at La Finca Chica again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesP_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
2.9 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,019 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finca Chica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finca Chica

Property: La Finca Chica
Address: Entrada Baby, Miss Winny Town | Cocles, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Finca Chica 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisitely designed and built wooden cottages with kitchen. Fully equipped: including phone, sat TV and ADSL internet access. Located in a very private and secluded 2.5 acres landscaped property with immense jungle trees, tropical fruits and flowers, 2 miles south of Puerto Viejo in the Cocles area, next to some of the most beautiful pristine beaches. Nightly, weekly, monthly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Finca Chica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Finca Chica Hotel Cocles
La Finca Chica Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing