We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More stunning in person-PERFECT vacation in Costa Rica”
Review of La Finca Chica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Finca Chica
Ranked #3 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We just returned from a few nights stay at La Finca Chica and couldn't have asked for anything better. When we arrived we learned that the cabinas were designed by a Spanish architect (the owner), and are really special!

Setting: The bungalow/cabina we stayed in was so private and peaceful, yet it did not give you the scary feeling of total seclusion. The owners live on the property and other bungalows are well spaced out. You cannot see anyone at all from the comfort of your bungalow. VERY lush surroundings - we were woken to the sounds of birds, peacocks, and ducks every morning. They roam freely and came to the Finca Chica property every morning because it is so BEAUTIFUL, with ancient trees and blossoming flowers of a wide variety, surrounding your room.

The bungalow itself was exquisite and far better than anything we've ever seen in Costa Rica. There was so much attention to detail, both in the design of the space itself and the decorating. We have stayed all over the world, often in luxury accommodations, and I'd say this was one of the cleanest places I have ever experienced. Our bungalow also had a very generous outdoor deck area with two extremely comfy lounge chairs, hammock, and 4 chair dining table. WiFi worked perfectly the whole time - we could even stream a soccer match over the iPad that my boyfriend wanted to see. Bed was great and we slept so well every night completely undisturbed by any outside noise.

Location: Set well back from the main road (5 minutes walk) - a big plus

Do NOT book anywhere else!! While the pictures on their website do look nice, it is much more refined and special in person. No other place in the area compares.

We stayed at one other place in the area (which also cost much more) during our stay and it did not even compare, we kept wishing we could go back to Finca Chica.

The owners are also very helpful and responsive. We found our dealings with them always pleasant and easy. Our room was cleaned well every day and the bed made again before we returned each afternoon.

PERFECT STAY!! Thank you Finca Chica!

Room Tip: We stayed in House 4 - Casa Pizote. If you are a couple or a single travel stay here!! We LOVED this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Z_lady_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in Casita Chica for three nights - the house was very clean with big windows, comfortable bed (with mosquito net!), and nice bathroom. La Finca Chica is tucked away off the main road, and it's easy to feel like you could live there for a long time and be immersed in the culture/community. The sounds outside and frequent visits from ducks and peacocks was entertaining. Jenny and Emilio as well as the rest of the staff are very kind and accommodating. The place itself is a short walk/bike ride from the beach and a small grocery shop. I would definitely recommend staying here and would love to return some day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilajna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Our stay at La Finca Chica was everything we hoped for and more. The pictures are accurate. What you see Is what you get.
We never used or needed the mosquito netting above the bed. I believe it's there more to allay the fears of someone like me vacationing for the first time in the jungle.
The only downside, which was beyond their control, was the Internet going out due to storms. But even that got fixed in one business day after it happened. Overall, I give it five stars.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in Casa Lagarto in October. The house was immaculately clean, well maintained and is stocked with everything you could need. There were 3 other homes for rent on the property but it was still so private and quiet, set in a beautiful garden surrounded by the jungle. We had daily housekeeping, very good internet access, great bikes for rent, telephone, and for those interested satellite t.v. The owners had to be away for personal reasons but left us in the capable hands of there friend and neighbour Felicia and there caretaker Bienvenido. They were very welcoming and so very helpful with everything..we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericandnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in House 4 for nine days in October.

The house was very clean and the grounds were well maintained. The wooden floors and furniture were just like the pictures - clean, smooth, not scratched or damaged. The caretaker took off his shoes before walking on the terrace floor. The cooking pots were stainless steel and nearly new condition. In my experience this is rare in self-catering accommodations.

There were NO MOSQUITOES at La Finca Chica in October when we were there. We did not have to try the mosquito nets. The mosquitoes would have found me and bitten me if they were there. I received many bites during the guided hike near Manzanillo.

SERVICE: Jenny promptly answered our email questions both before and after we had booked. She arranged private transportation directly from the airport. Since our flight arrived at 9 in the evening, we arrived at La Finca Chica around 1 AM. We were greeted as soon as we drove in, provided with a flashlight, and shown to our house. It was very nice to wake up there in the morning to jungle sounds instead of at an airport hotel. Due to a family emergency we did not meet our hosts in person but the staff took good care of us.

PRIVACY: From the terrace we could not see the other houses. We occasionally saw people walking past to the one house beyond ours. We did not hear voices from the other houses. We did occasionally hear music.

LOCATION: We were very pleased with our choice, keeping in mind that we were more interested in peaceful relaxation than nightlife. There is a bus stop right where the lane meets the main road and buses to Punta Uva or Manzanillo and the other way to Puerto Viejo came every couple of hours and cost 600 colones per person. The supermarket was also very close and turned out to have a good selection once we got used to it. We enjoyed Cocles beach. The waves, when we were there, were about right for beginners learning to surf. I was surprised by how warm they felt when they washed over me. The Jaguar Rescue Center is a 1 km walk from La Finca Chica. Caribeans Chocolate is about a kilometer in the other direction and a great place to stop on the walk back from town, just before taking a dip at the beach.

NOTE ABOUT TRANSPORTATION: Though we were glad that we had arranged for private transportation to La Finca Chica on our arrival at the airport, we were also pleased with the public bus that we took for the return. It was about $10 each and offered a good chance to see the countryside. The afternoon and evening in the center of San Jose far exceeded our expectations. We took the $1 TUASA bus to the airport and found it to be very convenient. We decided not to pay the premium of paying our departure tax at the hotel and this turned out to be a good choice, as there was no lineup at the counter when we arrived at the airport at 11 AM.

Negative: This is not directly related to La Finca Chinca, but about the area in general. The garbage, as it waits on the side of the road for weekly collection, becomes messy and smelly and is scattered by the black vultures. It is not terrible, but gives a bad impression.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This place is amazing! Owners are great people! Houses are in the middle of trees and nature... very private and secure, beaches around are simply beautiful. Housekeeping service and rates are more than good. Nice people attending and working hard to provide you the best experience in the South Caribbean in Costa Rica. Thank, I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADRIANA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Finca chica was actually fully booked on the dates we needed, but Emilio have suggested us to stay in additional house he have built, and is open for rent while the owners are away. It was amazing experience! We were 5 adults, 2 of us landed on the day we arrived, and it was the perfect place to get read of the jet lag. The house was very beautiful, 50m from a white beach, huge garden and many calm areas. Emilio was very nice and helped us with all our needs. Enjoy!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
2.9 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,044 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finca Chica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finca Chica

Address: Entrada Baby, Miss Winny Town | Cocles, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range: £48 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Finca Chica 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisitely designed and built wooden cottages with kitchen. Fully equipped: including phone, sat TV and ADSL internet access. Located in a very private and secluded 2.5 acres landscaped property with immense jungle trees, tropical fruits and flowers, 2 miles south of Puerto Viejo in the Cocles area, next to some of the most beautiful pristine beaches. Nightly, weekly, monthly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Finca Chica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Finca Chica Hotel Cocles
La Finca Chica Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing